We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service, great location”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed two nights in Bath, using this hotel as a base to visit Bath and Bristol. The location is great for both with easy access to the A4 and the motorways. Bath city centre is a 10 min walk from the hotel.
Pros: Service at desk (thanks to Lewis who helped my partner with her sore eye and for moving his car allowing us to park on site)
Location
Breakfast

Cons: like all Holiday Inns, the heating settings are pre-set for people who need heat and can't be controlled in room. Hot air has been blown into our room for hours.
Beds are too soft but that's personal preference

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensitolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments following on from your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

It is great to see you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for you to use as a base. I have passed your comments onto Lewis who is thrilled he could be of help.

As you have mentioned most hotels do have pre-set settings on the Air conditioning/Heating systems, relevant to the time of year. If these are not to your preference we are more than happy to supply fans or extra heaters/duvets.

Thank you again for your posting, all feedback is valued.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    635
    300
    70
    23
See reviews for
366
569
39
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Having stayed here for three nights we were very pleased, the room was quite small but was clean and also cleaned to a high standard every day. The staff were more than helpful and very polite. The location is good as it is only a five to ten minute walk to the city centre and map was provided on checking in.
I noticed people complaining about road noise, yes you could hear the road but you have booked and are staying in a city centre hotel......what do you expect!
The breakfast was good and there was still plenty to choose from nearing the end of serving time, overall very pleased and good value too! Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Bradley,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback following on from your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your visit and pleased we were able to cater for your needs.

I will pass these comments onto our housekeeping department who take great pride in keeping our cleanliness levels to a high specification.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hail Weston, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our family (with two kids, age 6 and 8) stayed here on a Thursday night so that we could check out the Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, and the Christmas Market (first day). We had a great experience. The front desk staff was very pleasant, gave us a map, and chatted to us about things to do. The walk to downtown took only about 15 minutes, and was easy....and we didn't feel uncomfortable doing it in the dark on the way back, either. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast buffet was simple but fine. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Sherri,

Firstly, thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to see our staff were accommodating and assisting you with your visit. They really do try their utmost to provide all necessary information when visiting Bath. I have also passed on your kind comments to our housekeeping staff.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury wells
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Visited Bath for three days and stayed at this hotel, staff were considerate and the breakfast was excellent. One minor point its quite a way from the town centre so bring your walking shoes. Return in the evening is through quite lonely retial store car parks.All in all well done Holiday Inn....................joe watson

Room Tip: All seem ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoewTenburywells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Mr Watson,

Firstly, thank you for your feedback it is vital to ensure we are delivering the best possible service.

As you have mentioned we are a 10-15 minute walk from the City Centre, but there is a regular bus service operating from opposite the hotel or a taxi ride takes just 2 minutes, which by the way our reception staff will be happy to book for you.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here at the weekend for shopping and the christmas market. £120 for the four of us in a family room - you can't go too far wrong. After reading other reviews I was concerned about the bed - it was absolutely fine. We stayed on the first floor at the front of the hotel, and as other reviewers have mentioned late night there are smokers outside the front of the hotel and unfortunately you can hear them. I'm not sure what could possibly be done about this, but it didn't really spoil our sleep. Via the Sainsburys car park its about 10 minutes into the centre. If we were looking for budget accomodation in Bath again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review on the Holiday Inn Express Bath. Bath is a very popular destination when the Christmas Market takes place, so it is good to see you had the pleasure in visiting this wonderful event.

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel to visit Bath and the Xmas markets.
Check in staff were friendly, polite and helpful and the room was really tidy and clean.
Location is good and staff hand out maps and advice.
Its about a 15 minute walk into the main city area but its not a bad walk.
We had no noise, except when i opened the window and then just some road noise.
The beds were comfortable and the towels were soft.
Not cheap but then nothing in Bath is!!!

Room Tip: We had no problem with the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenBlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath, we value all feedback to ensure consistent excellent service. I hope you also enjoyed your time at the very popular Bath Christmas Market.

All our staff go above and beyond their call of duty and try their utmost to cater for all guests. I am also pleased you found our beds comfortable, even though we will be replacing all beds and sofa beds in 2012.

Thank you again for your kind comments we hope to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had a great experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Bath. Staff were really friendly and it's a great location from which to explore Bath . We arrived late with small children and the staff couldn't do enough to ensure we were settled in quickly. Hotel is clean and bright, the buffet breakfast was ideal for a young family . We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Sean,

Firstly, thank you for your kind feedback; I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Our staff takes great pride in delivering excellent customer service and always strives to the best of their ability.

I am also delighted that we were accommodating with your family, and you were able to experience our complimentary express start breakfast to help start your day. I have passed on your compliments to our housekeeping team who will be thrilled.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#21 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing