We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

10 of us stayed here. From service to to the room cleaneness. Everything was just right. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolmcbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an encouraging review. It is pleasing to see we are meeting the needs and expectations of our guests. We take great pride in delivering an excellent stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bath
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed for two nights midweek on a quick leisure trip. Room clean, tv with all the freeview channels and kettle for making tea or coffee - but the quantity of tea and coffee was kept to a minimum. The bed was a double, but it somehow seemed small and was too soft for me - the missus slept well enough though. BIG flat screen television - excellent!

Staff were excellent, friendly and smiley which is always nice. Check in was excellent and we were given a Bath city centre map to help us find our way into town from it's very slightly out of town location - it's only a 10 minute walk, though. The car park is a bonus (additional charge of £6 per day) as Bath is not the most car friendly of places.

The breakfast hot option is essentially 'half a cooked breakfast' which is a bit 'is it/isn't it?'. The orange 'juice' from the machine is just pathetic. Horrible tasteless squash type liquid. I didn't even try the apple juice. However, the twinnings tea was good, muffins fresh (very fresh), fruit fresh, coissants and bread rolls and preserves did make up for the couple of pretty poor juice and half a cooked breakfast - the scrambled eggs weren't replenished on our second morning so I was then left with the choice of two thirds of half a cooked breakfast - pretty pointless I thought, so I didn't bother.

Improve the orange juice and add two more items to the hot option - i.e. bacon and hash brown then you might just stop the bad breakfast reviews - the rest of it is fine. Add an extra couple of tea bags in my room and you may have got a four out of five.

A mixed experience so three out of five.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taxislag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on for the Holiday Inn Express Bath. All feedback is essential to ensure we can continue delivering excellent customer service.

I am pleased you enjoyed our newly fitted 32” LCD TV’s, and as you have mentioned we do have freeview TV with around 100 channels. I am also delighted to hear that our staff were able to assist and give you directions to the city centre; they all try their utmost to pass on their knowledge to assist guests. With regards to tea/coffee supplies, our housekeeping department will replenish these items as required upon their daily refresh; but we do also have a guest supplies area within reception where you can also replenish such items.

Please accept my apologies that our breakfast did not meet your needs and expectations. We are constantly reviewing items served within our breakfast area and appreciate your input. I have now arranged an investigation into our Orange Juice so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Very good hotel and close to the centre - about a 10 minute walk. Check-in was a breeze, nice friendly staff. The room was spotless - a good size too. A lot of other hotels in bath have a minimum stay of a couple of days so this was nice as we only wanted a room for the night.

The breakfast was nice, you get what you pay for and there was plenty of food to go around. Hot food wise, there was only beans, scrambled eggs and sausages but we did know that before we booked.

All in all, it was worth the money and great if you're looking to spend a night or two in Bath.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peaches-0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments we appreciate all responses.

I am pleased to see you found our hotel ideal for visiting the city centre and our staff to be friendly. It is also pleasing to hear that our complimentary buffet breakfast was plentiful; we do work hard to ensure we provide the necessary items to ensure that guests have a good start to their busy day.

Once again thank you for writing your review. We hope when visiting Bath again we are your first choice.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Does exactly what it says on the tin, clean and comfortable rooms, and within a walk to anything you want to see in central Bath.. 15mins to The Roman Baths and the Abbey... Parking is an extra £6 a night, breakfast is your average Continental fair.. all in all would go again if I am in Bath.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H_SATTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an encouraging review on the Holiday Inn Express Bath. We value all guests’ feedback to ensure we are providing the best possible services.

I am pleased to see we met your needs and expectations as a reliable brand. As you have mentioned our location is useful when visiting the city centre. Especially being able to leave your car parked safely and securely during your stay.

Thank you again, we will be glad to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed the one night. Found out they only served Pizza in the evening. Poor show. But found the Little Lime Lounge across the road ... marvellous food. The rooms were fine. But breakfast the next morning? Oh no. They might as well have not bothered. No bacon and eggs or such like. Just some sausages, beans and scrambled egg. When I made a comment was told it was a continental breakfast and they they have to do it because of the brand. Sorry, but you'd go out of business on the continent for serving breakfasts like this. Dry croissants, poor coffee and concentrated juice type stuff. If this was a Premier Inn I'd understand but this is a Holiday Inn at Holiday Inn prices. What made me extra annoyed was everyone around me putting up with such poor quality. Poor show indeed and not the Holiday Inn I used to know.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to view your opinions on our Trip Advisor page.

I am delighted that our bedrooms were to your standard and you had a comfortable stay. However, I am saddened to hear that our services did not meet your requirements.

As a Holiday Inn Express there are some variances between our brand and a full service Holiday Inn. We offer a complimentary continental style buffet breakfast which consists of many items to suit all guests’ needs these items are:- Sausages, Scrambled Egg, Beans, Pastries, Muffins, Cereals, Toast, Rolls, Fruit, Yoghurts, Hot and Cold refreshments.

I can assure you this area is consistently monitored and one which we work on very hard, we will however take your opinion on board.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My Husband, myself & 9 Yr old son, have just been to Bath for the May bank holiday weekend, stayed 2 nights in the Holiday Inn Express on Lower Bristol Rd.
Had a fantastic weekend, hotel staff were very welcoming. Although the check in was not until 3 o/c we arrived at 12 o/c our room wasn't ready, (as we expected) but they were happy for us to leave the car, and gave us a map & directions of how to walk into the city centre to get to the sights we wanted to visit that day. Car park is charged at £4.50 a day but that is very reasonable when we looked at some of the on road parking meteres in Bath, which is all very limited on time too.
The rooms as most people have said are basic but clean, only a shower room, no bath in ours but for a couple of nights thats ok for us. Must say that our bed was not very comfortable, the foot of the bed was higher than the top, & extremely soft so you rolled together!!
My son had the made up sofa bed, but that was fine for him, he found it comfortable. Breakfast is more than adaquate, and although the hotel was full we had no problem getting a table & there were plenty of options, cereal, pastries fruits, yoghurts, & Sausage, scramble egg & beans if you wanted a hot option.
We went on a 2 for 1 deal & thought it value for money, as someone else has said the lobby price per night was well in excess of £100 per night which I think would have been steep,so best to book in advance, & get a deal even better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATHTPOMPEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for reviewing our hotel following on from your recent stay with us over this past bank holiday weekend.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service and can see this was provided to you.

As you have mentioned car parking is an issue within Bath, this is why we are delighted to offer a secure on-site car park. With the convenience of leaving your car safely parked throughout your stay.

Please accept my apologies our beds did not meet your standards but I am pleased to announce our brand new beds are on order and will be installed by the end of June.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope we are able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The reviews on this site are a fair reflection of this hotel. Welcoming staff, well situated. sufficient car parking etc. The breakfast is the standard holiday express fare - ok for an overnight. The rooms are basic but clean. Booked in advance and got a good deal. A safe bet if you are looking for a hotel in Bath. The only downside for me is the e-mails asking for feedback etc ( I nearly didn't). The hotel is obviously trying hard which is good ........ but don't keep asking for feedback.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepdiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, we encourage all guests to feedback their thoughts, thus enabling us to make any adjustments if needed to make guests stay more comfortable.

I’m pleased to see once again our staff were able to assist with your stay and that our location and car parking were sufficient for your needs; as you have probably experienced these two aspects are very important within a city such as Bath.

Thank you again we do value all guests’ feedback and hope to welcome you back to Bath in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £80 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing