We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas market stay in bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Christmas market stay in bath”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the second time now to enjoy the Christmas market and will definitely stay here again. The only down side I can say is I think that the rooms are slightly over priced for what you get but if you take into account the fab location then that does make up for it. Now for the good points.

It's location is great only a ten min stroll into the town center and on a Saturday you have the added bonus of passing through a nice food market on the way.

The hotel bar has reasonable priced drinks and comfy tub chairs to rest after all your shopping.

The breakfast is good providing you are not expecting a full sit down English, but what they do offer does set you up for the day.

The rooms are small but have everything that you need for a night or two and are very clean.

And the hotel staff were great very polite and helpful and there is on site parking but you need to get there early as its first come first served.

I would definitely use this hotel again.
,

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to see you stayed with us a second time. With the vast number of hotels and guesthouses that are in Bath, we really do appreciate you choosing to stay with us again.

The Christmas Market is always an incredibly popular period for us, and we offer competitive flexible room rates that are comparable to that of other hotels in the city.

I am glad to see you took advantage of our complimentary Express Start breakfast. As you mentioned, we serve a continental buffet with a selection of hot options. Also, our staff were happy to hear you found them helpful and polite.

Thank you again for sharing your wonderful comments, and we hope to welcome you a third time in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    610
    298
    70
    23
See reviews for
361
545
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on ternt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We had a three night stay in Bath for a visit to the Christmas market and shopping in this fabulous city. Our stay at this hotel was great, no noise, not too busy, pleasant staff and in a good location. Our room was clean, warm and quiet. It overlooked the graveyard at the back of the hotel, but never heard any other guests. Breakfast was fine, and the usual Express fare, but everything was restocked quickly, tables were cleared immediately and although we ate at peak times for breakfast it was relaxed and enjoyable,
A 10 minute walk across the road, through the petrol station, Homebase and Sainsburys car parks brought us into the city centre very easily. It is amazing how many people particularly students do this walking route... it must be the best short cut!
The Christmas market is brilliant and we spent a fortune on quality gifts and treats. It was even better at night, it was well stewarded and patrolled, and everyone seemed so polite....(the Christmas Spirit?)
I would certainly recommend a visit and a stay at this hotel. I imagine it is very busy at weekends but if like us you can go mid week it makes for a great place for a short break

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are very quiet, rooms at front noisier and overlook car park and smokers corner. Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wobbler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We always welcome feedback from our guests to identify areas where we excelled, and areas where we should improve.

It is wonderful to see you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and I am glad you found our complimentary Express Start breakfast had improved since your last review.

As you mentioned, we are a short walk from the City centre, and our reception staff are always more than happy to help with maps and directions where needed.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

stayed for 1 night visiting the christmas markets it is a very busy hotel which reflected in the breakfast queue but the food was good and plenty of choice. the room was very comfortable spotless even though our room was over the carpark had a good nights sleep the staff were friendly and very helpful central location good place to stay for short visit would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falmouthsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us during the always-popular Christmas Market period. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. It is always fantastic to hear when guests feel our staff members are doing a good job, and they were delighted when I passed on your comments.

Thank you again for your review, and we would love to have you again.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We spent two nights over the Christmas market period. It was packed when we stayed and this delayed breakfast at times as it was a buffet breakfast. Breakfast was not fantastic but adequate and could have been better organised if arranged differently eg toasters put in separate area so they did not hold up the queue for hot food.

Room was clean and light as we had a corner room and two windows. Lift available and snack area as no restaurant on site. Staff very helpful. Good access to town centre. Bed quite small in comparison to other well-known hotel chains.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are light but colder. Traffic out the front of the hotel can be noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to see you were able to take advantage of our complimentary Express Start breakfast whilst you stayed with us. Our breakfast is incredibly popular with our guests, so occasionally there is a slight delay whilst our guests choose their food from the buffet area. Breakfast is a constant focus for us, and we take guest feedback very seriously so that we can continuously improve the breakfast experience for our guests. We did have the toasters separated in the past, but unfortunately we found that only the one toaster was being used. However, we are always reviewing the layout of our buffet area, so we will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here in September for four nights. The hotel is not in the center of town but it is a reasonable walk to all the tourist sights. It's walking distance to the bus and train stations. That can be a very pleasant walk along the Avon River...not with luggage. This was important to us since we took the train to Salisbury one day and Cardiff the next. The rooms were a good size and clean. The beds were comfortable. The staff was very helpful, the full English breakfast buffet very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family-of-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am glad to hear you found our staff helpful, and the rooms clean. Also, we are happy to see you made use of our complimentary Express Start breakfast, consisting of a continental buffet with hot options.

As you mentioned, we are a short 10 to 15-minute walk from the town centre, although you can also catch a bus directly opposite the hotel. Alternatively, our staff members are always happy to organise taxis for our guests.

Again, I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights here and found it to be very good. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was good a reasonable walk into the city centre and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
I was pleased to find the microwave in the reception area and the crockery and cutlery. On one of the days we were there my husband felt ill and did not leave the hotel room. I was able to get him a tin of soup (from nearby Sainsburys) and warm it up for him. This was excellent. The cleaning staff were very good leaving a bag with towels and more tea, coffee, milk and sugar.
The only reason I am not giving an excellent rating is because I saw the staff parking in the disabled badge parking areas when they did not have blue badges.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koalajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review. We welcome all guest feedback, as this enables us to continuously review and, where necessary, improve the experience we provide to our guests.

As a Holiday Inn Express, we do not have a full restaurant onsite, but do serve a selection of Chicago Town Pizzas. Alternatively, as you pointed out, we offer the use of a microwave in our vending area, as well as the possibility to order in food. Also, in addition to our cleaning staff replenishing coffee and tea supplies in the rooms, we have these in our vending area as well, so that guests can help themselves if they run out before the room is serviced.

With regards to your comment about staff parking in the disabled bays, occasionally our staff members will park there on busy days, so that we can keep these reserved for guests that are blue badge holders.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and we hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Just returned from staying 1 night to visit the Christmas market.
This hotel is well located with about a 15 minute walk to the centre plus car parking ( £6 per night ) which is a huge bonus in Bath .
The hotel is close to a busy road and although we were overlooking a cemetary which should be the quieter side we could hear some traffic noise but it certainly wasnt unacceptably noisy.
Breakfast is fine but as someone else commented the orange juice is weak but no problems otherwise and usual holiday inn express fare.
What was excellent though was the reception staff who were really friendly and helpful not only about the walking route into Bath and bus routes (of which there are 2 going to the centre of town I think ) but also to our query about somewhere very close to eat that didnt mean using the car or a long walk. Just for information there is an indian restaurant almost opposite which looked quite smart but also a little Italian cafe who did good pizzas and garlic bread etc about a 2 minute walk away which suited us fine--not a smart restaurant but more of a cafe with a good take away trade and a few tables for eat-in customers.
All in all a good stay

Room Tip: The cemetary side is probably quieter than overlooking the car park but as far away as possible from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review of your stay on Tripadvisor.

It is great to see you were able to take full advantage of our car park whilst you were staying with us. Parking is limited in Bath, especially during special events in Bath, so we are happy to be able to provide this to our guests at a small charge.

I am delighted to see you found our staff to be excellent. They take pride in consistently delivering the best possible standard of service to our guests, and I am glad to hear you found them helpful.

Also, we are lucky to have some fantastic eating establishments within walking distance of the hotel, such as the Indian Restaurant the Mint Room and Italian Café 84 as you mentioned in your review.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We hope you will consider us again should you ever return to Bath.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 35 in Bath
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing