We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little cinema”

Little Theatre Cinema
Ranked #2 of 13 Fun & Games in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Little Theatre Cinema was built by community theatre pioneer Consuelo de Reyes and her husband in 1935. It initially functioned as a news theatre open from midday and showing hourly programmes of documentaries and newsreels. Feature films were first shown in 1939, the first two being "Peg of Old Drury" starring Anna Neagle followed by "Oh Mr Porter" starring Will Hay. The cinema thrived on local support throughout the years as other Bath cinema venues closed and in 1979 the former scenery store and lounge area were converted into a second screen. In spite of many refurbishments to keep the cinema up-to-date with digital sound and the latest projection technology, and a renewal of the seats to give the very best comfort levels, The Little Theatre has retained the charm and welcoming warmth of a 1930's cinema, including a luxury balcony with sofas in the main auditorium.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely little cinema”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a lovely little quaint cinema in the heart of Bath. We had booked to see Dawn of the Planet of the Apes during our recent visit to Bath (great film by the way). The screen size and audio quality was excellent for the size of the cinema. The only negatives were that it was quite difficult to find and slightly hot inside when we were there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davidmcnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    48
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming Local Cinema”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Okay, so it's not really an independent cinema anymore - being part of the Picturehouse group and I believe ultimately owned by Cineworld - but the arthouse feel is definitely maintained, and the Little remains a vital part of Bath's cultural offering, counter-balancing the shiny new Odeon Multiplex across the road. Between the two establishments, the city is pretty well served, and I'm a regular visitor to both. However, when a film is available at both cinemas, I'll invariably choose the Little, just because it feels more authentic and well, fun.

The recent addition of balcony screenings at nearby Komedia has complemented the existing couple of screens and made for greater variety of screenings and films. There are also the very popular ballet/opera/NT events and regular one-off screenings of classics, plus 'silver screen' screenings for the 'less young' and dedicated child-friendly screenings.

I would like them to revamp their food and drink offering - they don't ever seem to have diet coke and the selection of beers and snacks is quirky to say the least. They also often seem to run out of things, and it can be annoying to be stuck in the queue while those in front of you try to find something they want which is actually in stock. While I'm at it, the tea and coffee sizes are far too small. That said, cinema's about ambience rather than beverages, and I wouldn't want my minor gripes to put anyone off.

This is a lovely place. Locals love it. Anyone who visits will love it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank themanfromBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was excellent! So intimate, my sister hired it exclusively for her wedding ceremony, great details, staff were fantastic & literally rolled out the red carpet for her & her guests!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delightful Cathedral”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Restored old theatre to a cinema, but looks like to could still be used as a theatre or conference centre. The art deco style and refurbished seating, the sweet kiosk that serves, wine, beer, snacks, tea, coffee, soft drinks plus popcorn - but on a smaller scale all added to the charm of this independent cinema - although I enjoy Vue, this was more intimate and less corporate - GO!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Quaint!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A very small cinema but very quaint and interesting, it's like a step back in time but very clean,staff very helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaxB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Theatre Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Little Theatre Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing