We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I stayed in in Holiday Inn Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I stayed in in Holiday Inn Family”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I can't tell you how disappointed I am in this hotel. While the rate wasn't very high, the rooms smell musty, you pay to park, you pay for internet, and while the breakfast was free, there was nothing there worth eating. I felt I was charged for every little thing I did in their hotel. I am a PC Gold Member about to become Platinum, and they were unwilling to do anything for me. I will return to Bath in the future, Great City, but will certainly NEVER stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashbridgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Firstly, please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay; this saddens us to hear this as we strive to provide the best possible services to all our guests.

I have passed you comments onto our housekeeping department regarding the ‘musty’ smell as this is totally out of character, so this may be a simple training issue which they are currently looking into.

As a Holiday Inn Express unfortunately there are limited benefits to PC members we are able to offer unlike Holiday Inn’s, Crown Plaza’s or Intercontinental Hotels which have many different facilities and services. We are able to offer free WIFI within our great room up to 6 hours per day. There are also complimentary newspapers for all PC members. As you have mentioned we do charge for secure on-site car parking and at £4.50 for over 24 hours car parking we do feel this has been kept to a minimum.

Thank you for your comments as we appreciate all feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    642
    304
    70
    23
See reviews for
368
578
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were not satisfied with the comfort level of this Holiday Inn Express. The beds are small and terribly hard. In our room, the bed was positioned directly below the heater, so hot air blew directly on us. The room was small and stuffy, despite turning the heat as low as it would go. We opened the window for fresh air. Unfortunately this meant that we were woken by the (garbage?) truck each morning as it backed into the parking lot. If you are used to North American Holiday Inn Express Hotels, this one will be a disappointment as it is so substandard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unknownToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor, all feedback is vital to us so that we can make any necessary adjustments to improve guests stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you found our beds to be uncomfortable; all beds within Holiday Inn Express’s in the United Kingdom are of the standard 6”4”. I am pleased to be able to inform you that during 2012 all beds will be replaced throughout the hotel. With regards to the air conditioning unit; we have now entered the winter season so all units are designated heaters rather than cooling systems, so you are quite welcome to either turn the machine off or ask at reception for a fan which we would have provided.

As you have experienced there are some variances between Holiday Inn Express’s in the United States and the UK, so please do not be deterred as we are in line with all other UK properties.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed one night and mainly chose the hotel based on reviews here, the inexpensive parking and the distance to the center. We wanted to be able to park and walk into town which we did. Although there is a charge for parking, the hotel lets you keep your car in the lot well into the afternoon on the checkout date which seems generous. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of Bath. The room was clean and fairly comfortable. I did not sleep very well and it seemed the bed was a little uncomfortable...I kept rolling into the center. Also, it was rather warm but the heat/ac unit was "conveniently" set and would not go below a certain temperature. I was able to crack the window, though, which helped. THe breakfast was fine/typical for a holiday inn. Due to the good price/proximity to the center I'd probably stay again especially in light of the fact that in management comments on previous posts, they have spoken of replacing the beds. If there were new beds, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

I am pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of our convenient on-site car parking, although as you have stated there is a minimal charge, this is by no means expensive in comparison to 2-3 hours parking in the city centre.

As you have read on one of my previous responses I can confirm we are replacing all beds within 2012. All HVAC units are now currently set to winter setting, so this does mean they will only produce heat. They are all on their own settings so you are able to turn the units off or we will be more than happy to provide fans if you are still a little warm.

Thank you again; we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed here for 1 night in May 2011. The carpark was a reasonable size, no trouble parking. No complainys about the hotel, the staff were friendly and the room was modern, typical Holiday Inn standard. Think the hotel was about 20 mins walk from the centre, no problem if you don't mind a bit of a stroll. If you want to be right in the middle then you'd better look elsewhere. Was reasonably priced for Bath, which is quite expensive for hotels/B&B's.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Gareth,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us in May and thank you for taking the time to write this review; all feedback is essential to ensure we are providing the best possible service.

It’s pleasing to see that you were able to take advantage of our on-site car parking and enjoy the sights of Bath, as you have explained we are certainly not directly in the city centre but easily accessible by foot, bus or taxi. Also very convenient if travelling by car as many city centre hotels/B&B’s are unable to provide this service, or if they are at an extortionate rate.

Once again thank you very much; I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed for two nights great city. Hotel had a large party if students in so were noisy but the staff were excellent made sure they were quite and respected others and the staff did not stop.
Room was nice and clean and free breakfast good to start us off for the day.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydelight16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. As you had experienced we did recently have a large student group, which all staff ensured noise levels were kept to a minimum. So we are glad to see our hard effort has paid off.

I have passed your kind comments on to our housekeeping department, who are grateful for your feedback. I am also glad you had the opportunity to experience our complimentary continental buffet breakfast; this is a great way to start a busy sightseeing adventure around the city.

Thank you again, we all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This hotel needs to be judged on it's price and what you get for that price. Great location walking distance into the city and all major attractions, decent free breakfast, cheap on site parking and a clean hotel with friendly staff. All one needs in a hotel really. Lewis on the front desk was excellent and super helpful, a credit to the business. The only drawback was the bed in the family room was a double...I'm 14st7, my girlfriend is 9st and we had no space to move in the bed. Made for an uncomfortable sleep for sure. But that was a small negative amongst so many positives. We will stay again for sure...we'll just get a king size bed next time!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrangerInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. I am pleased to see you had the opportunity to explore our glorious city and experience all the attractions.

Guest satisfaction is of great importance to us, so I am extremely pleased that you found Lewis a credit to the business, as we are very proud of each individual member of our team.

Thank you once again and please accept my apologies for your uncomfortable nights sleep, I can assure you we are currently looking into replacing all beds for 2012.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North west
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Modern basic hotel, good service and a great location for your visit to Bath

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road on the side of the school
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing