We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in Bath, all good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We spent a Friday and Saturday night at the Holiday Inn, initially chosen because of the low priced (Pnds 4.50 a day) car parking. Booked one night but upon seeing our room we decided on a second night, Saturday, and were given a better rate, unexpectedly, so were very happy. The Reception staff were all very friendly young ladies but a very tall young woman, perhaps the Manager, was exceptional. She seemed to be on duty all of the time anyway, but was extremely pleasant, helpful and efficient. As expected of a Holiday Inn, the hotel is large, elevators service all floors, and ensuite room fitouts are very modern, efficient, pleasant and cater for everything. Mini frig, TV, wall hairdryer and electric kettle and tea and coffee necessities provided, excellent. The breakfast area was huge and catered for very large numbers of guests at the same time. Food was plentiful and varied and the staff were attentive attending to clearing tables and stocking up supplies. Wifi available in large, popular, public seating area. Hotel had a free coffee and tea bar and vending machines and a microwave on the ground floor level. The hotel car park was very big and safe as it is on hotel premises. The Holiday Inn is just outside the historic centre, not an issue really. Most hotels in the historic centre charge hefty car parking fees. Bus stops are in front of the hotel to go into Bath or return from it as Bath has restricted vehicle access into the historic centre. Only a 5 minute bus ride, a return ticket very cheap (forget) and the drivers were very helpful too. Buses are regular and operate from early morning till late at night.

Bath is very pretty and full of historical places of interest. The Roman ruins and Baths are interesting, the water may be an acquired taste, my husband thought it was akin to drinking poison. The Jane Austen centre was informative and different and the Hop On Bus tours were worthwhile also. It is a lovely city to walk around especially outside the immediate centre, the bridge, gardens and Cathedral area. Bath has great shopping with an amazing diversity of Retail outlets. We ate twice in very old Pubs and both were good experiences and the food was very cheap and tasty. Love England's old pubs. Never a disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a 2 star hotel at best, very overpriced, they even charge for parking! We were on the second floor and the noise was constant throughout the night from the street and late night revelers in the hall. The bed and especially the sofa bed were hard and uncomfortable. Everyone woke up both mornings with backaches. I woke up with red welts on my body not sure what from but did see that the clean linen is dropped onto the hall floor in front of some rooms.

The interior of the rooms are tired with stained, worn carpeting, soap dispensers on the wall and in the shower, and little tvs. Complimentary breakfast was average. It is a walk to get to the main area of Bath. At least you pass a Sainsbury on the way to/from town. Did like how helpful the women who worked at night.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in a nicer place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnastaciaVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear Anastacia,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

It saddens me to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I can assure you our prices are very competitive with similar hotels in Bath. With Bath being a very popular tourist destination, hotel prices in general are a lot higher than one would normally expect. Our car parking charge is also kept to an absolute minimum and one of the cheapest in the City.

Please accept my apologies that you found our beds and sofa beds to be uncomfortable. We will be replacing all beds and sofa beds within 2012 and on this note we are also replacing all TV’s throughout the hotel by the end of January 2012.

With regards to excessive noise; we do ask all guests to keep levels to a minimum and respect other guests who may be sleeping, if we were notified of this problem we would have been more than happy to rectify the situation. Also with regards to the clean linen; under no circumstances do our housekeeping staff leave such items on the floor, in fact what you may have seen was clean linen in laundry bags outside rooms, as some guests choose not to have their rooms serviced, so we offer this option as an alternative.

I will pass your kind comments onto my member of staff, who will be pleased she was of help.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stay here at least twice a year and by booking early we usually get a very good deal, this weekend we paid £67 a night. Close enough to all the city has to offer but again far enough away in the evening. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble, we had a problem with our kettle and it was changed without any problems. Glad to hear that the beds are being changed as ours wasn't very comfortable and every time one of us moved the other one felt as if we were on a waterbed we moved so much, and whilst the hotel is on a very busy main road our room 329 backed onto the cemetery and was fairly quiet. Parking is a problem if you arrive late and I was a bit annoyed to see one of the staff members from the Indian across the road take up a valuable space. We will definitely book again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k1of2ksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is essential and I will have great pleasure in sharing this review with the rest of our team.

I am glad to see you have enjoyed another stay with us and been able to take full advantage of our convenient location. As you have experienced we do have technical faults on the odd occasion which is expected for any business, but we will be there to rectify any situation within our control as soon as possible.

Please accept my apologies regarding parking; all guests have priority over all parking spaces as we have limited spaces available, we would have ensured cars were moved upon notifying staff.

Thank you again for your comments; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 2 nights during half term week with our 2 sons, aged 14 and 11. We booked inter-connecting rooms both with double beds but the double sofa bed was also made up in our sons' room giving them a bed each. Having the 2 rooms was perfect for the 4 of us with more space and 2 bathrooms. The free breakfast was adequate to kick-start your day and we went in just after 9 a.m both mornings and it was never too busy - we got a table straight away and didn't have to queue. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the town centre and another 5 minutes to the Pultenay bridge area where you can get the City Sightseeing buses (this was good fun and a great way to see the sights, hopping on and off when you choose!). We had a lovely couple of days in this beautiful city and this hotel is a perfect base if you are planning to be out and about like we were. Our room was on the ground floor, the side of the car park, but we never experienced any noise problems and all slept really well. This hotel really is good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following from your stay with us during half term.

We appreciate all feedback to ensure we meeting all guests’ needs and expectations; I am pleased to see we were able to provide this for your family. It is good to see you were able to take advantage of our complimentary express start breakfast to help kick-start your day.

Once again thank you for taking the time, and we hope to welcome you back to Bath in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

15 minutes walking to city center, which can be good… if you have little children maybe better to take a taxi. They have free parking you can use up to 16:00 on the day you leave, which is very good to spend the day in the city and not need to pay for parking.
Breakfast is mediocre but reasonable.
The mattresses we had in the room were bad(!), although friend of us who also stayed same dates did not have a problem with that.
A bit expensive for the express chain.

Room Tip: You can park your car on the day you leave up to 04:00 PM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHUK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us, it is nice to hear about your experiences.

It is good to see that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location to the city centre. Please accept my apologies that you found our mattresses to be uncomfortable; I can assure you that we will be replacing all mattresses during 2012.

All of our rates are competitive with all similar chain hotels within Bath, as our rates do fluctuate depending on which season we are in, we do advise booking further in advance to make the most of our discounted rates.

Thank you again for your review, all feedback is appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just stayed at the holiday inn express in Bath. Lovely hotel, staff very helpful and friendly.Free breakfast included and although it was busy it was very enjoyable.The hotel was very clean and only a short walk from the centre of Bath.Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiestoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Dear Rosie,

Firstly, thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. All our staff take great pride in the service they deliver, and are always pleased to see their hard work has paid off especially during busy periods.

I have also passed on your comments to our housekeeping department who also work extremely hard to keep cleanliness levels high.

We hope to welcome you back in future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay here using it as a base for the last two legs of the Cotswolds Way. The city centre was an easy walk via Sainsburys. Only downside comment - the breakfast was not as good as in the Premier Inn in Stroud...less choice. Handy for supermarket and petrol station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review on the Holiday Inn Express Bath, all feedback is vital as we endeavor to provide the best possible service.

I am glad to see you found our location to the city centre accessible, there are several options to access the city. There is no need to take the car into crowded car parks or pay the extortionate rates. Just a short 10-15 minute amble will have you directly in the city centre among some of Bath’s magnificent sights, including the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms, Bath Abbey and Thermae Bath Spa.

Thank you again, we appreciate all reviews being posted.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £67 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing