We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is a budget hotel, but it does everything you need.

The rooms a clean and modern, The bed was nice, and the staff were polite and helpful

The breakfast was a continental style with "Hot Options" ...Sausage, beans and Scrabled eggs... But no bacon :-(

The hotel is a 15 minuite walk from the town centre.

The only negative is that they charge for parking, but £12 for two days isn't bad!

If you are in Bath on a Sunday evening Try the Ring-O-Bells in widicombe for Live Jazz and Tapas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecanvasclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value all feedback to ensure we are delivering the best possible services to all of our guests.

I am delighted to hear you found our rooms to be clean, modern and have to a nice bed. Our housekeeping take great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and it always pleases them to read such reviews.

I am glad you were able to take advantage of the short walking distance to the city centre. We do have a secure on-site car park with a minimal charge, we always suggest that guests leave their cars in our car park and either walk or use local transport. Bath city centre car parks can be very expensive even for just 2 hours.

Thank you again for your time. I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

myself and my husband stayed for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary-being to bath a few times and stayed at different hotels i will say that the HIE was one of the better ones. it was clean,cosy and modern, the manager on duty at this time was very nice and polite and even offered to jump start our vehical after my husband let the battury die!
i will add a couple of downsides though. our room 106 was over looking a graveyard! which was'nt great but also not a massive problem, The noice from the main road is a big pain for a light sleeper like me but at the same time most HIE hotels are based on main roads or motorways which i knew before booking.
the hotel website says that its a 10 min walk to the town-which it is but only to the top of the high street and the jane austin center the roman baths and abbey are about 20 min away and i walk pretty fast. and the walk from the hotel is through a petrol garage, a homebase carpark and an old station- so not a pleasant walk, but again not a massive problem. I would stay there again due to the price, but if i had a higher budget id stay closer in to town ( but not the travel lodge) all in all we had a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room to the right of the hotel, they seem to just be on the carpark. room 106 was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Bath; we appreciate all guests feeding information back to us following their stay.

I am pleased to hear you found our hotel to be amongst one of the better in Bath, finding it clean, cozy and modern. It is also pleasing to hear our staff being recognised for their excellent customer service, they will always try their utmost to assist, even with mechanical problems.

Our location is ideal when visiting Bath’s main attractions but not wanting to be directly in the centre itself. Other than a short 10-15 minute walk there are alternative modes of transport including a bus stop across the road from the hotel which runs a regular service.

Thank you again for your review, I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Having just stayed at this hotel I would recommend it! At first glance you may be put off by the location of the hotel, but it is well served by local and frequent services to the city centre. We travelled to Bath from London by train. It is also not far to walk - 15 minutes, and is mostly flat/level. It is also very near to a large Sainsburys supermarket. I plan to stay there again, and would recommended it to friends and family. My daughter and mother were very happy with their stay as well. Bath is beautiful!! If only I had the money to live there!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLight69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review on Trip Advisor following on from your stay with us.

I am pleased to hear although slightly out of the city centre you were able to find the easily accessible routes into the city. Also that you found our hotel well priced, modern, spotless and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bath in the future and hope you have another enjoyable stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

It's difficult to find a reasonably priced hotel in Bath that is relatively close to the downtown area and has a carpark, but the Holiday Inn is pretty good. While it is about a 15min walk into town, that's not too bad. There's some nice shops and places to eat along the way.
The rooms are basic but clean and spatious.
Breakfast was adequate and filling. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1306m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. It is a delight to hear we were able to provide you with such a comfortable base for your holiday.

I am pleased that our location was useful during your visit, with many local shops and restaurants on the way into the city.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I am pleased that you had a nice stay. We very much hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is the best of the budget chain hotels in Bath, being cleaner, smarter and more comfortable than either of the two Travelodges in the city. Although located on a main road most of the rooms face out on to the adjacent school or cemetery, so are quiet at night. The hotel is less centrally located than either of the Travelodges, but a 15 minute walk will get you to the centre of town, and frequent buses run from outside the hotel. The breakfast service area is small and can get crowded and chaotic particularly in the summer tourist season. Best to go early if on business.

Room Tip: Low numbers 01-11 overlook the main road or are to stairs/lift. Higher numbers are quieter, but furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobsterpotDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an encouraging review on our hotel. I am pleased to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations of a budget hotel in Bath.

As you have mentioned we are slightly out of the city centre, but only a short 10-15 minute walk to the centre itself. Our breakfast can become busy at times, so we do try to encourage guests to come down earlier so they can avoid queues.

Thank you again; I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have just spent three nights here in a family room with my husband and son (5). We arrived straight after staying in a newish Premier Inn in Swansea, and the room was very small in comparison. It was a standard double with an extra double sofa bed. The sofa bed was very comfortable, but it left very little room for manouvre around the room and we fell over our bags and each other quite a bit!

As a Holiday Inn 'Express' this is classified as a limited service hotel, and the staff are happy for you to order takeaways to eat in the lounge or your room which is good if you've had a busy day and don't want to go out again. They provide useful information about local attractions and places to eat.

The best thing about the hotel is the location, it's a ten minute walk into the centre of Bath and the staff gave us good directions when we arrived. Parking in Bath is difficult so it's good to be able to leave the car in the secure carpark and walk in.

The hotel was very busy in the peak August holidays and there were also coach tours staying. The breakfast room is not large and didn't really cope with the numbers. The food was fine, with the usual hot and cold buffet selection. However the queues were long and the seating was a free for all so it became a bit of a scrum. They only serve until 9.30, and everyone descended at 9.00. it would be better if they served for longer or gave half hour slots if there aren't enough tables for the number of guests. It's probably fine if you visit at a quieter time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaceandquietshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for expressing you opinions through your recent Trip Advisor post on the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

I am pleased to hear our staff were accommodating during your three night stay with us. They will always go above and beyond when recommending local restaurants, attractions and even further afield.

It is pleasing to read that you found our location to be ideal during your visit. As you have mentioned parking in Bath is very difficult and can become expensive if paying for city centre car parks. We do suggest that guests leave their cars parked in our on-site secure car park and use other means of transport into the city.

Thank you for your comments with regards to our complimentary express start breakfast. We do pre-warn all guests upon arrival of our breakfast times also when our busiest times are likely to be.

Thank you again for your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 2 children, rooms are clean but small, hotel is clean and modern, breakfast was pretty basic but that's what you get at holiday inn chains. I expected a basic hotel if I'm honest, I've stayed in plenty of holiday inns around the world and can honestly say that I have yet to find a holiday inn in the uk that is of the standard as there sister hotels across the world.

As a platinum plus member I was disappointed there was no upgrade at this hotel.

If you are looking for a basic hotel I would recommend this hotel, it's a short walk into the centre of bath, the staff are pleasant and very helpful. It's around 30 miles from Longlete safari park, and 40 miles to cheddar gorge,

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor following on from your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath; all feedback is very important to us.

I am pleased to hear you found our rooms to be clean and the hotel to be modern, although it is unfortunate that you felt our hotel was basic. As a Holiday Inn Express there are only certain items and services we are able to deliver; we do feel however that these are delivered to best of our ability.

I am however delighted to hear that our staff were pleasant and helpful; they all try their utmost to deliver excellent customer service.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £76 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing