We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special occasions and treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hole in the Wall - CLOSED

The Hole in the Wall
Price range: US$16 - US$81
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Hole in the Wall Restaurant invites you to our eclectic, cozy dining room to sample the best and freshest local seasonal produce with our modern British menus.Discover great British favourites from our fantastic A La Carte or our Lunch and Pre-Theatre Menu which represents exceptional value at £12.95 for two courses or £16.95 for three courses. Select the perfect wine to compliment your meal from our award winning wine list from local independent wine merchant Heritage Wine! Our impressive selection is sourced from vineyards all over the globe and, with dozens available by the glass, tempts you sample some innovative new grape blends and enjoy some classic old favourite.The Hole in the Wall’s Georgian vaults provide a diverse dining experience offering a perfect place for couples and friends to relax, a great venue for corporate presentations or parties or join our regulars taking a welcome break from a busy day of shopping, sightseeing or unwinding after a visit to the Spa.
Bath
Level Contributor
134 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Special occasions and treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

A really nice place for that special meal out. Hidden below the pavements of george street the atmosphere is very nice and private. Fabulous food for a special meal out. Dont go here on a diet!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    7
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food And Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I have been here a few times and had the carvery, did'nt book and plenty of seating avalible. The food itself was nice and portions were good, the staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best In Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Don't listen to the few bad reviews here. I've been here many times over the years and never had a bad experience. The restaurant has inspired many of the top chefs including Keith Floyd and Rick Stein, I'm a mere amateur cook and I have taken recipes inspired by this restaurant and they've always gone down a treat. It is busy which may account for the failed responses to other customers bookings etc, however I had no such problems. All food is fresh, beautifully cooked and presented. Not too pricey for central Bath. Service friendly and efficient so, again, I don't know where the negative comments come from. I wanted something light so went for the vegetarian options off the menu - The char grilled vegetable terreine and the vegetable crumble, others had the oxtail and meat dishes all of which were delicious. No desserts this time but others is the restaurant looked delicious. If you're in Bath I wouldn't miss the opportunity to visit and I can only say that the odd bad experiences by others are not what I have ever experienced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happyandyouknowit73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Restaurant closed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very dissapointed, booked this restaurant several months ago for a special occassion tonight, arriaved at restaurant tonight to find it closed, no reason, no e-amil, nothing. We also met another couple in the entrance to the restaurant with the same predicament. Tried phoning restaurant number but unobtainable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FredBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its so over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The meal is slightly different which i loved . The staff are very friendly. the only problem i did get a sore belly the next day :(

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hole in the Wall also viewed

 
Farmborough, Bath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing