We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant afternoon tea experience”
Review of Indulgence

Indulgence
Ranked #331 of 575 Restaurants in Bath
Restaurant details
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unpleasant afternoon tea experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I visited today with a group of friends thinking it would be a pleasant, relaxed afternoon but we were taken aback by the waitress who had a very unpleasant attitude towards us all before we had even taken to our seats! She was very confrontational and abrupt which made us all feel very uncomfortable - something no one should experience especially when paying good money (and on a student budget)! I have been for afternoon tea at numerous places elsewhere and have always thoroughly enjoyed the day, but this was by far the most disappointing experience I have had and it tainted the whole day which was a shame. The sandwiches did not taste fresh and the cakes tasted as if they had not been baked that day - which they claimed to be. A very disappointing afternoon tea experience - I will come back to Bath but I will not come back to Indulgence cafe and I will not be recommending it. Perhaps a better attitude should be taken when greeting and serving customers in future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 868fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aix en provence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Indulgence did not indulge me today. Very disappointing. Very rude staff.
I shan't be returning my customer here ever again.

Helpful?
3 Thank MelissaParv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food in a central location”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I came for lunch on my own. I was made to feel very welcome and the service was great. The lunch menu included 2 fish options which sounded very tempting. However, as I was going to be eating out in the evening I chose the pear and blue cheese tart, which was delicious! I just which I'd had room for the tempting desserts on offer. I will try it again next time I am in Bath

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite every day coffee shop”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We go here every morning for our coffee fix, sometimes eating the almond croissants which are the most delicious we have had-almost as good as New Orleans beignets. Today we also got sandwiches to go. They were fresh and fixed while we watched. This little find is on Bathwick close to the Holbourne Museum which is free and a must see.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne65ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular Champagne Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I recently visited the Indulgence Café & Patisserie for a ladies champagne afternoon tea and it was a fantastic success. There were 19 of us and we took over the whole café. The welcome was warm and inviting, the surroundings pleasant and inviting. The sandwiches and cakes were to die for, and the service fantastic. Definitely worth a visit, a must for the serious cake lover!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHTQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indulgence also viewed

 

Been to Indulgence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing