We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of honeymooon”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ossett
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“End of honeymooon”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here in August which was a perfect way to round off our honeymoon. Our hosts were very welcoming and extremely entertaining. The house was wonderful and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again should I return to Bath.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
347
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A two night stay wasn't enough at this delightful hotel. Room 1 in which we stayed was beautifully decorated, comfortable and had a lovely view overlooking a quaint courtyard garden. The hospitality that we received was first class. As soon as we stepped through the door we were made to feel very welcome, we were even treated to a very short guided tour around some of the main hot spots of Bath! Hill House is ideally located for all attractions, with many outstanding restaurants just a few minutes away and the city centre just a short stroll. We would highly recommend this unique hotel to spend your stay in Bath! With thanks to Douglas and Harry for their great recommendations and scrumptious breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

D&H were the perfect hosts. Excellent features in the room/ everything you needed. Plenty of space, comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Breakfast was to die for. The 'specials' were especially special and innovative. They made our stay by making recommendations for restaurants/bars/activities e.g. the guided walks. You are in town so remember there will be traffic noise.Thank you - we will return!

Room Tip: top of the house for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton Grove, IL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here in June. Was the first stop on our mother-daughter vacation and it really set the standard for our trip. Our room, #3, was beautiful, clean, comfortable. Douglas was so kind and helpful even before our arrival, providing great suggestions for getting to Bath and planning our visit. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Loved the nice homey touches, water carafe and glasses left at our door at the end of the day, cookies in the room. Would love to come back some day -- highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed there on a Friday & Saturday night at the end of July. Our flight into Bristol was pretty late meaning that we didn't arrive until around 22.45 but this wasn't a problem at all to our host. He came to our car, took our luggage in and then gave me a residents street car parking pass and got into the car with me to direct me to some nearby street parking.
The room was fantastically furnished and decorated with a modern bathroom/shower room. There was a nice sofa and coffee table at the foot of our bed which gave the feel of a suite to it. Breakfast was wonderful. (Full English, home made pancakes, poached haddock and fresh fruit, bread and cereals abound!). The hall/stairs and breakfast room was also stylishly furnished/decorated. It is mainly a couples sort of place rather than for families but they do welcome all however. They allowed us to stow our luggage and use the parking pass after we had vacated the room on Sunday. They called a taxi for us to go to our wedding party on the Saturday evening. As I said faultless really!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and found the owners to be absolutely charming. The building has been tastefully renovated, our room was no#6, top floor. Beautiful views and a very comfortable bed. With only a 5-10 min walk into Bath, we'll definitely be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annom710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights recently for my birthday as a surprise. Its easy to get into town, just round the corner from the Royal Crescent too. A really warm welcome when we arrived and just the right amount of hospitality. The owners seem to know instinctively what their guests want and are friendly and laid back. Breakfast is in a large room on the ground floor with a big table that everyone sits around. It was a really nice atmosphere at breakfast and didn't feel like you felt like you could join in the conversation or just keep yourself to yourself. The breakfast itself was great. The full English was delicious and not greasy. We stayed in the 1st floor bedroom at the front of the building. Could not fault the room. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and would have been happy to spend the whole 2 days in there to be honest if there wasn't so much to see in Bath! Bed was really comfortable too. Thanks very much Douglas and Harry for such a perfect stay in Bath. Would absolutely recommend Hill House to anyone. Enjoy...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 157 in Bath
1,629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 157 in Bath
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Property: Hill House
Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing