We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Bath
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dukes Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
48
113
72
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
113
72
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenbunk bedsprivate ensuite roomyha hostelcity centrethe main housetesco expressregular busessteep climbbeautiful buildingbus stop rightcommunal areascouple of nightsloungelaundrycanal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hostel is about a mile up a steep hill from the city and about a mile and a half from the city centre. It occupies a high spot from which (when there are no leaves on the trees) there are delighful views of the city.There is a t.v. room, a dinner lounge, a bar area and a kitchen area with another eating room adjoining it. My only moan is that there is not a "Quiet Room" as one is needed due to the amount of people the hostel attracts. There are a variety of rooms in the main building, on two floors and a launderette outside where for little output you can do your washing. The washer and spin dryer are modern. There are more rooms in another building in the garden.I have not slept in them, but have heard others moan that some are damp.
If some of the trees in the garden could be "dropped" it would open up the vvista over the city even more and make the gardem an even more attractive place to have a drink when the sun is setting.

Room Tip: Pick one in the main building - allegedly the outbuilding suffers from damp.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked on the basis that it was very cheap. Cheap comes for a reason. We drove up and the place had aged quite a lot since the photos were taken. On having a look at our room it was filthy and uncomfortable. So much so we chose not to stay there. For choosing not to be able to stay there i was charged the remainder of my balance 3 days later without any notice of this. Unless you are the kind of geek who reads all the small print perhaps. Awful place. DO NOT bother.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Francesca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a private room for four ie two bunk beds, in the main building. It was small but fine for what we needed. The beds were comfortable and the room at a temperature that suited us, with windows that we could open when needed. It is up a long hill - we walked down and then used a cab to get back (about £6). There are also frequent buses. The self-catering kitchen is OK. There is no licence to allow guests to consume their own alcohol in the hostel, as the hostel has it's own bar. The staff were helpful and it was a very good value place to stay.

Room Tip: The ensuite bathroom in our room for four was very small! It was useful to have but we mainly used the shared showers down the corridor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We used this hostel as a base for an under 16 rugby tour around Bath. Finding venues can always be difficult as you need to find a venue big enough to host 30 boys.

If you have a touring party , I can recommend this venue.
It is a short , if uphill walk from the town center .The rooms are great , many with ensuites and the breakfasts were great.
Facilities are great .
There is a lodge building which allows you to keep a group of 30 apart from the others in the hostel. There is also cooking and laundry facilities.

As always with these things the challenge will be not inconveniencing other guests so if you can try and book out the whole hostel .

Room Tip: If you have a party big enough you may want to book out the lodge at the back which is self contained and has bed space for around 40. May rooms have ensuites and some have spectacular views of bath.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed in a female only, 8-bed-room for two nights. Number of toilet and showering rooms are adequate in the hostel. If you book a room as such, you will get a bed for renewed bedspread and pillow case. there are three lockers in our room, and you will need to prepare your own lock. the location of Bath YAH is on the halfway towards Bath Uni, which means it located on the hillside. You can take coach No.18 or Uni18, and get off at the YHA station. As for the quality of hostel in the UK, I'd love to recommend Bath THA as the best choice for young travelers or anyone who'd like to save money and get a tidy place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnesjeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews