We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service - Fair Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for one night and for the price of £160 I was unimpressed. The breakfast was scarce and what was there was inedible. The tables and dining area where unsanitary and tables unclean. When I requested that the breakfast be restocked, they said they were understaffed by 2. Really unimpressed considering the price

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilAnthonyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

As Bath is such a beautiful, historic city which attracts a large number of tourists throughout the year, the demand for hotels is extremely high. This then effects our rates, which are competitive with other hotels throughout Bath.

I am so sorry to hear that the breakfast didnt meet your expectations on this occassion. Unfortunately, it was an extremely busy weekend due to the opening of the Christmas Market, this made the hotel fully booked, and as you mentioned, we were understaffed. However, our breakfast team were working extremely hard to maintain the breakfast area and restock as quickly as possible.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great hotel - that some how doesn't feel like an Express. there is a good secure car park in-front of the hotel

Reception staff are excellent (recognised me from a previous visit) and breakfast / dinner area is better set-up than most budget hotels

Rooms are to a good standard. Only issue is its a 10-15 min walk into centre of bath

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that the hotel met your needs for the duration of your stay.
As you mentioned, we do have a secure onsite car park. Guests are able to leave their vehicles until 4pm on the day of departure for a small charge of £8 a night.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. They do go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

I am glad that you were happy with the rooms. Our housekeeping staff work extremely hard to maintain the cleanliness and comfort throughout the hotel.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed two nights to take in the christmas markets. Good location, easy to get and the front of house staff were excellent.

Positive:
Good location - 10 minutes walk maximum
Clean and tidy
New rooms
Parking
Heating if you need it
Good shower
Very helpful staff

Negative:
Breakfast - whilst free which is good - is very basic (as other reviewers have noted, hot breakfast is simply toast, scrambled eggs, beans and sausages)
The heating kept switching itself on, which in the early hours of the morning got really frustrating quite frankly
Size of the bed - the quality of the bed/bedding was excellent but ....we're not sure if all the rooms were like this but the bed was a small double, even travelodge has better sizes, we ended up making up the sofa bed and sleeping separately

Overall, it was alright - would we come back, probably not just based on the bedsize and the heating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuofromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad to hear that you were pleased with the location of the hotel, it is very convinenet being only a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre of Bath, and all of the main tourist attractions. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. They do go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

Thank you for taking advantage of the free hot option breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you found it to be basic however. As we are an Express hotel, and due to our brand standards, we are only able to provide the three hot options of Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Baked Beans, as well as our continental options.

I am sorry to hear there was an issue with the heating. Our maintenance manager does carry out regular checks throughout the hotel on these heating systems, so I apologize that it wasn't functioning correctly on this occasion.

As we are an Express hotel, all beds throughout the hotel are of a standard size.
I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review. It is feedback such as yours which enables us to see what areas we can improve on in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 29-30th November, hotel itself was ok, but breakfast was chaotic on our morning of checkout on 1st Dec, we came down to have breakfast only to find any available tables were piled up with used cups, plates etc, we had to clear a table for ourselves and then went to the breakfast bar only to find that there wasn't anything to eat, every container was empty, there were no clean cups,cutlery or plates.
A young lady appeared with a few cleans mugs and apologised for the delay for the missing breakfast etc but the situation did not improve and no one from the management came to try and remedy things, they just left the member of staff to face the guests.
After 20 minutes of waiting we did get something to eat but not what should have been available.
To allow this to happen on probably one of their busiest weekends was not a good advert to stay at a Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am extremely sorry that breakfast didnt meet its usual high standards while you were staying with us. I can assure you, this isn't a common occurrence with us, so I do apologise that on this occasion it didn't meet your expectations.

Due to it being an extremely busy weekend, with the opening of the Christmas market which is currently on in Bath, the hotel was fully booked which made the demand for breakfast extremely high. Unfortunately, due to being short staffed over the weekend also, it did effect our breakfast service.

Our breakfast team were working as quickly and as hard as possible to replenish the breakfast area, however, due to the large number of guests we had, it was difficult to keep up with the demand.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I would like to apologise again that on this occasion your expecatations were not met. It is feedback such as yours, which allows us to see what areas we can improve on in the future, so thank you.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

breakfast was utter chaos, no cups for the help yourself tea dispenser, then when cups were eventually brought there were no tea bags left, no bread for the do it yourself toaster, no plates or cutlery either. The only hot food is eggs. sausage and beans and they had ran out of eggs on a Sunday morning and despite being opposite 2 Sainsburys supermarkets didnt bother to get any more, tables left uncleared so no wonder they were running low on cutlery and crockery. Could go on and on about how bad this was but just wont stay there again, theer were 2 staff off apparently and the 2 who were working did their best but could simply not cope with demand. The breakfast is supposed to be complimentary so that's their excuse for not providing anything I presume,but at £160 per night per room complimentary it aint!!! They also charge £8 per day for parking which is too steep for residents being charged those room rates. Rooms were clean but noisey with traffic sounds.

Room Tip: rooms above reception are noisey because of traffic and people going outside to smoke, heating came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so sorry that our complimentary breakfast didn't meet its usual high standards on this occasion. I can assure you that this isn't a common occurrence with us, so I do apologise that the breakfast didn't meet your expectations this time. It was an extremely busy weekend, due to the opening of the Christmas market which is currently on in Bath and the hotel was fully booked over the weekend making the demand for breakfast extremely high.

Unfortunately, as well as this, we were understaffed this weekend, and due to the large number of guests we had, it took longer for our breakfast team to replenish the breakfast area, they were working extremely hard and as quickly as possible throughout breakfast however.

In regards to the scrambled egg, unfortunately, due to our brand standards, we have a certain supplier that provides us with this, so are unable to get additional.

As we are an Express hotel, our breakfast area is a self catering one. The breakfast area provides trolleys and trays for our guests to clear their tables after they have finished their breakfast, in busy times, such as this weekend, it is very much appreciated that guests make use of this.

Unfortunately, everywhere in Bath does charge for the use of the car park, at £8 per vehicle, per night, we are one of the cheaper car parks, and guests are able to leave their vehicles until 4pm on the day of departure.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, it is reviews such as yours, which enables us to see which areas we can improve on in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2nights as visiting friends and early xmas shopping.
Checked in by reese who able to give us good ideas of where to treat friends to a meal ( even remembered us in morning & asked how meal went ..nice touch ) , bedrooms clean tidy, shower nice and hot and even though having seen big group arrive noise wasnt a problem....
staff at breakfast helpful when sausages ran low quick to bring more.
good price , def worth a try , totally happy with hotel, staff and facilities..wifi slow at times but still able to do what i needed.
only complaint .... where is the bacon ????

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Shell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

Thank you for your kind comments about Rhys, I will make sure I pass these on to him, as I am sure he will be thrilled to hear them.

I am so pleased that the room met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary breakfast. Unfortunately as we are not a full service hotel, and due to our brand standards, we are unable to offer bacon, however, there are the three hot options we do provide, which are Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Baked Beans as well as the continental selection.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in order to visit Bath. Our room was comfortable, and good value for money. The staff were efficient and helpful. We enjoyed our visit, and if visiting Bath would use this hotel again as it gave us all we wanted.

Room Tip: We asked for a 'quiet room' and were given one which overlooked the cemetery (so the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad to hear that you found the room to be comfortable. Our housekeeping team work extremely hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness and comfort throughout the hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Bath. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £67 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing