We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I thought it would be a dreadful experience. Not at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
560 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
“I thought it would be a dreadful experience. Not at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

To be honest, when I go away for work or pleasure, I always seek to stay in the best hotels, and by best I mean those that have been rated the highest on TA or booking.com etc. Invariably, these are always the expensive places too. But my philosophy is, if you're not at home, make yourself as comfortable as you can, even if that costs. So, it was with some trepidation that I went for Holiday Inn Express (it was out of necessity, as the place I usually stay in Bath for business was full). I must say in the most I was pleasantly surprised.
Great things - check in was seamless and quick. Friendly staff. Large enough room with TV, wifi and air con. 10 minutes walk and you are in town.
OK enough things - the rooms are a little tired looking with some wear and tear, and, in terms of the look, its Ikea mixed with Argos. Its not somewhere you would want to go away for a relaxing pampering break, its just very functional.
Awful things - the breakfast is the worst I have come across (and I spend my entire life in hotels around the world). The tables are left filthy after the last occupants have left (not enough staff to clean them). The quality of ingredients is very cheap and basic and not at all well prepared (the croissants have been either under cooked or burned). And the thing that annoys me the most, and I've never come across this before is that all the plates and glasses are boiling hot to the touch (clearly just been cleaned) - so this means that you have your cold juice or milk cereal in hot containers - not nice at all, and indicates very lazy management where purpose overrides customer's needs and expectations.
So apart from the breakfast - all is almost great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay with us.

We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy our free express style breakfast, we work hard to give variety offering a continental choice along side hot options of sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans. Our breakfast team work very hard making sure all food is replished and tables are cleared as quickly as they can. Reviews like yours helps us to look into areas that we can improve on.

Im sorry to hear that you didnt like the room. Our hotel will be soon having a refurbishment. With a complete fresh new décor.

As you mentioned the hotel is lucky with the location being an only 10-15 minutes walk into the main city centre of Bath.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    607
    296
    70
    25
See reviews for
358
540
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel to be well staffed. The room was lovely and well maintained and the little extra services provided were impressive. This hotel is within walking distance to the town center, has ample car spaces and a varied breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 610lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the hotel met your requirements during the duration of your stay.

As you mentioned the hotel is lucky with the location being an only 10-15 minutes walk away from the main city centre of bath.

We hope to welcome you back to The Holiday Inn Express in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
Level Contributor
292 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Location is not impressive, close to cemetery where you can find rodents on the street, and not a very short distance from center. Front desk staff Mr Rhys at check-in not helpful at all, hotel wanted to charge driver to park a mini-bus 10 driving spaces per night, initially refused to check-in group without everyone's signature, until I presented my Platinum IHG rewards card, attitude changed a little bit. Could not provide luggage services on our arrival although we had called in advance. Breakfast is ok. Rooms are practical. One room had a roach in curtain. One room the next morning, the air-condition fell luckily it was hanging higher than the guest's head if not it would have been a serious problem. Front desk person Mr. Graham the next day very professional and pleasant.
Sorry I do not plan to return to this hotel when coming back to Bath.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

As our hotel is not a full service hotel we do not offer a portering service. We do have luggage trolleys for guests to use at any time.
As a kind gesture, our staff will be willing to help with lots of luggage.

Our car parking is charged at £10 per space per night. All hotels in bath charge for car parking. Or if coach drivers do not wish to park their coach with us, there is a coach park about 10-15 minutes away from us. Our reception staff will be more than happy with directions to the coach park station.

I'm sorry to hear about the air condition. This situation has never happened in our hotel. We do have contractors that check all of our air conditioning units to make sure they are suitable and in working order.

Once again thank you for your comments as it is through feedback from our guests that we are able to ensure that we improve our standards and service to ensure everyone leaves happy.

Kind Regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

So it's a Holiday Inn!! We chose it because we thought the location would be perfect to explore Bath without worrying about the car. We were not disappointed. A short 5-7 minute walk through the restored railway station (now artisan shops etc) and you are in Bath close the Roman baths. It could not have been more convenient.

The hotel was clean, modern and efficient with good staff. Parking is pound 10 a day and worth it. Good internet, breakfast average and a communal microwave for those wonderful Sainsbury curries!!!

We were not disappointed. Again, we booked it for its location. However, it was also comfortable and avoided the hassle of driving .

Room Tip: Face away from busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

As you mentioned the hotel is very lucky with the location being an only 10-15 minutes walk away from the beautiful city centre of Bath.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. And happy to hear that our hotel met your requirements during the duration of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Salvador
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

First of all, let me say straightaway, this is a good hotel: clean, good facilities, great breakfasts and pretty much the good standard that HH Express put out at most of their establishments. Staff are friendly, the bar a little lonesome & unattended at times. Recommended for short stays and particularly for business travellers who are in their own vehicle; parking is at an absolute premium here and this is a good car park facility.
My problem, as a tourist I am the sort that wants a hotel that is close to some pub/restaurant and town centre action; this place is a 10/15 minute walk from this sort of entertainment but, much worse, it is a difficult walk into town. One has to cross a number of major roads, poor sidewalks, traffic lights, car parks with no pavements, etc. If you want to be near the action wioth a decent wobble into town, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I’m happy to hear that the hotel met your requirements during the duration of your stay.

The walk from the hotel into the main city centre of Bath is only a 10-15 minutes easy walk. But I can understand some guests may have difficulty with walking. Our reception team are more than happy to order taxi's or recommended buses to go to the city centre.

I’m sorry that you felt the bar was unattended at times. Our staff members work hard to cover both reception and bar, and at busy times we do try our hardest making sure that both guests at the bar and reception are served in a timely manner.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great spot, easy to find althought we only stayed one night we booked 2 rooms and found them to be clean and comfy, great water pressure & shower after a long day, breakky was really good, fresh & a good variety. Good parking and easy access to rooms. The staff were really helpful and quite friendly. Good sized rooms & quite modern. Bath was a beautiful place we expected a little town off the highway but a surprise... Loved it and the holiday inn made it simple for weary travellers. Definately recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Holiday Inn Express slogan is to be “Simple, Smart, and Spot On”, so I am very happy to see that in your case, we ticked all these boxes. Bath is a very beautiful city, so we definitely recommend all guests to head into city centre and see all the fantastic sights it has to offer.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review, and I hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Marleen Esposito
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for a work night out in Bath. It did the job and was clean and a good location. The rooms were quite small for £155 per night including parking. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The breakfast was pretty average but the 12.00 checkout was good on a Saturday morning, no rushing around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieCorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read you felt our hotel met your requirements for your work night out in Bath.
Bath is a very popular and busy city, and we review our rates daily to ensure we the rates we are offering are competitive and in line with other hotels in the city centre.
I have passed on your kind comments regarding our staff to the team. They work hard to ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay, and they're always happy to hear they've done well.

Again, thank you for your comments, and I hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Marleen Esposito
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly Front Desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing