We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

On our arrival. hotel staff were pleasant, polite and helpful when help was required. Hotel in perfect position for where we wanted to visit. Bedroom fairly large, clean and comfortable. Nicely laid out dining room with plenty of space. Breakfast was adequate with the usual HI Express fare. Did not require use of WIFI during overnight stay therefore cannot comment. Convenient restaurant and supermarket close by. Very useful taxi service available at a reasonable price. All in all, well satisfied with the stay in Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CYMRO73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay with us.

I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And the hotel met your requirements during the duration of your stay. The Holiday Inn Express slogan is to be “simple smart & spot on” so im happy to see that this ticked the boxes.

As you mentioned the hotel is very lucky with the location being an only 10-15 minutes walk away from the main city centre of Bath.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was not too bad.

There is a car park which is not free but breakfast was included and was a pretty good buffet style arrangement. Staff were not particularly helpful to be honest, customers seemed to be viewed as pests not worthy of anything but the briefest attention but there was nothing particularly unpleasant in this.

Room was clean and comfortable, no complaints there, a good night's sleep was had.

The town centre is a 10 - 15 minute walk away - there is a Sainsbury's across the road and a couple of minutes away which is quite handy - I don't think this is the best area in Bath so there may be some interesting characters hanging around.

All in all the hotel was fine and kind of what we expected for the price. No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VeganABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Im sorry to hear that you found or staff not very helpful. We all do make sure our guests feel welcome and we hope they enjoy their stay with us.

As you mentioned the hotel is very lucky with the location being an only 10-15 minutes walk away from the beautiful city centre of Bath.

 The Holiday Inn Express slogan is to be “Simple, Smart, and Spot On”, so I am very happy to see that in your case, we ticked all these boxes

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

To be honest, when I go away for work or pleasure, I always seek to stay in the best hotels, and by best I mean those that have been rated the highest on TA or booking.com etc. Invariably, these are always the expensive places too. But my philosophy is, if you're not at home, make yourself as comfortable as you can, even if that costs. So, it was with some trepidation that I went for Holiday Inn Express (it was out of necessity, as the place I usually stay in Bath for business was full). I must say in the most I was pleasantly surprised.
Great things - check in was seamless and quick. Friendly staff. Large enough room with TV, wifi and air con. 10 minutes walk and you are in town.
OK enough things - the rooms are a little tired looking with some wear and tear, and, in terms of the look, its Ikea mixed with Argos. Its not somewhere you would want to go away for a relaxing pampering break, its just very functional.
Awful things - the breakfast is the worst I have come across (and I spend my entire life in hotels around the world). The tables are left filthy after the last occupants have left (not enough staff to clean them). The quality of ingredients is very cheap and basic and not at all well prepared (the croissants have been either under cooked or burned). And the thing that annoys me the most, and I've never come across this before is that all the plates and glasses are boiling hot to the touch (clearly just been cleaned) - so this means that you have your cold juice or milk cereal in hot containers - not nice at all, and indicates very lazy management where purpose overrides customer's needs and expectations.
So apart from the breakfast - all is almost great.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay with us.

We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy our free express style breakfast, we work hard to give variety offering a continental choice along side hot options of sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans. Our breakfast team work very hard making sure all food is replished and tables are cleared as quickly as they can. Reviews like yours helps us to look into areas that we can improve on.

Im sorry to hear that you didnt like the room. Our hotel will be soon having a refurbishment. With a complete fresh new décor.

As you mentioned the hotel is lucky with the location being an only 10-15 minutes walk into the main city centre of Bath.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel to be well staffed. The room was lovely and well maintained and the little extra services provided were impressive. This hotel is within walking distance to the town center, has ample car spaces and a varied breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 610lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the hotel met your requirements during the duration of your stay.

As you mentioned the hotel is lucky with the location being an only 10-15 minutes walk away from the main city centre of bath.

We hope to welcome you back to The Holiday Inn Express in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Location is not impressive, close to cemetery where you can find rodents on the street, and not a very short distance from center. Front desk staff Mr Rhys at check-in not helpful at all, hotel wanted to charge driver to park a mini-bus 10 driving spaces per night, initially refused to check-in group without everyone's signature, until I presented my Platinum IHG rewards card, attitude changed a little bit. Could not provide luggage services on our arrival although we had called in advance. Breakfast is ok. Rooms are practical. One room had a roach in curtain. One room the next morning, the air-condition fell luckily it was hanging higher than the guest's head if not it would have been a serious problem. Front desk person Mr. Graham the next day very professional and pleasant.
Sorry I do not plan to return to this hotel when coming back to Bath.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

As our hotel is not a full service hotel we do not offer a portering service. We do have luggage trolleys for guests to use at any time.
As a kind gesture, our staff will be willing to help with lots of luggage.

Our car parking is charged at £10 per space per night. All hotels in bath charge for car parking. Or if coach drivers do not wish to park their coach with us, there is a coach park about 10-15 minutes away from us. Our reception staff will be more than happy with directions to the coach park station.

I'm sorry to hear about the air condition. This situation has never happened in our hotel. We do have contractors that check all of our air conditioning units to make sure they are suitable and in working order.

Once again thank you for your comments as it is through feedback from our guests that we are able to ensure that we improve our standards and service to ensure everyone leaves happy.

Kind Regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

So it's a Holiday Inn!! We chose it because we thought the location would be perfect to explore Bath without worrying about the car. We were not disappointed. A short 5-7 minute walk through the restored railway station (now artisan shops etc) and you are in Bath close the Roman baths. It could not have been more convenient.

The hotel was clean, modern and efficient with good staff. Parking is pound 10 a day and worth it. Good internet, breakfast average and a communal microwave for those wonderful Sainsbury curries!!!

We were not disappointed. Again, we booked it for its location. However, it was also comfortable and avoided the hassle of driving .

Room Tip: Face away from busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

As you mentioned the hotel is very lucky with the location being an only 10-15 minutes walk away from the beautiful city centre of Bath.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. And happy to hear that our hotel met your requirements during the duration of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First of all, let me say straightaway, this is a good hotel: clean, good facilities, great breakfasts and pretty much the good standard that HH Express put out at most of their establishments. Staff are friendly, the bar a little lonesome & unattended at times. Recommended for short stays and particularly for business travellers who are in their own vehicle; parking is at an absolute premium here and this is a good car park facility.
My problem, as a tourist I am the sort that wants a hotel that is close to some pub/restaurant and town centre action; this place is a 10/15 minute walk from this sort of entertainment but, much worse, it is a difficult walk into town. One has to cross a number of major roads, poor sidewalks, traffic lights, car parks with no pavements, etc. If you want to be near the action wioth a decent wobble into town, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I’m happy to hear that the hotel met your requirements during the duration of your stay.

The walk from the hotel into the main city centre of Bath is only a 10-15 minutes easy walk. But I can understand some guests may have difficulty with walking. Our reception team are more than happy to order taxi's or recommended buses to go to the city centre.

I’m sorry that you felt the bar was unattended at times. Our staff members work hard to cover both reception and bar, and at busy times we do try our hardest making sure that both guests at the bar and reception are served in a timely manner.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £68 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing