We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we expect from a holiday inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exactly what we expect from a holiday inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Nice welcome, unfortunately further from the station then we expected but good overall. Breakfast was nice, but shocked that no bacon was supplied!? They had sausage and egg but no bacon, disappointment was not the word.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    611
    298
    70
    23
See reviews for
363
546
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We didn't book before we got to Bath. We stumbled on to the Holiday Inn express and loved this hotel. The room was nice and new the staff were so so friendly and gave us all the information we needed for our short stay including where to visit and where the restaurants are located etc. There is also free WIFI in the foyer with plenty seating to check your e-mail etc. Breakfast was also included in the price. Parking wasn''t free but it was only a few pounds which was not an issue at all considering its a high tourist area. Will visit Bath again hopefully and will most certainly stay at the Holiday Inn express.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichandCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

I felt the service was excellent from the minute I arrived. The receptionist had good knowledge of the area and answered all queries in a friendly manner.
The room was perfect for my needs and very clean. I was pleased with the work space and had no problems connecting to their internet.
There is a garage/shop across the road which was handy to re-fuel and pick up a bottle of water in the morning. The location for myself was perfect: it is only a 10 minute drive away from the University of Bath. Perfect place to stay if you have to travel a distance for an interview!
The breakfast was a little disappointing but sufficient.
Overall, I was very pleased, had a great nights sleep and feel that it was fairly priced in comparison to other accommodation in Bath. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleMonkey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We go to Bath a couple of times a year, for both business and personal reasons, and we generally stay at the Holiday Inn Express. Sure, it's not the most glamorous place in town, but in an expensive city it's not a bad price, especially with breakfast included. It's quiet, especially if you get a room at the back, with an excellent location - walkable to the city centre and the sights, but easily accessible by car and public transport. In our experience, it has always been spotlessly clean, with helpful and friendly staff. The only complaints would be those typical of this chain (and US visitors should note that HI Express' in the UK are very different from the similar sounding places they may be used to); somewhat small beds and a lack of storage space for more than a 1-2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holtspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The hotel is ideally situated for anyone visting Bath for a day or two, being an easy 15 minute walk from the Railway Station and Bus Station and about 10 minutes from the City Centre.
Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean and whilst the bathroom wasn't the largest it was still perfectly functional with a good shower. Breakfast comprises of a cold continental style buffet but with the added bonus of a scrambled eggs and hot sausages and was more than adequate.
The reception was friendly and helpful and provided a warm welcome when we arrived.
With all the positive comments it almost seems churlish to criticise but there were one or two points that could have raised my rating from 'average' to 'very good'. There is no fan in the bathroom - consequently after using the shower it is impossible to use the mirrors in the bathroom as they remain steamed for ages. There is no safe in the room - you can ask for one at reception but who wants to do this ?- surely it's not too much to expect a safe in a hotel room these days. There is no mini-bar in the room - it is not something I would use but I'm sure there are plenty of travellers who would like the convenience of one. Finally, the excellent breakfast was rather let down by the juice which was either the cheapest available or considerably watered down - either way, it was rather tasteless.
I accept the above criticisms are minor and they shouldn't put anyone off staying at what is, overall, a pleasant hotel to stay at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about the Holiday Inn Express Bath. We appreciate all feedback to ensure we can provide the best possible service.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our rooms comfortable and clean. I have passed on your kind comments to our housekeeping department who take great pride in keeping cleanliness levels to a high standard.

I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that we are currently reviewing all breakfast items, and I am happy to say we will be upgrading our complimentary breakfast and introducing new exciting items in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, Lancs
Level Contributor
253 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We spent two nights here for part of our recent half term break . The hotel is well positioned, about seven minutes walk from the centre of the city via Homebase and Sainsburys. We parked and waited a while to be able to check in. Our second floor room was a bit tight for the four of us, but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was cleverly designed with a dualpurpose door which covered either the loo or the whole bathroom. The shower was roomy and powerful. Breakfast was a real bonus as this is a costly extra in many other spots. There is a choice of cereals, fruit, sausages, beans and scrambled eggs. Two nights for the four of us cost under £140 at May halfterm - good value. I had booked around six weeks ahead. I felt that £4.50 a night for parking was absolutely fine in a city like Bath. After check out we were able to go to the cinema, having negotiated we would move the car by 4.15pm and not the permitted 4.00 pm - much appreciated. Our friend who visited for the day was issued with a permit and authorised to park free of charge. Needless to say she was thrilled. The reception staff were friendly, courteous and helpful - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for such a positive comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review within a team meeting and can say that all team members were very pleased, that their hard work and dedication to make your stay enjoyable.

I am glad you also had the opportunity to try our complimentary buffet breakfast; I would also like to let you know our breakfast is being improved even further to include more hot/cold items. So I hope on your next stay with us you will be able to enjoy even more.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and must say the reception staff are the best we have ever encountered, (we do travel a lot using this chain of hotels), very helpful with directions and local knowledge. The room was clean and with all what you would expect and very quiet. Breakfast was continental with also some hot items available, and although the hotel was busy the food items were constantly being restocked so never ran out of anything. It is just a 10 minute walk into the centre of the city (finding the Green Park Station market on Saturday morning was a bonus), and parking at £4.50 a day (up to 4pm on day of departure too) was cheap, but please Holiday Inn Express don't put up the charge as we hope to return as there is so much to do in Bath! Overall we can highly recommend this hotel, in particular the reception staff. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing