We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast ruined it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
denbird
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast ruined it”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed the one night. Found out they only served Pizza in the evening. Poor show. But found the Little Lime Lounge across the road ... marvellous food. The rooms were fine. But breakfast the next morning? Oh no. They might as well have not bothered. No bacon and eggs or such like. Just some sausages, beans and scrambled egg. When I made a comment was told it was a continental breakfast and they they have to do it because of the brand. Sorry, but you'd go out of business on the continent for serving breakfasts like this. Dry croissants, poor coffee and concentrated juice type stuff. If this was a Premier Inn I'd understand but this is a Holiday Inn at Holiday Inn prices. What made me extra annoyed was everyone around me putting up with such poor quality. Poor show indeed and not the Holiday Inn I used to know.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to view your opinions on our Trip Advisor page.

I am delighted that our bedrooms were to your standard and you had a comfortable stay. However, I am saddened to hear that our services did not meet your requirements.

As a Holiday Inn Express there are some variances between our brand and a full service Holiday Inn. We offer a complimentary continental style buffet breakfast which consists of many items to suit all guests’ needs these items are:- Sausages, Scrambled Egg, Beans, Pastries, Muffins, Cereals, Toast, Rolls, Fruit, Yoghurts, Hot and Cold refreshments.

I can assure you this area is consistently monitored and one which we work on very hard, we will however take your opinion on board.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    660
    311
    70
    25
See reviews for
383
596
41
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My Husband, myself & 9 Yr old son, have just been to Bath for the May bank holiday weekend, stayed 2 nights in the Holiday Inn Express on Lower Bristol Rd.
Had a fantastic weekend, hotel staff were very welcoming. Although the check in was not until 3 o/c we arrived at 12 o/c our room wasn't ready, (as we expected) but they were happy for us to leave the car, and gave us a map & directions of how to walk into the city centre to get to the sights we wanted to visit that day. Car park is charged at £4.50 a day but that is very reasonable when we looked at some of the on road parking meteres in Bath, which is all very limited on time too.
The rooms as most people have said are basic but clean, only a shower room, no bath in ours but for a couple of nights thats ok for us. Must say that our bed was not very comfortable, the foot of the bed was higher than the top, & extremely soft so you rolled together!!
My son had the made up sofa bed, but that was fine for him, he found it comfortable. Breakfast is more than adaquate, and although the hotel was full we had no problem getting a table & there were plenty of options, cereal, pastries fruits, yoghurts, & Sausage, scramble egg & beans if you wanted a hot option.
We went on a 2 for 1 deal & thought it value for money, as someone else has said the lobby price per night was well in excess of £100 per night which I think would have been steep,so best to book in advance, & get a deal even better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATHTPOMPEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for reviewing our hotel following on from your recent stay with us over this past bank holiday weekend.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service and can see this was provided to you.

As you have mentioned car parking is an issue within Bath, this is why we are delighted to offer a secure on-site car park. With the convenience of leaving your car safely parked throughout your stay.

Please accept my apologies our beds did not meet your standards but I am pleased to announce our brand new beds are on order and will be installed by the end of June.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope we are able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The reviews on this site are a fair reflection of this hotel. Welcoming staff, well situated. sufficient car parking etc. The breakfast is the standard holiday express fare - ok for an overnight. The rooms are basic but clean. Booked in advance and got a good deal. A safe bet if you are looking for a hotel in Bath. The only downside for me is the e-mails asking for feedback etc ( I nearly didn't). The hotel is obviously trying hard which is good ........ but don't keep asking for feedback.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepdiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, we encourage all guests to feedback their thoughts, thus enabling us to make any adjustments if needed to make guests stay more comfortable.

I’m pleased to see once again our staff were able to assist with your stay and that our location and car parking were sufficient for your needs; as you have probably experienced these two aspects are very important within a city such as Bath.

Thank you again we do value all guests’ feedback and hope to welcome you back to Bath in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is easy to find (although the sign on the A36 said first left after the lights when you had to turn left at the lights) and has a car park for which a reasonable charge is made but which got just about full in April so what it would be like in peak periods is another matter.

Check in was quick and very friendly and the room very good- we had a double with sofa bed so had something comfortable to sit on- although there's not a huge amount of space for hanging or storing clothes and other things such as wet umbrellas or coats.

Breakfast is plentiful and varied (continental plus hot options) but the orange drink tasted like squash rather than juice.

Wi-fi is free in the public areas downstairs, although the connection I had was very slow, and the staff are all friendly and very helpful with directions and suggestions. It is very conveniently located for the city's attractions but far enough out to make coming and going fairly easy.

I would certainly go back as long as I got a deal on the price as the advertised rate of over £100 per night is too rich for my blood!

Room Tip: Go for a double room with sofa bed if you're going to be spending any time in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weyahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for such encouraging feedback. We value all guests’ reviews; both the team and I are always delighted to receive such comments.

I am pleased our rooms were comfortable during your stay, as you have mentioned our sofas are comfortable to relax after a busy sightseeing trip around Bath. It is also pleasing to see our complimentary express start breakfast was to your liking.

With regards to our complimentary Wi-Fi access our staff are always happy to assist, the signal strength within the reception area will vary depending the amount of guests connected. There are other means of Internet access, such as our on-site computer or we can print items from the reception desk.

Thank you again for your review; we will hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a very convenient place to stay - easy walking distance to everything in town. Clean basic accommodation when all you need is a place to sleep. Complimentary breakfast is a great added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Glen,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our hotel. All feedback is essential to ensure we are delivering the best possible services to all of our guests.

I am pleased to see our complimentary express start buffet breakfast met your needs and expectations. This is always a great way to start a busy day.

Thank you again for your comments; we hope we are able to welcome you back in the future,

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We found the hotel perfect for a short stay in Bath - 10 minute walk to the town centre any excellent car parking rate (very useful in Bath)! Friendly staff - prompt service - excellent self serve breakfast. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Louise,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Bath, we appreciate guests feeding back their experiences.

Is it good to see you found our location so useful during your stay with us recently. I will pass on your kind comments with regards to our staff; they thrive on such feedback and appreciate guests recognizing their hard work.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just a short walk out of the city you will find the Holiday Inn Express. The staff on reception were very friendly and we were checked in quickly. The reception Staff were more than happy to assist with questions regarding tourist attractions and provide maps and brochures.
Upon check in we received a 10% off discount at the Indian restaurant across the road, not wanting to walk back into town, we gave it a go, and it was great! Very smart connection between the hotel and the restaurant (Mint). The bed was a little worn, but still comfy and the breakfast was also good, cant complain when it is free. Internet is also free in the common areas and Parking was very cheap too. All in all we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for such positive comments, my whole team thrive on such a review as yours. They all try their utmost to meet the needs and expectations of all our guests by providing the highest levels of customer service.

I am also pleased to see you enjoyed our complimentary buffet breakfast this is a great way to start a busy day, whether it be a day at work or a busy sightseeing trip to Bath.

Thank you again; I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing