We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better options”
Review of YHA Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Bath
Ranked #8 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I know this is a hostel, but I was under the impression that YHA standards are a bit higher than other hostels. However, our ensuite double room was old, small, toilet was crammed and we were barely able to turn the shower on, plus the floor was dirty. Moreover, the hostel is in renovation, which makes it quite noisy during the day. Not a big bother if you're out, but I still think this should have been mentioned on their website when we made the booking. The good thing wad that the staff were helpful and nice. But I'm sure there are better and cleaner options in Bath for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cristina_L123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

YHA Bath is an absolutely gorgeous mansion atop a hill tucked into the woods. I feel that some reviewers forget that this is a HOSTEL and not a HOTEL. Yes the showers are somewhat weak, and the rooms are bunked. It is a fantastic value and well worth the stay. My only word of warning is that the hotel is slightly out of town not in the heart of Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MTBungalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The prices were reasonable, it was clean and though the showers weren't the greatest in terms of water pressure I'd definitely go back and stay again. The location was ideal as most attractions were within walking distance. With a decent continental breakfast provided, I'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed with my daughter for one night, as she had trials at Bath uni. I had not been in a youth hostel since I was 16 and as I don't sleep well, it is not quite the place for me. Having said that, the staff were really friendly, bedding was lovely and soft and the showers were clean. We mentioned a problem with the sinks and it was dealt with immediately. Breakfast (extra) had plenty of choices.
Parking was easy and free on the street about 3 minutes down a hill. Location is excellent.
It could do with a bit of a clean up....cobwebs etc. I would use it again and at 53, I was in the middle of the age range.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Bath Youth Hostel is up a steep driveway which runs off a long steep hill. There is no car parking on site. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean bright and airy. Bathrooms are clean and modern but the showers are simply dreadful. A dribble of water. Good on site well priced laundry with drier. Breakfast was good.
If the showers were even average, I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed with four of my family members in the back building, it was terrible! We stayed two nights, sinks & showers drained slowly, wastebaskets were full and not emptied and the rooms smelled musty and filthy. The front building may have been cleaner. I would NOT recommend staying here at all!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked a long weekend at Bath hostel, the first time I have visited a hostel since my children were young. The staff were friendly and welcoming, I ate dinner there two nights and the food was great, especially the home made soup to start. The hostel is easy to reach from the town centre by the 18 or U18 bus which stops at the bottom of the drive. You can take that bus downhill into town or ride it uphill to the end of the route (Bath Uni) then walk a bit further to visit the American Museum. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seasideknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,882 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bath

Address: Bathwick Hill, Bath BA2 6JZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range: £12 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its grand Georgian architecture and hot springs, Bath is a World Heritage City of many contrasts. It also offers a vibrant nightlife and progressive counter culture to round off your experience. Hearty breakfasts and a quality evening menu are available in our restaurant. YHA Bath is a listed building and welcomes all types of guests. However, if you have a child under the age of 3 years or any other requirements related to mobility or access, please mention at the time of booking and we will endeavor to book you in the most suitable room. YHA Bath comprises two buildings which are both in the same grounds. The hostel has both dorm beds and private rooms available, with some en-suite. We are perfect for backpackers, families and couples alike. Bed linen is provided but towels are not, however please do bring your own or you can hire them from us. There is FREE Wi-Fi available in the social areas. There is 24 hour access to the hostel for all guests that have checked in (code given during check in). YHA Bath is located on Bathwick Hill, within walking distance of the city itself. All the main city attractions are close enough to walk, including the Roman Baths, the Jane Austen Centre, Bath Abbey and the Bath Thermal Spa. Immerse yourself in the rich history of this World Heritage City, explore the gorgeous Georgian architecture or relax in the spa before returning to the hostel for a quiet drink in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Yha Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing