We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stonehenge Tour”
Review of Mad Max Tours

Mad Max Tours
Ranked #2 of 57 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Mad Max we offer small group tours from Bath, specifically for independent travellers. This is a personal, informative service which runs with a maximum group size of 16 people.Our Full day and half day tours are available throughout the year and cover destinations such as Stonehenge, Lacock Village, Castle Combe, Avebury Stone Circles, as well as seeing the beautiful wiltshire countryside with picturesque thatched cottages and inns.
Maaseik, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stonehenge Tour”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a really nice day out with Mad Max! The longest you'll be in the car between one stop and the other is about one hour. While you're driving the driver guide tells you about the attractions and the thing you see en route. The first stop, Stonehenge, is the real highlight of tour. Avebury is OK, but not as impressive as Stonehenge. The other stops are Lacock Village and Castle Combe. They are lovely little villages that are worth your visit!

Overall the excursion is a great day out from Bath. Expect it to be a full day trip though, you get back to Bath by 5:30. But for me, Stonehenge was the highlight.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    79
    8
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weds 05/28 tour”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I took the Stonehenge, Avesbury, Cotswold tour. It was very good and well worth it. The guide gave great information both on the way to and at the sites. There was ample opportunity to use the restroom, which is always a bonus for me! It is a long tour, 8:30am to 5:30, but it was worth it to see so much in one day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great tours!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Participated on the Stonehenge/Avebury/Cotswold tour on the Tuesday; very good, had enough time at all places, guide Gary was very informative and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanfromMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We took two of their tours. The first to the Cotswolds and the second to Stonehenge and Lacock. Both drivers/guides were fun, friendly, and knowledgable. We had a great time and I would recommend them highly.

Only one lament: no air-conditioning in the vans and one day it was well over 80 degrees and the van became quite hot and uncomfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Mfox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy R, Owner at Mad Max Tours, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. All our vehicles do have air conditioning so your feedback was really useful as it prompted us to make sure all the systems were fully functioning and ready for the summer. Al Good Wishes Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect all day tour Stonehenge, Avebury, Cotswolds and more”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the perfect tour to provide a relaxed and informative day tour from Bath. Tim was a terrific guide who is well informed, a Bath local and has a sense of humor. My husband, 21 year old daughter and I took the tour this week. I highly recommend it as an effortless way to much of the key sites outside of Bath. The bus was one of the smaller ones so we had a nice size of 15 or so on the trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneontheroadBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Max Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mad Max Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing