We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I value this sort of customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“I value this sort of customer service”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Holiday Inn Express, as I have said before, is a dependable brand. Yet I would have rated this hotel as only average because, well, it was unexceptional. Its location is central-ish to Bath - there are other hotels closer to the centre. It has a car park, enough, I am told, for 60 cars, but you have to pay an extra £10 to use it. It is up to the usual high standards of cleanliness, but the decor in our room was almost ready for a make-over. Breakfast was great, but there was no bacon. See what I mean?

So why have I rated it as "Very Good"? Because these guys understand Customer Service: there was a problem with something in our room, and they were profuse in their apology and made good the situation as soon as possible and in an entirely satisfactory way. And, call me old-fashioned if you like, but I value this sort of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are one of the few hotels in Bath that have a car park. We do usually have enough spaces available on a first come fist service basis.

I am glad your were happy with our customer service provided. I will pass this comment on to the rest of the team.

Hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regard

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    610
    298
    70
    23
See reviews for
361
544
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Efficient, polite and helpful staff. But family room very, very cramped. Children complained that their Sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable. I tested mattress with my hand and could feel every spring! and bed would not go flat. My wife mentioned this to reception, they said that they would pass on comment to "Housekeeping" £160.00 for family room tolerable, bed not! Breakfast was ok'ish, but no bacon!! Unbelievable!! convenient for town centre. Unlikely to stay at an Holiday Inn now

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmic52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your comments regarding our staff service, the team here work very hard to make sure all of our guests enjoy their stay.

I am so sorry to hear you found our sofa bed to be uncomfortable during your stay. Our housekeeping team and maintenance technician carry out regular quality checks throughout the hotel, including our sofa beds. I am surprised to hear the issue you had with the sofa bed and I will be investigating this further. I do apologise that you experienced discomfort on this occasion.

Our free Express Breakfast consists of a continental buffet with 3 hot options, which are scrambled eggs, sausages, and baked beans, so although we do not serve a full English breakfast, we ensure there are hot options available to those guests who prefer this.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us. It is through comments like yours that we can continuously monitor our performance, and ensure we are delivering the best guest experience possible.

Kind regards

Rhys Wellington-Bridges
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night, two rooms. Reasonable rate compared with other hotels in the area and not too far to walk to the main sites. Quick check in, clean room with everything we needed for a nights stay. Did have to ask for bed linen for the sofa bed but it arrived promptly. Breakfast included in the rate eggs, sausage beans, breads muffins cereals the usual fare plenty if choice. Parking costs £10 which I never understand having to pay to park as a guest but seems to be the norm these days. Overall good place for a couple of nights.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Family01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us.

As you mentioned we are located just a short distance of 1 mile to the centre which is a 15 minute walk.
I am very pleased to hear you received an efficient check in and found our rooms to be everything you needed. Our housekeeping team do their utmost to maintain our high standards of cleanliness.
I am glad you found our Free Express Breakfast to have plenty of choice, we do try to make sure we have something for everyone.
We are very lucky to have the number of parking spaces we have at the hotel as parking in Bath is limited due to high demand. All hotels do charge for parking in Bath, and we are actually one of the cheapest hotels in Bath with regards to parking charges. Also, we allow our guests to park until 4pm on their day of departure.

Once again thank you for review and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Rhys Wellington-Bridges
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This Holiday Inn lives up to expectations, staff are bright and helpful (if a little thin on the ground when checking in) and the public areas clean and smart but lacking atmosphere.
Breakfast is good and includes some hot food.
Bedrooms are fine and well equipped but starting to look shabby, a bit of peeling wallpaper here and there and an only occasionally functioning AC unit in my room.
Adequate bathroom, good towels.
It’s about a kilometre from the city centre but there are restaurants close by, including a good Indian immediately opposite.
The biggest problem is outside noise. I couldn’t close the window (dodgy AC) so was forced to endure traffic changing gears for the nearby junction/traffic lights, late night revellers and the most exceptionally raucous seagulls I’ve ever heard. It really was very hard to sleep.
Clearly not the hotel’s fault but I’d avoid if you’re a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Possibly quitter at the back?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time write a review about our hotel.

I am sorry to hear about the noise from the traffic. If you are thinking of returning to the hotel we would be happy to accommodate you to a quieter room.
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast that we serve.
We are lucky to be close to the town centre and have good restaurants close to the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Pros – Clean comfortable (although very small) rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Fairly close to the main town centre (about a 15 min walk). Lots of parking (but not free). Free internet.
Cons – Overlooking a cemetery. Bit of a walk to the main town area but manageable. Feeding frenzy at the free breakfast which is mediocre at best but at least they offer some hot dishes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We always welcome any feedback we get, as this helps us monitor our performance and make improvements where required.

I am pleased to see you found our staff helpful and friendly, and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. As you mentioned, we are a 10-15 walk from the town centre, and our reception team is always happy to help with maps and directions when asked.

I am sorry to see you were disappointed with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. As this is included for all guests at Holiday Inn Express hotels, we do experience very busy periods during the summer time, but our staff members try their hardest to ensure we provide a consistent service throughout the breakfast service hours.

Thank you again for posting your review, and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Marleen Esposito
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
779 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

For me, the best thing about staying at Holiday Inn is the reliability factor - you always know what you'll get. This is why we again chose H.I.when in Bath. The tariff I must say was a bit more than expected: £129 plus another £10 to park the car, but it is the top of the season I told myself - and it is a nice, clean, spacious room.
But my faith was tested at breakfast. The buffet was an embarrassment with food and drink slopped on the floor and around the serving area - and the barest of offerings available. The cooked component was so old and overcooked as to be inedible. It may be a busy time, but that doesn't excuse such a slip in standards.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read you found your room to be nice, clean and spacious. However, I would like to offer my sincere apologies if you felt that our free Express Start breakfast was not up to your standards. Although we are experiencing some busy times at breakfast around this time of year, I agree that this does not excuse a slip in standards, as we aim to ensure all guests can enjoy their breakfast, regardless of when they stay with us.

We are certainly taking your comments on board, and have discussed them among ourselves to ensure we are providing a consistent service and offering during our breakfast service hours.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment, and I hope you will consider staying with us again if you ever return to Bath.

Kind regards,

Marleen Esposito
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, TX
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed one night on the way to Bristol. Stayed in HI's before but this one reminded me more of Days Inn or Super 8 in the US. The elevator (lift) went out while I was there (not much fun when you are on the 4th floor) and service was sometimes good (calling taxi, checking in) and sometimes awful (went down to get something from bar, was ignored then when asked it seemed like a major production). Not sure why the pillows are labeled soft and firm when there was no difference between the four of them. Water pressure was awful in the shower and wifi was slow. The bathroom was well designed with the door functioning as the door in and out of bathroom and for the wc as well. Very little room to hang anything. The bathroom and linens were clean, but the carpet was very stained. A Sainsbury is across the street and a decent pizza place is past the graveyard (I imagine some of the rooms would overlook the graveyard). 15 minute walk into Bath across some major roads and not so wonderful looking part of the city. Would stay closer into town next time. This was a "free night" for me for having the IHG credit card, so I say it costs the annual fee for the credit card (49) and that was about all it was worth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTexan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us. We always welcome any feedback as this helps us identify areas we may need to improve in order to ensure our guests have a great experience every time they stay with us, and your comments have certainly been noted.

I am sorry to see you felt the service at the bar was below standard. Our team members cover both the bar and reception, and sometimes during busy periods this might mean that a guest at the bar may experience a short delay. However, I am sorry if you felt the team member on reception was less than excited to serve you, and I will definitely see to it that this will not happen again in the future.

Thank you again for posting your review, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again some time.

Kind regards,

Marleen Esposito
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 35 in Bath
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing