We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgar Townhouse
Ranked #41 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B good value”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this bnb last minute to drive down from london to sleep and spend the day in bath. The bnb were more then welcome and even let use check in at 10pm. we paid £79 for one night including breakfast.
room was small and cossie, lovely and clean.
water, kettle and toiletries provided.
staff were all excellent hosts.

good location

parking is a bit hard as many houses kn the road but we got there in the end.

well recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Zara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    121
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
126
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

‘ thoroughly enjoyed our recent (second) visit, comfy rooms, excellent breakfast with a friendly relaxed style! Well located, quiet but just a few minutes level walk to the town centre'.

M & J Lewis, Tunbridge Wells
March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgarbath, Manager at The Edgar Townhouse, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us again. Hope to see you again for a realxing stay in Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Thank you to all at the Edgar Townhouse for welcoming us to Bath. My Mother and I booked this hotel for our first trip to Bath, and hoping it was close to the centre, which it was. My Mother is not too mobile and the staff ensured that our room was not up too many stairs and Nenita was so helpful and couldn't have been more friendlier. The hotel was very clean, lovely decorated, breakfast brilliant, thanks for parking permit I managed to park almost outside. We would love to go back again.
Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DG1SHEFFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgarbath, Manager at The Edgar Townhouse, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are glad you enjoy your stay here on your first trip to Bath. Always contact us in advance if you would like a room lower down. There is plenty to see in Bath so we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a welcoming hotel within one of the classic buildings of Bath. The room was cosy and immaculately clean, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. An excellent, appetising breakfast menu, deliciously cooked.
The Edgar is away from the bustle of the city but within a short, pleasant walk of the attractions.
Do visit The American Museum, it is a gem.
We shall return!

J&M

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeandmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgarbath, Manager at The Edgar Townhouse, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are gald you enjoyed the American museum and Kaffe Fasset exhibition. We look forward to seeing you again for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

excellent in terms of location, easy walking distance of all the sites, plus hotel is on the Skyline open top bus tour.Also try the Pulteney Arms pub at the Holborne museum end of the street for good value food/drink . Hotel breakfast.set up is good range and well cooked/presented.
Rooms on the small side, but you don't plan to spend that much day time in your room. Guests lounge is nice and airy. Overall good value for money. Staff very attentive/helpful .

Room Tip: location is very good in terms of noise, no front or back doesn't really matter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely high ceiling room. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is away from the party area & train station -- but still only about 15 min of walking distance. Hotel is nicely located near the historic bridge and elegant shops -- 5 min walk. In Bath, it seems you can stay at town centre, this Scottish built area where Edgar is, or toward the Crescent. Toward the Crescent is nice too but it's on uphill. Where Edgar is nice and flat grounded .. easy to walk.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
278 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend book a weekend away (surprise)
We got the the hotel and what a great building and was met by a lovely welcoming lady who was really helpful and was given a parking pass.
Yes the room was small but it was cozy and had what we needed.
We don't go to stay in the room but it was lovely and nice bed.
Yes there was outside noise but that's life.
The breakfast was to die for and fresh.
I couldn't believe how cheap it was as bath is expensive place
Would I stay there again of course

Thank you for a great weekend

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,742 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Property: The Edgar Townhouse
Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing