We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but a long walk up hill and the self-catering kitchen not service enough”
Review of YHA Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Bath
Ranked #8 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed four four nights in late March 2013; stayed in a large room with about 5 bunkbeds. The room was tired looking and there wasn't a lot of space to store your things.

The communal showers and toilets seemed to be cleaned regularly but the self-catering kitchen area was not cleaned very often and often had rubbish overflowing from the bins. The kitchen is short of bowls and cooking pans and other items, so it's a bit of hunt to find all the tools you need to cook properly.

I found the place quite noisy after lights-out, with noise from nearby rooms and sounds from ventilation fans filtering through and disturbing sleep.

The lounge is nice and so is the dining area (for those paying for meals) - both have a more modern, update look - these are the only places on the site that really appear to have been kept up to date.

I didn't find the reception staff member who greeted me very friendly or helpful. I suppose it depends on who is working when, but overall the place does not give off a friendly feel from staff.

I only paid £10-£13 per night, so I suppose you "get what you pay for". At least the linens and the bathroom and showers were clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieOTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Quite simply filthy and disgusting!! 2 friends and i paid over £130 for ONE night in a 4 bunk bed room.

All the bedding was stained and, as at least one other reviewer has said, i got bitten by something while i was there. The toilet / shower room was very dirty and the toilet itself had never seen any bleach.

Avoid at all costs. It is shocking they can get away with charging this kind of money for a such awful accommodation!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hostel had good and bad points. We were staying in a twin room at the top of the house which was clean and comfortable! However when we arrived the heating was on full blast in our room but bizarrely the windows were wide open!!! The kitchen facilities were also very good but the breakfast proved quite expensive (we stuck with our porridge sachets). Had a lovely restful sleep here and managed to explore all of bath the following day.
Some of it's disadvantages include it being a bit of a trek from the centre (especially on the way as it's up a big hill) so I would really recommend a taxi one way if you have luggage (about 8 pounds I think). It's also a bit shabby for what you're paying for but does boast great character and on the whole I enjoyed my night there!

Room Tip: The twin at the top of the house is great for those who want a good night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Self catering kitchen facilities not that great, broken saucepans, utensils. Toilets and floors need bleaching, room had bedbugs and I had bites after staying here. Great view over Bath though. Driveway really dark at night, take a torch. There are better YHA's out there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My 2nd experience of youth-hostelling and my last. I am no youth but having heard how akin to reasonable hotels their establishments had become, we joined up last year. Leominster had been the toe-in-water and I thought at the time how basic everything was and how un-cheap it wasn't in reality. Well as others have said, this operation is rather down-at-heel and seems to be staffed by unsmiling persons who display an air of indifference about the jobs they do and the persons they are catering to. Having to order a hot breakfast the previous evening, pay for it and then not receive it without some argy-bargy isn't going to win any prizes. At times it seemed to me all that was lacking was a perimeter fence and searchlight towers.
The 'bar' is cold, functional, and the range of drinks available extremely limited.
The double room we had reserved turned out to be the disabled accommodation with nary a shelf in the wet room to store anything, a sink size designed for a toddler, bunk beds, and nowhere to hang clothing - not a single hook! This is how I'd imagined youth hostels to be and why I'd never had dreamed of using one if it were not for YHA marketing. If such they are - so be it, but the YHA shouldn't try to position itself as something it patently is not - and at prices which are more costly than Travelodges and Premier Inns in both my experiences.
I hate to write in critical mode and I believe that dormitory facilities (what time "lights out" one wonders?!) are far cheaper but the description of our accomdation as double with en-suite facilities falls far short of the scenario a mature couple would expect. To summarise if you like roughing it - fine, go ahead, you'll have nothing to complain of here. Twice bitten, forever shy in my case.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bothyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Another Youth Hostel and this one is pretty good. 2 nights accommodation for 5 including breakfast works out at about £150, and the room sleeps 6. The hostel is 15 minutes walk up a hill from the centre of the city and the route is a bit dark getting up to the Youth Hostel, but otherwise it is an easy walk. No problems here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhillblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hostel is old and very basic, even by youth hostels standard. The management was unprofessional, while we have already occupied the whole room as a group of six, they still gave a key to a lady by mistake into our room.

One of the two heaters in the room was not working. Breakfast was fine at a price of 5 pounds. Car was not allowed to park on site, instead guests would be asked to park the car somewhere along the street, which was quite a distance from the property,

Room Tip: No lift so consider again if you have heavy luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave179_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,883 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bath

Address: Bathwick Hill, Bath BA2 6JZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range: £12 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its grand Georgian architecture and hot springs, Bath is a World Heritage City of many contrasts. It also offers a vibrant nightlife and progressive counter culture to round off your experience. Hearty breakfasts and a quality evening menu are available in our restaurant. YHA Bath is a listed building and welcomes all types of guests. However, if you have a child under the age of 3 years or any other requirements related to mobility or access, please mention at the time of booking and we will endeavor to book you in the most suitable room. YHA Bath comprises two buildings which are both in the same grounds. The hostel has both dorm beds and private rooms available, with some en-suite. We are perfect for backpackers, families and couples alike. Bed linen is provided but towels are not, however please do bring your own or you can hire them from us. There is FREE Wi-Fi available in the social areas. There is 24 hour access to the hostel for all guests that have checked in (code given during check in). YHA Bath is located on Bathwick Hill, within walking distance of the city itself. All the main city attractions are close enough to walk, including the Roman Baths, the Jane Austen Centre, Bath Abbey and the Bath Thermal Spa. Immerse yourself in the rich history of this World Heritage City, explore the gorgeous Georgian architecture or relax in the spa before returning to the hostel for a quiet drink in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Yha Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing