We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, friendly staff - shame about the bar prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, friendly staff - shame about the bar prices!”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Have stayed at Holiday Inns Express before and this was the usual high standard. Room was spotless, bed comfortable and the reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Parking was extra (£4.50) but well worth it as car park was secure.
Only gripe was the bar prices - we had 2 small glasses of wine (one house white) and this cost just short of £10.00.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    642
    304
    70
    23
See reviews for
368
577
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We booked this hotel since we were familiar with this hotel chain. The price was fair and the room were clean and comfortable for my family of four. The hotel is about 5-10 minute walk to the Bath centre, but the walk is quite nice since you're passing stores, shops and side street vendors. The Roman bath is excellent and the city itself is beautiful. The breakfast was decent in the morning and the reception was friendly. I can't really complaint. It wasn't grand or over the top but we did get some good night sleep to prepare us for the city tour the following day.

Room Tip: Parking is 3 pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

If you stay in HI Express hotels this will seem just another hotel. Same usual Express layout. Same express services etc. Yet it was one of the more memorable ones I have stayed in.

Although not directly in the middle of the town, I found it the perfect distance for a brief walk to and from town (about 10 mins each way). Whilst I was there the lobby was being refreshed with a new waiting area and LCD TV's.

The staff were great and friendly and the internet speed was fairly quick.

Yes it is just another Express but I really liked it and would recommend to anyone either visiting on business or having a city break in this, one of the UK's most historic places to visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomppayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Dear Mr Payne,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us. We do appreciate all feedback as we endeavour to meet all guests’ needs and expectations.

I am pleased you found our location to be a perfect position; as you have mentioned it is a very easy stroll into the city centre. I am also pleased to be able to advise you that our refurbishment is complete, and we can now offer a fresh up to date reception area, for everyone to enjoy.

Thank you again and I hope we have the pleasure in inviting you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The team are always so polite, friendly and welcoming no matter who is working. All members of the team show a genuine interest in any query and even how your day has been if you're just passing through. If you're looking for a clean and well organised accommodation with free internet and superb customer service located in the Bath area, then I don't know why you would stay anywhere else. I have been staying at the Holiday Inn Express Bath during the working week since the beginning of the year and I would not think of changing as it really does tick all the boxes, and is much better than the Travelodge Waterside that I originally stayed in before christmas. The professional and friendly team at any time of the day or night is what really makes the Holiday Inn Express Bath special and better than its local competitors.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We booked the hotel via their web site and arrived at noon. The hotel car park could be used until the next day till 4 which suited our plans. The location is ideal as it only a short walk across the road into city centre and the attractions.

The hotel itself is modern but small and in our case well maintained. The room seemed okay and beds were comfortable. The problems was that our room was on the front on a corner directly on the main road and until midnight the road noise made sleeping impossible. It appeared that the window vents were stuck open. Since we were there for only one night we accepted it. If staying ask for a room not on the main road.
Breakfast was included and was good.

Overall a good hotel with easy access to Bath's attractions

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogwi01270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Be prepared to walk about 10-15 mins around the back of a Sainsburys and across a footbridge and across a car park to get to the beginning of the town centre. As my wife said wouldn't like to do it late at night.perhaps there is a longer more scenic way into town.
Why the hotel charge for parking I do not know. Its only £4.20 for 24 hours but it is a large car park and a hotel like this shouldn't charge. The staff are great and showed us the way into town and the best car park the following day when we drove in.
The rooms are adequate clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was in my opinion poor probabaly because I am used to hotels at this price serving a full english. Coffee was from a machine and the orange was that watery it was undrinkable( why does this hotel not have fresh orange ). The hot sausage and scrambled egg was ok. The price of the hotel probably reflection of Bath being an international destination

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Staff were amazingly friendly so polite genuinely happy to be there and so kind. So eager to help and always go beyond that extra mile to help you they are amazing. I have stayed in the Hilton and Copthorne around the world and this was honestly the best. They couldn't do enough for you and the little things that make your stay great there are so many of them it was truly amazing. Thank you to all the staff especially Chloe on reception me and my girlfriend Have already booked again for a couPle nights.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteglxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It has given me great pleasure to share this with all team members, who are extremely pleased that you appreciate their hard work and commitment to the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing