We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath Super Guest House”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bath Super Guest House”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Hill House in August 2013 and it is totally remodeled with wonderful owners. The room and bathroom were great, and the breakfast was as complete as you could ever ask for. They have street parking, but they reserve a spot for you if you let them know in advance (well worth it). Once you are there, walking to the center of town is an easy downhill walk. Coming back is no problem with a taxi (very reasonable). I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegobirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
331
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here for three nights in early August and thoroughly enjoyed this perfect B&B.
Our spacious room was well equipped and so tastefully decorated and inviting, with a sofa at the foot of the bed on which to rest our weary bodies after a day of sightseeing, before going out to dinner. Breakfast was served at a beautifully set communal table in a light and airy area and the array of food on offer was like everything else in this establishment - wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisces50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Great location, fantastic service and Room 4 was well appointed - comfy king bed, very spacious with a lovely couch in front of the fireplace and tele and new bathroom with an excellent shower. Breakfast was lovely as was Bath itself - highly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCoops81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we spent 1 night at hill house on the 16th aug for my weding anniversary.
i cannot fault this place at all- the owners couldnt do enough but at the same time didnt smother us.
they informed us of everything that was happening in the city that weekend, recommened some great resturants and bars that we hadnt actually been to before and ended up having a great night in.
we stayed in room 1 which looked over the owners garden and on to the corner of the rd, though we did not hear hardly any noice from. the room was decorated lovely and the bathroom was big and very modern.
we were given a parking permit for the nights stay but they also let us use it the day we left so we could go and enjoy the spa without paying for parking.
breakfast was delightful, they offer a full posh english and daily specials plus all the cerial and fruit salad you can think of, they even had peanut butter on the table which pleased me lol.
the large bottles of water which are brought to your room are also a great detail of this hotel as i know my husband and I always seem to have to go to the shop for water when staying elsewhere.
i could go on and on about this wonderful hotel but in all honesty everything we wanted was there and i can be a bit of a fussy girl at times lol. you really have to stay at Hill House, we have already booked up for our next trip in december,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Staying at Hill House absolutely made our trip in Bath.
Perfectly positioned away from the tourist madding crowds, amidst the best of the Georgian architecture in Bath, in easy walking distance of the best places to eat and points of interest in town.
The owners of Hill House are an amazing couple and fill the home (it feels more of a home than a B&B) with warmth, exquisite taste and boundless energy. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome.
Greeted with tea and home made shortbread on arrival - we were efficiently and entertainingly debriefed on the necessary basics to get us started on our exploration of Bath.
The rooms have been decorated and fitted great taste and the highest of quality linens, bathroom fittings and personal touches and are of an extremely decent size, much more than you would expect from a B&B or most 4 / 5 star hotels.
Breakfast is taken around a communal dining table and the food is simply great.
Couldn't recommend more - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Mum and I were in Room 4 - twin beds, beautifully decorated - a little noise with traffic from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltales_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here in August which was a perfect way to round off our honeymoon. Our hosts were very welcoming and extremely entertaining. The house was wonderful and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again should I return to Bath.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A two night stay wasn't enough at this delightful hotel. Room 1 in which we stayed was beautifully decorated, comfortable and had a lovely view overlooking a quaint courtyard garden. The hospitality that we received was first class. As soon as we stepped through the door we were made to feel very welcome, we were even treated to a very short guided tour around some of the main hot spots of Bath! Hill House is ideally located for all attractions, with many outstanding restaurants just a few minutes away and the city centre just a short stroll. We would highly recommend this unique hotel to spend your stay in Bath! With thanks to Douglas and Harry for their great recommendations and scrumptious breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 154 in Bath
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 154 in Bath
1,603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 154 in Bath
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Property: Hill House
Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing