We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms good location friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice rooms good location friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Very good rooms and location , breakfast was nice but very busy, very helpfully staff and very good location, great locations to visit , make a pint of going to the roman baths and crecent

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the historic city of bath

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RefH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for such a positive and encouraging review. It is pleasing to see we were able to excel in all areas of your stay.

I would agree with your recommendations for visitors to Bath. The Roman Baths and Royal Crescent are a ‘must see’ when visiting our beautiful historical city. If guests need any information or directions please be sure to ask at reception; our staff will be more than happy to assist.

Thank you again; I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    611
    298
    70
    23
See reviews for
363
546
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Needing a convenient and good value hotel in Bath for our daughters graduation we chose HIE bath..we arrived too early to check in, but we're told there was no problem leaving our car (£6),and checking in later.we were also told we could park until 4pm the day of check out.Convienent for spending time sightseeing without paying again for parking.Rooms were very comfortable,4 pillows provided ,a small point but in 2 previous Travellodge stays 3 pillows caused arguments with my husband !..although on a main road noise was never an issue.Complimentary breakfast included.My only want was WIFI in the room.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank baileyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

I am pleased to hear we were a convenient choice when visiting Bath for your daughter’s graduation. Although too early to check in we do try to accommodate guests as you have mentioned.

I am also delighted that our 2 extra pillows made all the difference during your stay with us, also being able to give the option of soft or firm textured pillows.

Thank you again for your time in writing this review.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The thing you expect from a hotel chain.
'Standard room' airco, good bed, good location

Two minus points:
No free wifi in the rooms. we live in 2012 not 2000 anymore.
They first put us in a room from which they knew that the aircosystem on top of the building was broke. How did they know..as soon as we called we got the reply we can put you in another room and not the reply we will come to listen what the problem is. This last point probably wont affect other travellers

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on the Holiday Inn Express Bath, we value all feedback to ensure we are delivering the best possible services to all of our guests.

It is pleasing that you found our beds to be of a good standard and location useful when visiting the city.

Please accept my apologies that your stay was interrupted with a faulty air conditioning unit. Our staff try their utmost to not disturb guests with faulty equipment, which may happen on the odd occasion due to unforeseen circumstances, I can assure you this is not a regular occurrence.

Thank you again for taking the time to send your review.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at a Holiday Inn Express (HIE) for the first time in London and enjoyed it so much that when we saw a HIE in Bath while looking for a place to stay we immediately turned into the driveway! We were lucky to get a room without a prior reservation (arrived before noon). If you are from the USA and have AAA membership - ask about a discount rate as it made a significant difference to our room rate. Nice room - looked as if it had been recently redecorated. Had the same lay out as other HIE rooms in London. Comfortable bed and clean big bathroom. Free WiFi in lobby, not in rooms. Easy and pleasant walk to center of Bath (~ 8-10 mins). Quiet as we found all the HIE we stayed in on our trip. Great breakfast although the aircon was blasting away in the breakfast seating area which made the draft somewhat unpleasant while eating. Front desk Staff very helpful and friendly. Even though they were busy they took the time out to ask us (and seemed interested!) about our travels and helped us make another reservation at a HIE in London. They even took the time to print out directions for us when we had to go to the hospital. On site parking in a big lot was 6 pounds a night extra to room rate. That was surprising and disappointing. Our whole experience at HIE and Bath was pleasant and we would go back again. Thanks HIE.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTour2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review on the Holiday Inn Express Bath. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with our brand in London and Bath.

I am pleased you found our beds to be comfortable; we have just recently had all mattresses, bed bases and sofa beds replaced within the last month, so it nice to hear they are meeting our guests needs.

I am thrilled that our staff were able to be of assistance even during a busy time, they will all go above and beyond to ensure all guests have a pleasant, enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Booked the Holiday Inn Express via the internet so managed to save some money on the booking.
Its in a good location as only 10 minutes walk to Bath City centre. The rooms are a good size and very clean and tidy. Wifi is only free in the "Grand Hall" which is a shame but packages are available if you want to stay in your room. Breakfast is a busy time and food is reasonable and various. I would chose to stay here again on my next trip to Bath.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann0ying0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Ann,

Firstly, thank you for writing this review of our hotel we value all feedback from our guests.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Also that our rooms were of a good size and you found our cleanliness levels of a high standard, our housekeeping team always strive to keep the best standards, even during busy peak months for our hotel.

We will look forward to your visit in the future, thank you once again for your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I made the reservation over the phone and Lewis was efficient and helpful in making the booking. We had a room on the ground floor which was spotless and a good size. Shower good.
Evening receptionist very helpful about where to eat as we arrived fairly late. The Indian Restaurant across the road to the hotel was excellent - fine dining - as the Receptionist said.
Did not bother with breakfast as we would be eating lunch. Lewis checked us out. Again
very efficiently and friendly. I would say for a "budget" hotel it was very good and would stay again. Parking easy and for £6 until 4.00pm next day a bargain. Most hotels seem to charge £20 plus these days.

Room Tip: Ask reception for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Maxine,

Thank you for such an encouraging review on our hotel, all feedback is vital to ensure we are delivering the best possible services to our guests.

I have passed on your kind comments to Lewis who is thrilled he was able to assist you through several parts of your journey with us. I am pleased to see you were able to visit the Mint Room and have an excellent meal.

Thank you again for your comments, I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Bath and the Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel isin a great location just 8minute walk to Bath centre. The hotel rooms are clean and have everything you need without all the clutter you don't need. Free wireless in the room would have been good and I think they could rearrange the breakfast to make it flow better and provide more seating.

Parking at £6.00 per night is good value although it would have been nice to have been told of the cost when booking.

Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Sara,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we appreciate all guests taking their time to comment on their recent stays.

I am pleased to hear our location was ideal during your visit to Bath, we do have the advantage of an on site car park enable guests to explore our beautiful historical city by foot. It is also pleasing that our rooms were found clean and everything you needed during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to our breakfast area, unfortunately we are unable to provide additional seating due to the space available within our Great Room. We do however always advise guests of our busiest times of service, this giving all guests the option to avoid queues and find seating a lot easier. We are constantly monitoring this area so we do appreciate your comments.

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing