We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you can ask for in a B&B”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

You will simply feel at home at this Bed and Breakfast with its cosy, tastefull décor and with its hosts who really care about your stay in Bath. I couldn't get over their hospitality! They do whatever they can to make your stay as pleasant as can be. To top it all off the breakfasts are delicious, they offer a traditional English breakfast but they also offer another extra special breakfast every morning like eggs benedict or blueberry pancakes... The two hosts know their town and its restaurants, they are more than happy to make suggestions. I can't wait to go back :)!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lili730001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights in Bath - the owners were very welcoming and gave plenty of tips about places to go and where to eat in Bath. Very close to the centre of bath, although (as the name implies) a fair old way up a hill. 5 minutes walk to some great restaurants and the Royal Crescent/Circus though so not bad at all, and you can justify that extra cake after the climb. The room was very clean & modern, with a new bathroom and excellent bed.

Finally, I'm a breakfast man, and I have nothing but praise for the breakfasts! Top notch. All in all highly recommended, I'd stay here again if I return to Bath.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed at Hill House with my girlfriend for 2 nights as part of a visit to Bath.

Overall a 10/10 experience. Could not ask for better service or a nicer location.

I was considering booking a far more expensive 4 or 5* hotel for our visit but thank god I went with this lovely B&B instead! The owners, service, food, local knowledge, room quality and overall ambience far exceeded anything we would have been expecting even at the best hotel.

Excellent value for money and I would recommend Hill House to anyone visiting Bath or indeed Somerset.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XtianC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Although there is a climb up the hill from the city centre, this BnB deserves the climb. Very friendly hosts always willing to give you tips about what to visit in Bath, very clean, quiet and cosy room, great and filling breakfast. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It is worth visiting Bath just to stay in this hotel! Beautifully decorated, immaculately clean rooms that are airy, ultimately comfortable and glamorous. Easily controlled heating, lighting and lots of hot water. The style is like a country house hotel without being remotely stuffy. The host was waiting at the door to greet us and bags carried with a smile although late at night. The sense of welcome was sincere and although some may not like the thought of one big table for all guests to sit at for breakfast, after a few moments there was much laughter and a sense of new friends. The breakfast was exceptional with lots of fresh local products and specials without extra cost such as potato cake with poached egg, smoked salmon and dill creme fraiche. Some people just seem to get the hospitality industry right and Hill house is a prime example. We will be back - and fast...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for only one night, but enjoyed the ambience of the house, tasteful decorations and art works, good sized room and very well appointed bathroom. Breakfast taken with other guests on a large table, good choices of well cooked food and everything very tasteful, including the presentation of the butter pats. We will return on a happier reason for the visit.

Room Tip: Only saw one room which was top floor so a few steps to negotiate but we are used to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I and my husband were fortunate enough to take a last minute cancellation from Harry and Douglas at Hill House. We were sent a thorough confirmation email with everything we would need to know about checking in and out and where to find the house, which was a great help when the main road into bath was closed and the area was incredibly hectic at 5pm on a Friday Night. We were easily able to drop off our bags and used the parking permit to locate a great space near to The Chequers pub down the hill. Once in we were greeted with a much needed cup of tea and biscuits whilst being presented with a map and top tips on local restaurants. harry managed to secure us the last table for that night at the Chequers which was wonderul and within staggering distance of the hotel after a few drinks. All whilst we were meeting our wonderful host our bag was already in our room. We were booked into Room 1 which was the first room at the top of the stairs, nearest to the main door and nearest to the dining room for breakfast!. We had a peaceful nights sleep and the room was delightful and the en-suite had the most fantastic shower. The room had good lighting, plenty of sockets and a good space for hanging clothes and storing clothes. The hairdryer was a great touch along with the hand made biscuits and tea, and the large selection of herbal teas to choose from in the hall.
Breakfast is served in a lovely bright room each morning with realistic timings! (not too early or late) and you are offered a wonderful selection of cereals and yoghurts, fruits, juice and teas and then a cooked breakfast with specials each morning- pancakes with bacon and maple syrup being a favourite!. The B&B is in a great location, around the corner from the Royal Crescent and at the best end of town closest to the bars and restaurants. Ignore others comments about the steep hill and 25 minutes walk to town! It take about 3 minutes to local bars and restaurants and a mini supermarket and shop, the main area of shops etc. is about a 5 minute walk downhill. We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B and will be back

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, clean and elegant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 155 in Bath
1,665 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 155 in Bath
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £113 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing