We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Free Breakfast" what a joke !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Free Breakfast" what a joke !”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 29-30th November, hotel itself was ok, but breakfast was chaotic on our morning of checkout on 1st Dec, we came down to have breakfast only to find any available tables were piled up with used cups, plates etc, we had to clear a table for ourselves and then went to the breakfast bar only to find that there wasn't anything to eat, every container was empty, there were no clean cups,cutlery or plates.
A young lady appeared with a few cleans mugs and apologised for the delay for the missing breakfast etc but the situation did not improve and no one from the management came to try and remedy things, they just left the member of staff to face the guests.
After 20 minutes of waiting we did get something to eat but not what should have been available.
To allow this to happen on probably one of their busiest weekends was not a good advert to stay at a Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am extremely sorry that breakfast didnt meet its usual high standards while you were staying with us. I can assure you, this isn't a common occurrence with us, so I do apologise that on this occasion it didn't meet your expectations.

Due to it being an extremely busy weekend, with the opening of the Christmas market which is currently on in Bath, the hotel was fully booked which made the demand for breakfast extremely high. Unfortunately, due to being short staffed over the weekend also, it did effect our breakfast service.

Our breakfast team were working as quickly and as hard as possible to replenish the breakfast area, however, due to the large number of guests we had, it was difficult to keep up with the demand.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I would like to apologise again that on this occasion your expecatations were not met. It is feedback such as yours, which allows us to see what areas we can improve on in the future, so thank you.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    618
    299
    70
    23
See reviews for
363
552
37
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

breakfast was utter chaos, no cups for the help yourself tea dispenser, then when cups were eventually brought there were no tea bags left, no bread for the do it yourself toaster, no plates or cutlery either. The only hot food is eggs. sausage and beans and they had ran out of eggs on a Sunday morning and despite being opposite 2 Sainsburys supermarkets didnt bother to get any more, tables left uncleared so no wonder they were running low on cutlery and crockery. Could go on and on about how bad this was but just wont stay there again, theer were 2 staff off apparently and the 2 who were working did their best but could simply not cope with demand. The breakfast is supposed to be complimentary so that's their excuse for not providing anything I presume,but at £160 per night per room complimentary it aint!!! They also charge £8 per day for parking which is too steep for residents being charged those room rates. Rooms were clean but noisey with traffic sounds.

Room Tip: rooms above reception are noisey because of traffic and people going outside to smoke, heating came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so sorry that our complimentary breakfast didn't meet its usual high standards on this occasion. I can assure you that this isn't a common occurrence with us, so I do apologise that the breakfast didn't meet your expectations this time. It was an extremely busy weekend, due to the opening of the Christmas market which is currently on in Bath and the hotel was fully booked over the weekend making the demand for breakfast extremely high.

Unfortunately, as well as this, we were understaffed this weekend, and due to the large number of guests we had, it took longer for our breakfast team to replenish the breakfast area, they were working extremely hard and as quickly as possible throughout breakfast however.

In regards to the scrambled egg, unfortunately, due to our brand standards, we have a certain supplier that provides us with this, so are unable to get additional.

As we are an Express hotel, our breakfast area is a self catering one. The breakfast area provides trolleys and trays for our guests to clear their tables after they have finished their breakfast, in busy times, such as this weekend, it is very much appreciated that guests make use of this.

Unfortunately, everywhere in Bath does charge for the use of the car park, at £8 per vehicle, per night, we are one of the cheaper car parks, and guests are able to leave their vehicles until 4pm on the day of departure.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, it is reviews such as yours, which enables us to see which areas we can improve on in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2nights as visiting friends and early xmas shopping.
Checked in by reese who able to give us good ideas of where to treat friends to a meal ( even remembered us in morning & asked how meal went ..nice touch ) , bedrooms clean tidy, shower nice and hot and even though having seen big group arrive noise wasnt a problem....
staff at breakfast helpful when sausages ran low quick to bring more.
good price , def worth a try , totally happy with hotel, staff and facilities..wifi slow at times but still able to do what i needed.
only complaint .... where is the bacon ????

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

Thank you for your kind comments about Rhys, I will make sure I pass these on to him, as I am sure he will be thrilled to hear them.

I am so pleased that the room met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary breakfast. Unfortunately as we are not a full service hotel, and due to our brand standards, we are unable to offer bacon, however, there are the three hot options we do provide, which are Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Baked Beans as well as the continental selection.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in order to visit Bath. Our room was comfortable, and good value for money. The staff were efficient and helpful. We enjoyed our visit, and if visiting Bath would use this hotel again as it gave us all we wanted.

Room Tip: We asked for a 'quiet room' and were given one which overlooked the cemetery (so the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad to hear that you found the room to be comfortable. Our housekeeping team work extremely hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness and comfort throughout the hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Bath. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Not bad at all.Room comfortable and clean. Location fine,easy to walk into the major city attractions. Breakfast ? well probably could do better. Parking easy and definitely an added bonus at £8/ per day. Wi-Fi good range.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandlinda95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the room to be comfortable and clean. We have an excellent housekeeping team who work extremely hard throughout the hotel to maintain a high level of cleanliness and comfort for our guests.

As you mentioned, the location of the hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath and all of its main tourist attractions.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, continental, express start buffet breakfast. I am sorry to hear you thought it could do better however. We do try to offer a wide selection of both continental and hot option food to suit all of our guests individual requirements. Unfortunately, as we are not a full service hotel, and due to our brand standards, we are unable to provide a full English breakfast.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morlandmonk
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Lovely new express, really friendly and helpful staff, 10 minutes walk to the town centre. Breakfast is the usual, perfectly acceptable, express fare but an unusually spacious breakfast area. Car parking is limited, and a bit on the dear side at £8 per day, but that is on a par with the area in general.
The only downside I would raise is that, aside from free wifi, there is no recognition for 'IHG Reward' customers (most hotels now offer a free drink or extra points vouchers but not here!) which I found a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Get there early if you want to park, they only have spaces for half the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morlandmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They all take great pride in proving excellent customer service to our guests.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, continental, express start buffet breakfast. We try to provide a wide range of both the continental and the hot option food to meet all of our guests requirements, so I am pleased to hear you enjoyed it. The breakfast does prove to be very popular with our guests.

As you mentioned, we do have an onsite car park at a charge of £8.00 a night. Guests are able to leave their vehicles in the car park from their arrival until 4pm on the day of departure. This enables guests to explore more of the beautiful city of Bath after they have checked out of the hotel and unfortunately, everywhere in Bath does charge for the use of the car park.

I am glad you made use of the complimentary guest WIFI throughout the hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you didn't get recognised as a IHG reward customer upon your check in. As you mentioned, we do also offer either a complimentary drink/snack voucher or a complimentary additional points voucher at this hotel, so I do apologise that you didn't receive yours on this occasion, it is possible that your IHG reward number wasn't on your reservation which is why you got missed or that it was just human error. However, if you would like to contact the hotel, we will ensure that you receive the additional points to your IHG reward membership.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

good location. 15 mins easy walk in good weather to shops in centre of town or frequent bus route directly opposite hotel. (Bath in general excellent bus services. Main terminal modern, clean, well laid out and very helpful staff. It is by a major shopping and cafe area and right beside the train station.)
Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. we had a recurring problem with a room key and they were patient and helpful.
breakfast plentiful and hot, but pretty basic and poorly laid out for peak times.
everything else in regards to rooms, cleanliness etc spot on.
please note this is a hotel to sightsee from - good car park etc- but not to stay to relax . We stayed in July and lots of tour buses and parties coming and going.

Room Tip: we had no problems with sound but you might want to avoid ground floor, as reception was pretty busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

As you mentioned, we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only a 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath and all of its beautiful, historic tourist attractions. Alternatively, there is the regular bus service you mentioned, with the bus stop directly opposite the hotel which will takes guests to and from the city centre.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service. I am sorry to hear that you had a recurring problem with your room key however, I do apologise for this, although I am glad that our staff could assist you with this and rectified the problem in the end.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, continental, express start buffet breakfast. We do try to provide a wide range of both the continental, and the cooked food to suit all of our guests individual requirements. As you mentioned, in peak times, it can get extremely busy and sometimes quite congested as our breakfast area is of a limited size. Upon check in we do try to pre-warn our guests of the busy periods and advise the best times to come down to avoid the breakfast rush.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing