We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea for 2”

The Mad Hatter's Tea Party
Ranked #17 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Step into Wonderland and join the Tea Party. Come and join us for breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea in our quirky, friendly tea room. A favourite with visitors to Bath, we pride ourselves on a welcoming atmosphere; delightful homemade food and lovingly handcrafted cakes and scones. We cater for all types of Hatters and welcome everyone who has a love of good food and a bit of a quirky side. Located behind the Abbey, we are away from the bustle of the high street. So come and join the friendly staff for a truly Mad Hatter Tea Party.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tea for 2”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Lovely warm welcome by all the staff. Sandwiches and cream scone excellent and they also provided with a 'doggie' bag as the food too much for us! The bread for sandwiches was lovely and fresh the fillings were good. Plenty of jam and cream to go on the lovely warm fruit (or plain) scone. Very busy little cafe huming with visitors.
We enjoyed all this using a special deal. Well done to all the staff. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judyh1794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigolight, Owner at The Mad Hatter's Tea Party, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea at the Mad Hatter in our quirky, cosy little tea shop. The homemade scones are becoming famous in Bath and the team take customer service very seriously.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    60
    25
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bussy St Georges, France
1 review
“Thank you for your marvellous Alice's shop !”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were in Bath two weeks ago and we kept a marvellous memory of our visit in town and in your Alice's shop !
Its was excellent, tea, sandwiches and delicious scones with jam and whipped cream !
The decoration on Alice's theme is magnificent, staff is very nice, kind of you : perfect !
We strongly recommend your wonderful tea shop !
Thanks a lot

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VIEU M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigolight, Owner at The Mad Hatter's Tea Party, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your review and strong recommendation. We are pleased to have made your visit to Bath all the more memorable with our unique tea shop.

We do hope you can visit again.

Merci beaucoup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We chanced upon this place during a short break on our first of two mornings in Bath and delighted we did. The staff were super friendly and the veggie breakfast I had and the eggs benedict my wife had with a coffee each were faultless and beautifully presented. Being there as it opened meant we were the only ones in so had a chance to have a look around at their delicacies without getting in anyones way.
We recommend if you're in Bath don't pass by, go in if there's room you'll not be disappointed. They don't open until 10:00 on a Saturday as we found out from a passer-by while standing outside on our second day at 09:00 so sadly we only got to go there once. A notice with opening hours on the door would be a good idea.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharpLeft-Vot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigolight, Owner at The Mad Hatter's Tea Party, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. Our breakfast menu is very popular from the lighter bite to the traditional full English.

We are glad you enjoyed your Mad Hatter experience and hope to see you again if you return to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Beautiful staff and great theme”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience, staff were lovely an the food was yummy an good value:) would certainly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tassiejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigolight, Owner at The Mad Hatter's Tea Party, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your review. we are delighted you had a wonderful experience with us at the mad hatters tea party.

Hope you can join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The mad hatter's tea party in Bath”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

A quaint little cafe in the perfect situation for both visiters and locals with a picturesque view of the Abbey, Guildhall and riverside parks. Friendly service and an excellent choice of food and drinks including my favorite tea pigs. And being a student I appreciate its good value for money. The mad hatters theme is eccentricly English and suits Bath's general arty feel. My favorite cafe in Bath!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 442sammann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigolight, Owner at The Mad Hatter's Tea Party, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, Glad you enjoyed your mad hatters tea party experience. We always aim to pride fantastic service and lovely food at the best value in the quirkiest venue in Bath. The Tea Pigs are one of the Hatter's favourites as well, but he has difficulty choosing from the varied range.

Do hope you will join the tea party again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mad Hatter's Tea Party also viewed

 

Been to The Mad Hatter's Tea Party? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing