We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great base for exploring the town, comfortable, breakfast really good.
Biggest bonus for me was I left bits in my room and they kindly posted them to me free of charge, they didn't have to do that and it was greatly appreciated. Thank you. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for such an encouraging review about our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made use of our hotel as a great base for exploring our city.

I am also glad to hear that our reception staff were of assistance in returning left belongings. They will always go above and beyond the call of duty, even after a guest has departed.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    646
    304
    70
    23
See reviews for
371
581
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Aside from being a very attractive town, Bath is a great base of operations for exploring the western half of the UK - and we found that this hotel (just about a mile from the train station) suited our needs very well. Crossing a couple of streets, and strolling across the Sainsbury's parking lot, puts you very close to the town center - and even Sainbury's itself is a handy thing to have nearby if you are traveling light and need to stock up on some things after a long time on the road. This hotel features all the brand standards you would expect, but - beyond that - it has the most beautiful breakfast room of any Express we've ever visited: mature trees, floor to ceiling windows, and just a very pleasant ambience. We will definitely stay here again if we have the chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nate1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review for the Holiday Inn Express Bath. It is pleasing to hear that you found our historical city a great base for the South west of England and also that our hotel suited your needs during your travels.

We are situated in a very convenient place for sightseeing as you have mentioned, we always suggest to guests travelling that they leave their car parked in our secure on-site car park and walk through our beautiful city.

I would also like to thank you for such kind comments with regards to our décor, we are lucky enough to have such a unique design in our breakfast area.

Thank you again, we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I primarily spend our vacations out and about exploring and visiting local sites so our sole purpose for hotels is to find somewhere safe, clean, and comfortable where we can sleep and shower in our own private room and bathroom. We look for basic no frills places to stay that are centrally located and affordable.

The Holiday Inn Express in Bath actually went against the prototype hotel that we stay at while in Europe. We usually like staying at locally owned hotels or bed and breakfasts. However we had a hard time finding an affordable place in Bath so we resorted to Holiday Inn. The hotel more than met our needs and was affordable.

The hotel was very typical of they type of chain hotel you would find in the US. It was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. The staff was friendly and courteous. The free included breakfast was very good and much more than we expected. We soon learned that an "English" breakfast is much larger and more food than what you will find in other European countries. Wi-Fi was free, but only available in the lobby. I would have preferred if it was also available in our room.

The only small complaint I had about the hotel was that it was a bit away from the city center. It was about a 20 minute walk to the Roman baths. We don't mind walking though so it was not that big of a deal. We imagine that the reason that it was bit cheaper than other hotels is that it was not as centrally located as other hotels. There also were not many restaurants in the immediate area which left our eating choices a bit limited.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankr690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking your time to write this review. We appreciate all guests feedback after their stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you went against your prototype hotel and had an enjoyable stay with us in Bath. Our housekeeping team will be thrilled to hear you found our hotel very clean; they work hard all year around to ensure they are keeping to the best standards possible.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here for one night, wish it had been longer, in my capacity as a tour manager with 30 American visitors. The welcome from reception was very warm and they dealt with check in extremely efficiently. Lovely spacious rooms with comfy bed and a choice of pillows, sofa, snacks and ice machine available. Only 10 minutes walk into the town centre of Bath. The best scrambled eggs and a good choice for breakfast. Altogether a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on trip advisor following on from your tour groups visit.

It pleases us to hear that even with a group booking we are getting it right. We always strive to provide the best products and services and can see all aspects of your stay were fulfilled.

I hope your entire group enjoyed our prestigious world heritage city and collected some fond memories.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stay there for one night. Good location to the center of Bath maybe in center bath in 10 to 15 minutes. Rooms were clean, staff were very helpful, we were allowed to check in very early with no problems. Breakfast was good. For the price we paid the Holiday inn express was defintiely good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenvine32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on our Trip Advisor page, it is encouraging to read you had a pleasant visit.

I am pleased that you found our rooms clean and staff very helpful. All teams throughout the hotel pride themselves in delivering the best possible service. We will always try to assist guests in checking in early if this is possible and I am glad to see we were able to help.

Thank you again I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel is clean and comfortable and within reach of Bath's many attractions. Like other reviewers I found the breakfast to be poor but given that we stayed for three nights for what we would have paid for one elsewhere in Bath, I can live with that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following on from your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and comfortable, our housekeeping department take great pride in keeping their cleanliness levels to the highest of standards.

Please accept my apologies that our breakfast did not meet your needs, we are constantly reviewing this area and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were impressed by the helpfulness of the staff. When making the booking I noted that no twin bedded rooms were available so I requested one, if possible, in the comments section of the booking form. On arrival the receptionist apologised for not having a twin bedded room available but said that she had had the sofabed in the room made up so that we could use that as a second bed if we wished (there was also a double bed in the room). We found that really helpful. She also gave us lots of useful information for our visit to Bath.

The town centre was a short walk from the hotel and our room, breakfast, etc up to usual Holiday Inn Express standards. Will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Bath.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Christine,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for such an encouraging review. It really is pleasing for all our staff to see that their hard work and dedication is appreciated. They do go above and beyond the call of duty when trying to help guests have an enjoyable stay with us.

It is also pleasing to see our location was useful during your stay; we always suggest that guests take the short stroll into the city and leave the car in our secure on-site car park.

Thank you again, and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,767 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing