We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality rooms, tiny t.v.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor quality rooms, tiny t.v.”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I always thought Holidays Inns were a cut above Travelodge but our room was exactly like a bad Travelodge room and the tv was tiny and too far from the bed to be able to watch properly, and no sofa. We were also given a room that was specifically designed for a disabled person, it reminded me of the hospital I work in ALL WEEK with disabled people, I went to reception to tell them that I was on a romantic night away from my work, but they said there was nothing they could do.....I won't ever book a Holiday Inn again after this. The hotel looks great from the outside and the reception is fairly plush. Very dissapointing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmarie1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you writing a review regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath; we appreciate all feedback as this helps us improve our guests stay.

As discussed with one of my colleagues during your stay, at Holiday Inn Express we have standard rooms, which we do state we will do our best to allocate rooms as requested, please accept my apologies that this particular room type did not meet your needs. We do advise that specific room types are booked as you will be guaranteed that room type.

Thank you again I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    642
    304
    70
    23
See reviews for
368
578
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This hotel was booked for me by my employers as I was attending a conference in Bath.

Checking in was straight forward and the staff were helpfull, although they did try and charge some of my colleagues for the rooms which had already been paid for.

The rooms are of the no frills basic type, which was expected. However, breakfast was a nightmare. There aren't enough tables to accomodate all the guests. You had to watch for a table to become vacant and then make a dash for it. They were all littered with trays, crockery and food debris.

The cooked breakfast was very basic and consisted of sausages and scrambled egg - that was it, not even bacon!! The croisants were perhaps the worst I've ever eaten. Someone had tipped orange juice into the cutlery tray and no one had cleaned it.

The only edible item was the yoghurt.

Trying to get from my room back to reception to check out was like attempting an obstacle course, the corridors were congested with cleaners wagons and children playing. Admittedly it was half term and the hotel was full of families, which is perhaps the clientelle this hotel best suits, it is definatley not one for business people.

I was glad my stay was only for the one night. I am a regular visitor to Bath and this is a hotel I will avoid in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlet_gl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Excellent greeting at reception and was checked in with no fuss and given information about the locality, the attractions and how to get there. The hotel is ideally located with the centre being about a 10 minute walk away. There are enough amenities close by such as a supermarket and some food outlets, but there are more than enough places to eat in Bath as well!

I stay in a lot of IHG hotels around the country and this is one of the best Express hotels I have come across in terms of service, friendliness, cleanliness and location. I can see why it was pretty much fully booked up throughout our stay. I would definitely recommend it; non-smoking throughout, child and pet friendly and free Wi-fi in public areas. Parking is £4.50 per night, which isn't bad considering how other hotels ramp up these prices. Arguably, it should be free, but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crouching_Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. A shame you have to pay for the car park but I guess that is a sign of the times. We were in room 117 which was at the back of the hotel and very quier. My husband was disappointed there was no bath only a shower as he does like to have a nice soak after a hard day's sightseeing! Breakfast was okay but the food and drink is situated in a very confined space so there is not much room to manouevre.
Bath is a great place to visit and we also visited Wells and Chedddar Gorge. All in all a pleasant short break for us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorry1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Room was comfortable and clean. Bathroom was a good size and clean. Breakfast was included and had a good variety of food. Staff were polite and helpful. 2 minute walk from a large Sainsburys. Nice walking distance from local attractions. Plenty of parking. Provided a mircowave for hotel guests to use near the reception. Only problem was our TV was flicker every now and then, but that would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpidaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Have stayed at Holiday Inns Express before and this was the usual high standard. Room was spotless, bed comfortable and the reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Parking was extra (£4.50) but well worth it as car park was secure.
Only gripe was the bar prices - we had 2 small glasses of wine (one house white) and this cost just short of £10.00.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We booked this hotel since we were familiar with this hotel chain. The price was fair and the room were clean and comfortable for my family of four. The hotel is about 5-10 minute walk to the Bath centre, but the walk is quite nice since you're passing stores, shops and side street vendors. The Roman bath is excellent and the city itself is beautiful. The breakfast was decent in the morning and the reception was friendly. I can't really complaint. It wasn't grand or over the top but we did get some good night sleep to prepare us for the city tour the following day.

Room Tip: Parking is 3 pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing