We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Montalt Wood
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$121
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
75
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonkton combebeautiful houselocal pubthought of everythingtwo nightsmolton brown toiletriesfresh fruitcooked breakfastaccommodationensuitesink
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at De Montalt Wood for two nights for Valentines Day this year. Charles greeted us on our arrival and showed us to our room - Tulip room. This was beautiful as the photos on their website show, we had chocolate roses on the bed and the facilities in the room are perfect - free WiFi, super comfy bed, beautiful sheets and fantastic selection of pillows, tea and coffee facilities, and the bathroom includes Molton Brown soaps and shampoo etc. We were invited down to the lounge for a welcome cup of tea and chat where Ann provided the most beautiful home made cupcakes which were a really tasty surprise.

As I suffer with lactose intolerance, Charles and Ann took this into account and adapted the breakfast to include soya milk, lactose free butter, lactose free bread, and served a divine English breakfast with no fat or grease in sight. Absolutely perfect - it set us up for the day (no lunch required).

On return in the evening we found a lovely surprise of chocolate covered strawberries in our room which really was a nice touch and again found the bed to be comfy. It really was a shame to leave after two nights. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bath when we return!

In fact, the owner of the Wheelrights Arms in Bath where Charles recommended we went for dinner advised us that De Montalt Wood was true 5* accommodation and he wasn't wrong. A fantastic faultless stay - thanks Charles and Ann.

Room Tip: Book the Tulip Room if you want an ensuite
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasia_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a truly lovely long weekend away at De Montalt Wood in December. From the initial booking and enquiries with Charles who answered all questions to the welcoming afternoon tea in the sitting room with homemade sausage rolls and an offer to play the grand piano if i wished, we knew this was going to be a stay above the usual. We stayed in the " Hollies".room, beautifully appointed with views over surrounding grounds and further afield, comfortable beautiful bed and plenty of room. Breakfast in the morning was a real treat with Ann's home made smoothies and well cooked fare and set us up for the day. Charles was even kind enough to book a table at the local pub and drove us there and provided torches for the walk home that evening. The house is stunning and we just loved the quirky idea of the " ducks" -those who stay will know what i mean ! Charles and Ann are lovely hospitable people who just know how to treat their guests and we will certainly come back to stay again, perhaps in the summer when we can explore more of the surrounding area. Navigating to and from Bath city is really easy either by walking or bus if you don't have a car and Charles is more than happy to share suggestions of where to go and what to do. Many thanks for a lovely break before Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocasta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Charles and Ann, what a great team you both make, My partner and I have the pleasure of taking regular breaks all around the UK, I'm one of those people who has to research every detail, after all we work hard and our breaks are very precious. So from the moment I submitted an enquiry I knew this was going to be a wonderful break, BUT no, it was much more than that - the house is stunning, our room ( Tulip) was top notch, the little touches such as the homemade cakes ( Ann even accomodated my gluten diet), were 2nd to none. The breakfast - well where do i start!!! but the the thing that makes this "Really memorable" were the hosts. I'm already planning another trip :)

Room Tip: Tulip room is an ensuite, the room is huge - I enjoyed my evening soakes in the bath.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo2012Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I cannot recommend De Montalt Wood highly enough. A stunning house set in lovely grounds, close to a beautiful city and with the best hosts one could wish for. We knew Charles and Ann would be wonderful hosts before we even arrived - they helped us choose a restaurant for the first night and then booked us a table, they asked us to join them for a glass of wine before dinner and they were helpful when we called to tell them we were stuck in traffic on the way down.
The house is amazing, the rooms clean and well-equipped, modern and well-appointed bathrooms and incredibly comfortable beds. Breakfast was cooked perfectly to order and there were a huge range of options, drinks and additional extras.
Very, very impressed and have recommended it to everyone who will listen and some who won't.
I liked it so much that I even proposed to my-now-fiancée here! And of course our hosts were really helpful with this - keeping it a secret and refrigerating my champagne - even laying out a tray of glasses and nibbles unasked to make the occasion even more special.
Truly top-notch.

Room Tip: Two rooms to choose from - both wonderful. We stayed in the room without the en suite, but it was still wonderful.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Charles and Ann provided us with the most wonderful stay at their lovely, very peaceful bed and breakfast. We enjoyed every minute with our hosts especially Ann's awesome breakfasts-the best we've had anywhere-and chatting with Charles for tons of tips and valuable insights. The house is beautifully upgraded luxuriously for guests; excellent bathroom;), snuggly but huge bed, and spacious rooms! Impeccably clean too! A walk around the grounds just topped off our enjoyment of this lovely historic home.

I should mention more about breakfast: First, it must be repeated, these were the most delicious breakfasts we've had anywhere and we've stayed in many B&B's! The ingredients were as fresh as it gets, including all sorts of homemade goodies as well as a different, wonderful smoothie each day. We literally never needed to stop for lunch any of the days out and about thanks to the amount, as well as variety provided for breakfast. I was lucky enough to be served extra cookies (we had cookies in our room each evening) by Ann which were scrumptious!!! And of course TEA with cream or milk provided aplenty, which is my favorite thing-perhaps taken for granted in England, but not all when compared to American service of tea!!!

We were lucky enough to stay here five nights-our entire stay in England! We are so thankful we chose De Montalt Wood B&B for the best ever experience home away from home. We sure will be hoping to visit again next year and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenbabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews