We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Went to stay at Holiday Inn Express, Bath on 10th Jan for 2 nights for wife's birthday treat. Travelled down fron NE Essex by car, arrived at 1pm. Parked in car park and went into reception to pay for car park. Met with a warm welcome, quickly paid for car parking (paid £12 from then until 4 pm on checkout day 2 days later). Reception will give you a map and point out the walk into town through old railway stn. Took about 10 mins to walk. Checked in about 4.30 ish, straightfwd and friendly. I had requested a quiet room and that is what we got, overlooking the cemetery (they were quiet !). There was a birthday card waiting in our room for my wife, a nice touch from the hotel staff. Room was excellent, spacious and spotless, no problems at all. If you want more tea/coffee etc, they available near reception to help yourself, hope people don't start abusing that! Breakfast was good and included. Buffet style, cereals, croissants, juice, toast, scambled eggs, sausages and beans. Toaster takes a bit of getting used to, nothing new there ! Set us up for the day. Check out was qiuck and easy. Would definately recommand to anyone and stay here again. Well done !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gripper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to see you and your wife enjoyed your time in Bath.

I am pleased you both appreciated the birthday card, and the quiet room we had allocated for you as per request. Our staff members are committed to delivering the best guest experience possible, so where we can, we always try to honour requests, and do anything else that could enhance your stay with us.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we will see you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bath
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 930 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed here overnight as was in Bath on business.
The hotel is bright, modern and clean and in a reasonable position in Bath.
I walked from the train station and it was about a 15 minute walk.
The staff on reception were particularly nice and friendly and it was nice to feel welcome when I arrived.
The room was fine, typical of that level of hotel really. A comfortable bed, en-suite shower and LCD TV with Freeview channels.
Breakfast was a buffet selection and was ok.
Happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Booking early will ususally get a better deal.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crinse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Overall a pleasant hotel - staff friendly and helpful, room clean and adequate, bed comfy and heating efficient.

The big downside on the weekend we were there was a large group of youngsters who came back at 0200-0230 and then proceded to show complete disregard for everyone else by calling out, banging doors, moving back and forth from room to room talking and calling out. In the end we phoned reception at 0300 and presumably they had words as shortly after all was quiet.

Based on this I was tempted to do a damning low mark review but these people weren't the hotels fault. Just spoilt our stay.

Breakfast is standard HIE fayre, still don't understand why they don't do bacon. Scrambled egg is ok as are beans, sausages are cheap and nasty. Breakfast is pretty basic but this is a budget hotel. We got a fantastic rate and at £40 for two nights we can't really complain! Don't feel this place justifies the £86 'normal' nightly rate though.

Nice walk to town via Sainsbury's and the old Green Park Station, better than the main road which is a bit bleak in places. Can recommend Hon Fusion Chinese, see separate review.

Overall this is a modern, pleasant budget hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the disturbance caused by other guests during your stay. I am glad to see our reception staff managed to take charge of the situation, and the inconsiderate guests quietened down soon after. I appreciate that this would have had a negative impact on your stay, but I am glad to see you still left with a positive impression of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Rooms are large and spacious, always kept clean with fresh towels etc as you would expect from any large hotel chain.The receptionists were very helpful and knowledgable about the area and provided me with good directions. It is only a maximum 15 min walk to the town centre.
Only downside was the breakfast being a little spartan especially on the hot food side although it was a nice bonus to be able to take a breakfast tray back to your room

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor. As a hotel, we always welcome any guest feedback as this allows us to continuously offer the highest standard of service possible to our guests.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding our housekeeping and reception staff. We have a dedicated team of hard working people, and it is always fantastic to see their efforts are appreciated.

I am glad to see you took advantage of our complimentary Express Start breakfast. As you mentioned, we always welcome guests to take their breakfast up to their rooms if they prefer to do so.

Thank you again for your comments. If you are ever planning to visit Bath in the future, I hope you will consider us again.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed at this htl for a short week-end and I was very pleased with the room size; the htl is well kept and the standard of service very good indeed; bed is very comfortable and duvet warm; breakfast area is also spacious and plenty of food served - i am just not fond of coffee served by the machine, but I was very pleased with my scrambled eggs, beans and toasted bread! The htl is located about 10 minutes walk from the city centre, but it is a nice stroll and the city of Bath is pretty indeed and interested to visit! I would definitely reccommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time in Bath, and that you were happy with the rooms and standard of service offered by our team. As you mentioned, we are only a short walk from the town centre, and our reception staff are always happy to assist with maps and directions. Alternatively, there is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your review on Tripadvisor, and I hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

stayed at this hotel as it was just outside the main city easy walk through sainsburys to get to main town 10min at most .this hotel was clean ,bright ,and airy the rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday .staff were brillant and helpful food was good and plentyful .we had two nights there and would book to go back when visting our family

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolahigginsdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I have passed on your comments regarding the cleanliness to our housekeeping staff. We have a very dedicated team of housekeepers who are committed to ensuring the cleanliness of the hotel is of an exceptional standard.

As you mentioned, we are a short walk from the city centre where most of Bath’s famous attractions are, and our reception team is always happy to provide maps, directions, and recommendations where requested.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we’ll be able to welcome you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

cant fault it, cheap, clean fair sized rooms, good location to town centre, good staff knowledge about the town and the shower in the room worked well, not always a dead cert in hotels in the uk ! chec your rate carefully as it does seem to change frequently

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We welcome all guest feedback so that we can continue to offer the best hotel experience possible, but it is always fantastic to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.

As you mentioned, our rates do vary, and we always recommend booking early on our website or through our hotel reservations to get the best deals available.

Thank you again for your comments, and if you are ever in Bath again, we hope to see you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £80 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing