We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good central place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We went for budget and that's what we got. The rooms were clean and in good repair, we were in a group and all within a couple of doors of each other. Its only a 10 min walk into the centre of bath so ideal for sight seeing. The breakfast was a bit poor - grapefruit or some rather tired fresh fruit like satsumas. the fruit juice was not recognisable as such but you could help yourself many times and there was a good choice of breakfast staples. There did seem to be a lot of children running up and down corridors which the staff didnt seem to want to deal with. also the area outside the ground floor rooms to the right is used as a smoking area which meant our room smelt of cigarette smoke. i dont think they should charge for the parking. this seemed a bit mean and i am sure they lose more business than they make on the cost of parking. all in all i would go back again.

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms facing onto the car park on the right as you go in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following on from your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback to ensure we can monitor all areas of a guests stay.

I am pleased to see our rooms were found to be clean and good repair, all our staff try their utmost to ensure all rooms are kept to the best of standards. Please accept my apologies that our breakfast did not meet your needs, we are constantly reviewing this area and welcome all feedback.

As a busy leisure destination we do have many families stay with us, so we do ask that all guests take into consideration their fellow travellers.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Booked in advance to get the the "bargain rate" of £100 for one night. Car park (chargeable additional £4.50 per night) and very full. Staff busy and distracted at check-in. Very much a "budget" hotel, one sachet of coffee each in the room, luckily we brought our own. The "complimentary" breakfast was fairly unappetising so its a good job they didn't charge extra for it! They will heat up pizza for you for around £10 but we found it easier and more relaxing to get a taxi to the town centre and back to eat at Pizza Express. The beds were hard and uncomfortable and none of us slept very well. If we came back to Bath would look for somewhere else to stay...we've stayed in more comfortable and cheaper Premier Inns but at this price, not again...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Shenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Jo,

I would like to thank you for commenting on the Holiday Inn Express Bath following on from your stay with us.

Please accept my apologies that you feel our hotel is expensive and ordinary. I can assure you all rates are reviewed daily to ensure our guests receive the best value stay, especially with Bath being an expensive city to visit.

It saddens me to see you found our breakfast unappetising, we are constantly working hard to meet all guests’ needs and expectations, this resulting in additional items being added to the complimentary selection.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We arrived in Bath for the first time, very tired and desparate to sleep. First time with Holiday Inns. It was relatively easy to find as you followed a more or less outside circle of Bath. Lower Bristol Road is on the way out of the City. Not in a particularly pleasant area and not a Hotel to stay in for a holiday, but for business or passing through it was adequate. Impressed by the cleanliness and friendly,helpful staff. Very basic lounge area and limited "snack bar" food. Packet sandwiches or Pizza available in the evening or you eat out. Sadly, dog friendly Hotels are few and far between and this was a bonus for our gentle little dog and a good reason to choose this Hotel. Safe Parking - £4.50 was fair enough. Not very child friendly -no play areas. Bus stops outside the drive entrance, 10 mins for hilly walking is a bit optimistic. Free WIFI useful

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are for dogs. Cemetary view is the nicest and quietest. Can request a non smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pawfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with your fellow travelers.

I am pleased to see you were impressed by our high levels of cleanliness and our friendly, helpful staff. All members of our team through housekeeping, reception and breakfast try their absolute utmost to provide an excellent stay for all our guests.

It is also pleasing to our secure on-site car park was beneficial to yourselves. We do have Bath’s Royal Victoria Park located within close proximity to the hotel, so families can have the option of play areas, golf courses, boating ponds, tennis courts and gardens stretching over 57 acres. As you have mentioned the city centre is only a short 10-15 minute walk, we will be more than happy to assist with a recommended flat walk in.

Thank you again all feedback is appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A group of us travelling from England, Scotland and Northern Ireland met up at this hotel to spend a few days in the area. very good location as you can walk into Bath city centre in 10 minutes. Coming back late at night was fine too especially as we spied a little chip wagon!!

On the first night we arrived back late and dragged ourselves down for some breakfast which wasnt bad, the chef may need a class in scrambled eggs but apart from that we couldnt complain!

On return to our room we found beds made, fresh towels, and more importantly, the cash from our group 'pot' which must have fallen out of pockets, but there it was, over £60 sitting on the freshly made bed. So we could not fault the staff in any way after that, it is not often you find such honesty.

The next few days were spent coming back and forward to the hotel, staff always helpful in supply of maps, info and anything else we required.

A perfect base to explore Bath, with lovely staff. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumatronatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Mandy,

Firstly, thank you for your kind comments we encourage all guests to review our hotel in order to assist fellow travelers.

We are pleased to see there were so many aspects of your stay you enjoyed. As you have mentioned our location is useful for guests visiting the City Centre with only a short 10 minute walk to the main attractions.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the scrambled egg during the weekend, we have taken this on board and will be retraining weekend staff to ensure only excellent quality of food is served.

I have passed on your comments on the subject of our housekeepers finding your group ‘pot’. They are all honest, hard working members of our team who have been with us for a considerable amount of time. It is lovely to see they have been recognized.

Once again thank you for your excellent rating, we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

a good hotel if a bit bland and in easy walking distance of the city centre attractions. Ok for a short break. The room was clean and comfortable.The staff were freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Bath. We appreciate all feedback to ensure a consistent excellent service is provided.

I am pleased to see our location benefitted yourselves during your stay with us. As always our housekeeping team will be thrilled to see your comments, as will our reception team.

Thank you again; I hope when visiting Bath next we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

On the plus side:-
Clean and tidy.
Great location...Walk into the city centre in 10 minutes.
Although you don't expect to pay to park at your hotel (£4.50/day), at least you could leave the car and not have the hassle of finding city centre car parking and the charges that go with it.
Nice bar and reception area.
Pillows are labelled 'soft or firm' giving you a choice and the duvet was nice and cosy.

On the negative side:-
On the value for money side, it was a little pricey.
Breakfast was a bit manic, trying to find a free table (but it was half-term), although the food was most acceptable.
Our bed was on the small side and not that comfortable.
It was disappointing to find the hotel accept dogs (apparently in the ground floor rooms only), although it was explained to us that the rooms were deep-cleaned on a weekly basis.

All in all Bath is a great place for a city break and we enjoyed our two night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopGunPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your stay with us this past week. I am pleased to see you found our location suitable for your visit. As you have mentioned having an on-site car park does make a guests stay hassle free, especially trying to find parking spaces in the City Centre without paying extortionate rates.

It is also pleasing to see our range of soft and firm pillows were to your liking, we do try to meet all guests’ needs and expectations when staying with us.

I would like to thank you for bearing with us during a busy half term week, our breakfast area can become busy around certain times, and we try our utmost to advise all guests when this will be.

We note your comments and I am pleased to advise you know that we will be replacing beds during 2012, so I hope this does not deter you from staying with us.

We do currently accept small well behaved pets and as you have been informed they are all restricted to ground floor rooms and all bedrooms deep cleaned on a regular basis.

Thank you again for your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is a good hotel in a usual location if planning to explore the CIty Centre. The room was what was described on the website - clean, tidy and had everything as expected. The complimentary breakfast was good for the with plenty of choice. The City centre is between 5 and ten minutes walking distance. Overall, good value for money and an ideal base in Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back / away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomisttoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review following on from your stay with us in Bath.

I am pleased you found our rooms accommodating; we try to include all necessary items to make guests stay most pleasant.

It also pleases us that our complimentary express start breakfast met your needs with plenty of choice. As you have mentioned our location is ideal for guests wanting to leave their cars in our on-site car park, and then venture into the City to see all of the sights and sounds of Bath.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we hope we are able to welcome you back into our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £67 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing