We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Home cooked lunch - can't fault it.”

Forester and Flower
Ranked #261 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Home cooked lunch - can't fault it.”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I don't usually expect much at lunch time in an out of town centre pub - but this was excellent. Fabulous presentation, great flavours (I recommend the home-made tart if available) and wonderful puddings (grasshopper pie was delicious).

Everything was home made and it showed. Probably the best pub lunch I've had in a long time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south devon
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“great place to meet... great "mine host" !”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Lovely atmosphere here, great fun landlady... been here many many times. The food is very good, only thing to mention IT IS ALWAYS COLD HERE IN THE PUB,, so wrap up , and thats not only in the winter. ! Lots of locals mention it , sooooooooon Louise , PUT YOUR LOVELY LOG FIRE ON !!!!!

Hope to visit soon in, ( thats the only "gripe" I can think of !)

I hear the b& b is also good.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kezziedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“warm and friendly”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I've been in Forester and Flower (Restaurant) two times now and I am more than happy from what the place has to offer. A very nice owner, friendly and with a smile for everyone, and tasty and descent priced food.
It will be definitely a place I will visit again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and original setting”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We came here to check out the refurbishment some years ago, and it is now a firm favourite. We love the fact that this pub has unique style. The decoration with soft furnishings in the bar area give it the feel of a Victorian salon. The traditional pub/restaurant area has nice wooden tables and chairs and art works on the walls - some pictures by local artists are for sale. Good selection of wines and beers and a real ale which is well kept. Food is better than the usual pub menu, prepared on the premises not from freezer bags. We usually share a starter and a pudding because the portions are so generous. Food is nicely presented and the staff friendly and obliging. The star is Louise Flower, the owner, who is welcoming and attentive to detail. And she has a wicked sense of humour and a laugh that is infectious - this place is fun to visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malvern Cottage C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just happened to chance on this restaurant / pub! A gem”
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Wonderful ambience and good food and excellent service! Definitely a recommendation. The menu was interesting with a good mix of starters and mains and they tasted awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokoloshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forester and Flower also viewed

 

Been to Forester and Flower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing