We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute booking rescued us.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“last minute booking rescued us.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Due to being badly let down by another accommodation booking, we turned up on speck at the Holiday Inn and were swiftly booked in with no problems. The price was as quoted on the internet, yes you have to pay £10 a night for parking, but there is no free parking in Bath anywhere. The breakfast is worth at least £5 a head anyway. immaculately clean rooms. Easy 10 minute (flat) walk into the centre of Bath. Thanks for rescuing us!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the hotel met your requirements during the duration of your stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is very lucky with the location being only a 10- 15 minute walk away from the main city centre of Bath.

There is a charge for the car park being a £10 per night per car. The charge does give you up to 4pm on your check out date to leave the car in our car park so you can do last minute adventures in to the centre of Bath.

I would like to thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bath in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    635
    300
    70
    23
See reviews for
366
569
39
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This is as good as you would want and expect. I am a big fan of Holliday Inn Express, you get what you expect. Good value, hearty breakfast comfortable beds functional bathrooms. The staff are very friendly. It was a very short walk into the centre if Bath. I would happily stay here and would definitely recommend. It wad a great nights sleep to boot. Plus gone is the old Dove soap, replaced with coconut soap and shower gel. Good show Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fisher_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us.

As you mentioned the location of the hotel is very lucky with being an only 10-15 minute walk into the main city centre of Bath with all the main tourist attractions.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and the hotel met up to your requirements during the duration of your stay.

All the staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Bath work very hard to make sure that all of our guests enjoy there stay with us.


I would like to thank you again for your kind review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, friendly efficient welcome and we were able to check in and access our room (spotlessly clean) even though we had arrived early. Comfortable bed, efficient air conditioning, good shower, quiet environment and good breakfast. Easy walk into the City centre. Excellent stay - thank you Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeBGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

As you mentioned about the walk into the main city centre of Bath, we are very lucky with the hotel location being an only easy 10-15 minutes walk away.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hotels in this town get expensive if you have kids. This place is one of the cheaper options for that, and at least breakfast is included. The walk in to town is about 10 minutes. Wifi worked ok, but have to enter lots of information to do so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, and as you mentioned we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only an easy 10-15 minute walk way from the city centre of Bath with all the main tourist attractions and restaurants.

As you mentioned about the wifi, the wifi provider do ask for some information as it is a legal requirement from our internet provider.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write your review about the Holiday Inn Express Bath, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
389 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express in Bath is a very nice hotel. Compared to those in US hotels, the rooms are about half the size, so it is tight if you're a family travelling. For us it was just overnight. Breakfast us nice.

The only complaint is the £10 charge for parking. A first at a Holiday Inn for us.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineaux FromAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad to hear that you were pleased with the hotel, however, I am sorry to hear that you thought the rooms were of limited size, unfortunately, all of our rooms throughout the hotel are of the same layout and size so we would have been unable to move you to a bigger room.

Thank you for taking advantage of the free, hot option breakfast. This does prove to be popular with our guests.

Unfortunately, everywhere in Bath does charge for the use of parking, we are one of the cheaper car parks, guests are able to pay £10 per night, the car in the car park is then valid until 4pm on the day of departure. This then enables guests to discover more of the beautiful city of Bath once they have departed the hotel.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a very nice stay here recently , rooms were clean and well presented. Breakfast was very good, no bacon and no doubt they have a good reason for this. The fruit compote was excellent and the pastries were pretty good too. That's the good news, the not so good news is something they cannot do anything about, location! There's is a 10 minute walk to the centre, and not a pleasant one. You have walk through a petrol station and a car park which at night a desolate place with plenty of beggars around, not a walk to be making late at night. However in the day it takes you through a farmers market which you probably not have seen otherwise. Possible changes the hotel can make are, consider changing the sofa beds for something a little more comfortable, staff being a little more proactive when guests use bad language at the breakfast tables, not going to repeat what one young female was saying loudly, and lastly, staff to take on board when guests are staying and they are celebrating an occasion, may say congratulations, it cost nothing, but could mean a lot. Would I stay here again, yes I probably would, if they would allow me to after this review?

Room Tip: Like most hotels, having a drink in the is costly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

Thank you for taking advantage of the free, hot option breakfast. This does prove to be very popular with our guests, so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Unfortunately, as we are not a full service hotel, we are only able to offer the three hot options of Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Baked Beans, as well as our wide range of continental food.

As our location isn't in the city centre, it is a 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath, and the main tourist attractions, as you mentioned. Our staff are more than happy to recommend alternative ways to walk to the city centre, you can walk along the river if you would like a more picturesque walk, or there is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel, with a regular bus service, that runs to and from the city centre. As well as this, staff are more than happy to call taxis for guests as we have a regular, reliable taxi service that the hotel uses.

With regards to the sofa beds, we have replaced all of the sofa beds throughout the hotel with brand new ones so I am sorry to hear that you found it to be uncomfortable. Staff are more than happy to provide mattress toppers for the sofa beds if guests let us know that they are finding the sofa bed uncomfortable, however, comfort is a personal preference but I will discuss this issue with housekeeping.

Unfortunately, the staff do not hear what guests say all the time as in breakfast it is usually extremely busy, so the breakfast team are working hard to replenish the breakfast area for our guests as quickly as possible as well as meeting our guests needs and requirements.

If guests inform us that they are celebrating a special occasion, we are more than happy to acknowledge this, and can even provide a card and either a bottle of wine, or chocolates in the room, we actually do this quite regularly and enjoy doing this for our guests.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We wanted a reasonably cheap, god quality hotel in Bath to stay for a night. We found it with the Holiday Inn Express. It was just what we were looking for and met all our needs. The room was clean, airy and comfortable. We would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frabs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the hotel met your needs while you where visiting the beautiful city of Bath.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, and thank you again for your kind review about The Holiday Inn Express Bath.

Kind Regards,

Sam Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#21 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing