We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy and convenient... Just don't drink the coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Holiday Inn Express offer a good basic service with a decent size room. Unfortunately it is decorated as if it were the 1980s with blue and brown wood veneer. But there is a very comfortable bed and a giant flat screen television to remind you it is the twenty-first century. There is also a large car park which is great when you want to avoid using your car due to fuel shortage hysteria.

The rooms can be a bit noisy with children running up and down the corridors. Breakfast finishes at an insanely early 9.30 but you will be up well before that anyway with the children as your alarm clock.

For those wanting coffee, you will find the breakfast disappointing and it is at least a five minute walk to an establishment that has a coffee machine. The breakfast coffee dispenser provides a beverage that tastes like something from the bottom of the River Avon.

Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the cemetery as unlike children, the dead don't make much noise...

All told not a bad budget option although you are also best advised to travel lightly as if there are "maintenance men" in the office, they wont accept your bags and you will have to take them with you before the guarenteed 3pm check in.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Pauly6060842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to see you found our rooms comfortable during your stay and our brand new LCD TV’s to be of a good standard.

Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed during your stay, we ask that all guests respect the privacy and minimum noise level. Any guests that hear excessive noise we advise to contact reception who will try to rectify the situation immediately.

It saddens us to see you did not enjoy our complimentary express start breakfast. We are constantly reviewing items within our breakfast area and have recently introduced Kenco coffee to our selection. We are aware that on the odd occasion when the machine runs out of coffee this is when the taste could be unpalatable; our Assistants are always on hand to help replenish these items.

Thank you for expressing your views, we appreciate your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

Excellent location for access to city's interesting attractions - about 10 mins level walking route. Good facilities in hotel - nicely furnished, clean room. Breakfast was adequate and trays of food were replenished quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: quiet room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassoflancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. We appreciate all guests feeding information back to us.

I am pleased to see our location was of benefit to you. Not being directly in the City Centre does have its advantages, especially being able to leave the car in our on-site car park and not having the hassle of negotiating your way through the busy city traffic.

I have passed on your kind comments to our breakfast staff who work hard to replenish stock and be there for our guests.

Thank you again I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Hotels in Bath can be pricey, but the Holiday Inn Express is reasonable, and is well-located. It also has a car park, which can be very useful. The hotel is fairly basic, but adequate. Breakfast is provided, but is no more than OK - machine made coffee and rather dry croissants, with a cooked alternative of decent sausages, but mass-produced scrambled egg. All in all, acceptable for a night or two, but no longer. A plus point is a friendly and helpful staff team.

Room Tip: Can be noisy overlooking the car park, so a room at the back is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing your comments on our Trip Advisor page; we encourage all guests to feed back their experiences so that all other guests have a variation of opinions to read.

Our prices are regularly reviewed to give our guests the best competitive rates, so we are glad to see we achieved those targets for your stay. I am saddened to see our breakfast did not meet your needs, this area is a constant focus and we appreciate guest’s comments to make adjustments where possible.

I have passed on your kind words with regards to our staff, they all try their utmost to be of help and will go above and beyond to make a guests stay a positive experience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Can't moan about the location it was about 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city. As an added bonus right across the road was the the excellent "The Mint Room" Indian restaurant. The staff when we booked in, had a drink late night and left were on the whole friendly and helpful.

So that is the good now the.....bad.

The rooms are clean and tidy but if you are not on your own I am not so sure they are big enough to share. The bathroom has a really bizarre and annoying door that can lock in two places. While the bed was too soft for me. All of those in our party who stayed in different rooms also got annoyed by the AC system which on an alternate basis blasts hot and cold air at you while you try to sleep.

The breakfast was at best functional. This though, I know, is not unique to this hotel and just how the Express Hotels are. I guess you have to see it as a trade off for the decent price. That said orange juice that tasted liked detergent wasn't great.

Overall if you are looking at a one night stay the hotel isn't so bad. Any longer and the downsides might start to annoy.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Mhred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for commenting on your stay with us. All feedback is essential to ensure we are providing services to a high standard.

I am pleased to see our location was useful during your stay, although not directly in the City centre we are just far enough not get the usual city centre noise. As you have experienced the Mint Room is an excellent choice of restaurant when visiting.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding our cleanliness levels; all housekeepers take great pride in providing a spotlessly clean room. All of our rooms are of a standard size which complies with UK legislation; and you will find that all hotels of this brand will be the same. Our full service brand Holiday Inns can offer many different rooms types should you be looking for something more spacious.

Please accept my apologies with regards to the AC units; they will still try to keep the room at the set temperature if electricity is still active. We would have been more than happy to assist with this matter.

Thank you for alerting us with regards to the orange juice; we have now been in contact with our suppliers who will be visiting to investigate further.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, and offers a good balance of comfort and value. I travelled on business, and the room is fine for one person, but if you are a couple, it would be a crowd; especially if you need to stay more than a couple of nights.

The bathroom is small and clean, with a rather ingenious door arrangement!

TV was good (free view), and tuned properly.

The cooked breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise, and to a good standard.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian14_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

I am pleased to see we were able to offer a good balance for you during your stay. We are also thrilled that you liked our unique door arrangement and newly installed LCD TV’s offering a wide selection of freeview channels.

Thank you again for your comments; we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We went for budget and that's what we got. The rooms were clean and in good repair, we were in a group and all within a couple of doors of each other. Its only a 10 min walk into the centre of bath so ideal for sight seeing. The breakfast was a bit poor - grapefruit or some rather tired fresh fruit like satsumas. the fruit juice was not recognisable as such but you could help yourself many times and there was a good choice of breakfast staples. There did seem to be a lot of children running up and down corridors which the staff didnt seem to want to deal with. also the area outside the ground floor rooms to the right is used as a smoking area which meant our room smelt of cigarette smoke. i dont think they should charge for the parking. this seemed a bit mean and i am sure they lose more business than they make on the cost of parking. all in all i would go back again.

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms facing onto the car park on the right as you go in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following on from your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback to ensure we can monitor all areas of a guests stay.

I am pleased to see our rooms were found to be clean and good repair, all our staff try their utmost to ensure all rooms are kept to the best of standards. Please accept my apologies that our breakfast did not meet your needs, we are constantly reviewing this area and welcome all feedback.

As a busy leisure destination we do have many families stay with us, so we do ask that all guests take into consideration their fellow travellers.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Booked in advance to get the the "bargain rate" of £100 for one night. Car park (chargeable additional £4.50 per night) and very full. Staff busy and distracted at check-in. Very much a "budget" hotel, one sachet of coffee each in the room, luckily we brought our own. The "complimentary" breakfast was fairly unappetising so its a good job they didn't charge extra for it! They will heat up pizza for you for around £10 but we found it easier and more relaxing to get a taxi to the town centre and back to eat at Pizza Express. The beds were hard and uncomfortable and none of us slept very well. If we came back to Bath would look for somewhere else to stay...we've stayed in more comfortable and cheaper Premier Inns but at this price, not again...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Shenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Jo,

I would like to thank you for commenting on the Holiday Inn Express Bath following on from your stay with us.

Please accept my apologies that you feel our hotel is expensive and ordinary. I can assure you all rates are reviewed daily to ensure our guests receive the best value stay, especially with Bath being an expensive city to visit.

It saddens me to see you found our breakfast unappetising, we are constantly working hard to meet all guests’ needs and expectations, this resulting in additional items being added to the complimentary selection.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £67 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing