We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Youth Hostel it is going to be noisy”
Review of YHA Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Bath
Ranked #9 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a Youth Hostel it is going to be noisy”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I had visited Bath in 2006 and wanted to visit again with my family. Previously I had stayed in a B&B as my employer was paying costs. This time we decided upon a family room with en-suite. We were given Room 13 in the main building which has a window situated over what seemed to be the kitchens industrial sized exhaust fan. This fan was turned on at 8am and off at around 8pm. As we didn’t want to sleep between these times the noise wasn’t really a problem. Actually helped us vacate the room early each day and to get out and about. You really wouldn’t want to stay in the room for too long during daylight hours as the size of the room was pretty small without any real space for our luggage. Four suitcases couldn’t be left open on the floor as there wasn’t enough floor space. This was particularly hard on our 16yo daughter who likes to spread out. But then we were on a budget and we all knew before hand that the YHA wasn’t a five star resort so we managed.
We were out of our room each day by 10am at the latest and back around 5 – 6pm. We used the communal kitchen for breakfast and evening meals. The kitchen and dining areas were pretty clean during our stay. We did have to wipe down our table before we could use it once or twice. But that was due to inconsiderate guests not the cleaning staff. We cooked our evening meals in this kitchen and found everything we needed – eventually. We did manage to loose a can of drink from the communal fridge. Hey they must have been really thirsty… It is a good idea to wrap your items up so that nobody can see what you have.
The place was full of (high school aged) school kids for two nights during our stay. They were loud downstairs and outside but were pretty considerate upstairs around the rooms after 10pm. It also helped that the room doors are pretty solid and noise didn’t really intrude. We were also pretty buggered after our long days so flaked as soon as heads hit the pillows. Good fortune and planning had us in the YHA for weeknights only. We have read enough reviews to know we didn’t want to be in a youth hostel during the weekend.
We used the YHA as a base to explore Bath and visit Stonehenge and Avebury.
The adults enjoyed the free town guided tour that starts outside the pump room. Our eight year old was very excited to find the lions and pigs scattered around Bath. On the other hand our teenage daughter who isn’t really into guided tours really enjoyed the Bizarre Bath evening comedy walk. Bath Abbey and the Roman Baths were also enjoyed, albeit in varying amounts, by the whole family.
We caught the bus out the front of the hostel into and out of town each day. The path from the road to the hostel is pretty steep as is the road into town. Cars are able to drive right up to the front/side door and unload or load up.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brettdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    100
    67
    38
    23
See reviews for
76
31
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed in the back building and got a room with an unbearable stench. It was old and filthy and had paper thin walls. The kitchen, located in the newer building, was nice and clean, but was barely stocked enough for two families to eat at once. The clothes dryer took 90 minutes to dry an average load. Location was too far from the city to make it worth the savings. However, the bus was easy to take. The grounds and wooded location were lovely. The staff was incredibly nice and very helpful. If you stay here, try not to stay in the back building. A trip to Lacock and Stonehenge is a must. A day on foot through Bath and a night time tour of the Roman Baths was fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoboMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

cute hostel. not luxury accomodation but you don't get that from a yha and i didn't expect it.

but, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, quiet location and beautiful setting. definately in my top three yha's i have stayed in.

only drawback is it is a little out of town via a very steep hill, including the driveway. but there is a bus stop right outside with very frequent services.

plus also the stairs are quite steep.

overall, excellent for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We were looking forward to this stay in the beautiful city of Bath. A few pros and cons:

PROs
- very friendly and helpful staff
- a lovely main building though perhaps not fully reflecting its former grandeur
- great evening meals at very competitive prices
- secure lockable bike shed

CONs
- most of the bedrooms are in a dilapidated annexe building out the back
- the walls are like paper and you hear every noise - especially if adjacent to the main entrance or toilets as we were
- smelt of sweaty feet when we arrived
- tiny room with minimal storage space for bags
- two high windows only one of which opened - the other screwed shut and damaged
- shower blocked and almost flooded on first use (but unblocked very promptly by helpful staff)
- annexe generally in need of upgrade or, better, replacement
- no on-site parking (some available on road at bottom of drive)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitakere, NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We booked here because of the lovely twin room pictured on the web page for Bath YHA. On arrival we were directed to a extremely small and shabby room with bunk beds. We are both well past out twenties so neither of us was thrilled about tackling a top bunk. When questioned staff said they had no twin rooms only bunks...
Kitchen facilities were reasonable but well overdue for replacement dishcloths and dish brushes, and there were never enough dry tea towels.
We had the cooked breakfast one morning which wasn't too bad, and the dinner servings were generous.
The main building was obviously beautiful once and could be again with a good cleaning and some TLC.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atamarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I stayed here for one night in a large 10 bedded shared dorm (room 8). It was basic and the bunks were very old, with no reading lights and old mattresses. There was one sink in the room. Hooks and more lighting (especially for when people come in late /leave early) would have been useful. I was on a lower bunk and was bitten during the night - the carpet could have done with a revamp I think.
On going around the hostel I saw the odd feather and bit of pink tinsel here and there - obviously the remains of a hen night! The nearest shower / toilet room was not specifically for men or women, which was different from other hostels I have stayed in, but it was adequate.
The bar and reception areas were smarter than the dorm and the staff were reasonably helpful. The hostel is a bit out of the centre but there are regular buses. (I arrived into Bath by train). The walk into town from the hostel is downhill.
Bath can be expensive, so if you are a solo traveller and want a very cheap option this hostel is OK, but if you want anything else, then look elsewhere and pay more.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I'll admit I'm a bit of a princess. This was my first time staying in a hostel, and I wouldn't have but everything else was sold out. First impression of the hostel was quite nice - from the outside. It's quite a nice building and very near a bus stop. Going inside was more like what I'd expected but clean. The reseption staff, Graham, was extra helpful. Without even asking he whipped out a map and plotted out a path that we should walk to the centre by, and the sites we should definately see. Our room was ok nothing too bad, I wasn't expecting to have to make the bed though, and unless you have a tiny bottom I would suggest taking the bottom bunk. There was no soap or towels provided so I would also suggest bringing some along. Overall it was alright, truthfully if giventhe choice I would stay in a hotel but for one or two nights it wad bearable.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_Melody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bath

Property: YHA Bath
Address: Bathwick Hill, Bath BA2 6JZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its grand Georgian architecture and hot springs, Bath is a World Heritage City of many contrasts. It also offers a vibrant nightlife and progressive counter culture to round off your experience. Hearty breakfasts and a quality evening menu are available in our restaurant. YHA Bath is a listed building and welcomes all types of guests. However, if you have a child under the age of 3 years or any other requirements related to mobility or access, please mention at the time of booking and we will endeavor to book you in the most suitable room. YHA Bath comprises two buildings which are both in the same grounds. The hostel has both dorm beds and private rooms available, with some en-suite. We are perfect for backpackers, families and couples alike. Bed linen is provided but towels are not, however please do bring your own or you can hire them from us. There is FREE Wi-Fi available in the social areas. There is 24 hour access to the hostel for all guests that have checked in (code given during check in). YHA Bath is located on Bathwick Hill, within walking distance of the city itself. All the main city attractions are close enough to walk, including the Roman Baths, the Jane Austen Centre, Bath Abbey and the Bath Thermal Spa. Immerse yourself in the rich history of this World Heritage City, explore the gorgeous Georgian architecture or relax in the spa before returning to the hostel for a quiet drink in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your YHA Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Yha Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing