We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 day during our visit to Bath. This hotel is located closer to the Oldfield Park train station (5-10 mins walk) than the Bath Spa station (15-20mins walk). Though it is not right in the city centre of Bath, it is an easy walk to the Royal Crescent (just cross the Victoria bridge and you’ll reach the Royal Crescent soon). From the Royal Crescent, all other tourist attractions are within walking distance.
Our room was not that big, but it was very clean. The complimentary WIFI worked very well. We were glad to be given an early check-in (around 11am). Check in was very efficiently done by the friendly staff. Breakfast was OK, though there wasn’t a wide selection of food.
However, do note that certain rooms of the hotel are directly facing St. James Cemetery. Our room was one of them, but we were not too bothered about this. If you are particular about this, please request for other rooms. The so-called double bed in our room was rather small. Besides, the window in the room was downward-facing, making it not able to open wide enough for air to come in. The amenities are barely sufficient, no slippers, shower cap, toothbrush and toothpaste (need to ask for these). There was no safe in the room and no heating bar in the bathroom, too.
All the hotels in Bath are very pricey. So, if you are looking for a clean room with reasonably good location without burning a hole in your pocket, Holiday Inn Express Bath is a good option for you.
We spent our 2nd night in Hilton Bath which was so much better (but, much more expensive, too), and I’d say I’ll pay more to stay in Hilton the next time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are facing the cemetery directly. If you mind, request for a room facing other directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

As you mentioned, we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only an easy 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath, and all of the main tourist attractions.

All of our rooms throughout the hotel, are of the same size, I am glad the room was clean, our housekeeping team are excellent and work extremely hard to maintain a high level of comfort and cleanliness throughout the hotel.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary WIFI available throughout the hotel, and for your kind comments about the staff, they work extremely hard to go above and beyond with their customer service.

As we are not a full service hotel, and due to our brand standards, we do only offer the three hot options of Sausage, scrambled Egg and Baked Beans, as well as our continental selection, we try to provide a wide enough selection to suit all of our guests individual requirements.

All of our beds in the rooms are of a standard size and the same throughout the hotel.
We do provide a wide range of toiletries for guests if they have forgotten anything, this ranges from shower caps, to razors, these are all available from reception.

Unfortunately, as we are an Express hotel, we don't provide safes in the rooms, however, we do have safety deposit boxes at reception for guests to use.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    611
    298
    70
    23
See reviews for
362
546
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay over new year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hotel was good value for money considering it was over new year,staff we're polite,friendly and very helpful. Our room was more than adequate with a very comfy bed! Breakfast was what you would expect from a continental breakfast with a variety of cereals,fruit and yoghurt with the option of 3 hot items. My husband and I had no complaints with the breakfast infact we enjoyed our sausage sandwiches in the morning(reading the negative comments makes me think that you really can't please some people!). Overall we had a lovely 2 night stay in bath and would highly recommend the Holiday inn :).

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service, taking great pride in doing so.

I am so pleased to hear that the room met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, hot option breakfast. This does prove to be very poplar with our guests, and we do try to provide a wide range of both cooked and continental food to meet all of our guests requirements, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed New Years Eve. Convenient location, short walk to city centre. Very clean rooms and adequate space. Friendly staff at reception and otherwise. Breakfast a bit busy and crowded but no problem really.

Room Tip: Room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

As you mentioned, we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only an easy 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath, and all of the main tourist attractions.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the room to be clean and that it met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service, taking great pride in doing so.

Our free, hot option breakfast, does prove to be very popular with our guests, so at peak times, can get fairly busy, and congested, as you mentioned. We do try to pre warn our guests upon check in, the best times to come down for breakfast to avoid the breakfast rush.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed in this hotel before and found it expensive for what it is but convenient for Bath centre.

This visit was very disappointing for the following reasons:
The lighting in the room was gloomy and inadequate.
The breakfast was awful with a poor selection. The three hot dishes were sausages (cheap), baked beans and scrambled eggs (rather solid). I thought that bacon was a necessary for breakfast as not all like sausages. Very very disappointing given the cost of this hotel.

The room was clean and well laid out and the staff friendly.

We will definitely not be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

As Bath attracts such a large number of tourists throughout the year, the demand for hotels is extremely high. This then effects the rates, which are competitive with other hotels throughout Bath.

I am so sorry to hear that you found the visit to be disappointing and that you didn't enjoy the free, hot option breakfast provided. Unfortunately, as we are not a full service hotel, and due to our brand standards, we are unable to provide bacon, we do offer our three hot options and a continental selection however, to try and meet all of our guests requirements.

I am pleased that you found the room to be clean, our housekeeping team work extremely hard throughout the hotel to maintain a high level of cleanliness and comfort for our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service, and take great pride in doing so.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice hotel room - clean, lovely bed and bathroom, nice linen.

Unfortunately, the hotel is let down by an unwelcoming reception area, friendly but not very smart or efficient staff - although this morning's receptionist was excellent - and a very disappointing 'free' breakfast.

All of the negatives are totally avoidable and easily fixed!

Room Tip: I would not like a room on the ground floor - very busy reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonBundys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that the room met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

I am disappointed to hear that you found the reception area to be unwelcoming, I do apologise for this and can assure you, that it isn't a regular occurrence. All of our staff go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

I am sorry you found the free hot option breakfast to be disappointing. As we are not a full service hotel and due to our brand standards, we can only offer the three hot options of Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Baked Beans, as well as our continental selection. We do try to provide a wide enough selection to meet everyone's individual requirements.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My Mum and I stayed here for a Christmas Shopping weekend. The exterior of the hotel looks very modern and fresh, the same goes for the reception interior. We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who informed us of how far away the shopping centre was from the hotel and how to get there and also let us leave our luggage behind the desk as it was too early to check in.
The rooms were exactly what we needed for a busy shopping weekend. The only bad thing was that the temperature in the rooms are far too hot! I was awake for nearly 2 hours whilst trying to adjust the temperature, but it would only go as low as 20 degrees, which was still far too hot.
The breakfast was very pleasing compared to other Holiday Inn Express' that I have experienced. Seems to have a lot more choice and is presented more elegantly.
A particular mention goes to the duty manager on shift at the time, Rhys, who was very friendly and welcoming whilst we stayed. Charlotte however, the receptionist on shift on arrival, seemed bored and uninterested whilst checking us in.
Overall, I would definitely stay again, and this hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jndkj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that the hotel and the room met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

I am so sorry to hear that you found the room to be too hot however. The heating systems throughout the hotel are now on the winter settings, so they will only blow out hot air, unfortunately, we are unable to change it to cool.

Thank you for taking advantage of the free hot option breakfast. This does prove to be very popular with our guests, so I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed it.

Thank you for your kind comments about Rhys, I am so sorry to hear about Charlotte however, I can assure you that this isn't a regular occurrence and all of our staff do go above and beyond with their customer service.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We picked this hotel based on price and the fact that we could cancel if need be. We travelled by train from London, so bought tickets to Oldfield station, which is within walking distance of the hotel.
The hotel is well priced, especially as breakfast was included in the tariff. The hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the attractions of Bath, which is an area that is well worth a visit.

It is not a luxury hotel, and doesn't claim to be. The only niggle we had was that our room was the first room off the reception area, so we did get a wee bit of noise until things quietened down, but that happened by 10 pm.

Room Tip: If you want to get to sleep early, try if possible to not get the first room along the corridor from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0lster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that the hotel met your requirements for the duration of your stay. As you mentioned, we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only an easy 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath and all of the main tourist attractions.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing