We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in Bath”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #2 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

What a great place to stay The owners were friendly,helpful,nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated and the house is within walking distance from town. At breakfast we were presented with some lovely fresh fruit and a choice of serials and the cooked breakfast offered two tasty options.i would highly recommend to everyone

Room Tip: All rooms seemed tastefully decorated Rooms at front of building were close to road for people who a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KAth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Just spent a night at Hill House over the Bank Holiday weekend. We can certainly recommend this stylish B&B with excellent friendly hosts. We had a lovely (large) room overlooking the surrounding streets and buildings, with the countryside on the distant horizon. The room (mini suite) came complete with two easy chairs and coffee table with a charater fireplace and flat screen tv. Check in was smooth, with complementary tea and shortbread and a detailed explanation of "what to do and where to go" whilst in Bath, by Harry.
We actually dined at Restaurant 11, which was fairly close to the hotel between the Crescent and the Circle, which proved to be a good choice. The hosts provide you with a three page summary of local reataurants, as recommended by them and their guests, which proved to be very useful.
Breakfast was excellent, with a choice of fresh fruits and cereals, whilst the main course was "cooked to order" with either a full English or special of the day which happened to be salmon and scrambled eggs. Both were delicious. Breakfast is served around a large table where guests can chat with each other, which makes for good conversation.
Due to its location you may not be able to park directly outside of the establishment, but complimentary parking permits are provided, for adjacent streets.
All in all a great B&B, very clean, excellent hosts and superb food.

Room Tip: All rooms look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Other reviewers have used up all the superlatives! We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The owners are so friendly and helpful, the breakfast delicious and substantial (if wanted) and the location perfect for exploring Bath. We slept very soundly even though we had a front room as the beds are so comfortable you fall asleep as soon as your head hits the pillow.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Susalusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This B & B is an absolute gem excellently placed for visiting the centre of Bath. The car parking permit provided allowed us to park for free all around the centre of Bath. The warm friendly atmosphere Harry, Douglas, Alan and Jasper the dog extended to us throughout our stay was second to none, we really felt like welcome guests in their home. The house itself is a beautiful and sympathetically refurbished Georgian home, which will suit any lover of this type of building. We stayed in room 2 and 4, both immaculately clean, comfortable beds and good pressure hot showers. We are real foodies and the knowledge of the local restaurants provided by Harry improved our stay no end, find this out from him ahead of your stay though, as the good restaurants book up well in advance. They also gave us lots of valuable advice about where to visit. Breakfast was high quality, plus my husband is gluten intolerant, all previous B & B's we have stayed in - despite plenty of advanced notice - have only ever provided him with gluten free bread, no gluten free sausages for him . However, at Hill House they DID go to the trouble of specially providing these for him very much appreciated by my sausage fanatic husband .
We had an absolutely wonderful stay and if we ever stay in Bath again Hill House would be our first choice.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lotsofbumper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is an excellent B & B well located in Bath within easy walking distance to the centre and to many excellent restaurants. Very well run by the hospitable hosts, with lovely breakfasts with a choice each day.

We particularly appreciated the ample supply of tea, coffee and shortbread in our room, and the flask of fresh milk and bottle of water provided each day. Free wifi worked perfectly in our first floor room.

Pre arrival communication was good, with clear instructions about where to stop to unload our car. Don't forget to preorder your parking permit if you are arriving by car, I'm not sure how many they are allowed. You don't need a car in Bath at all, but we had come from visiting family elsewhere so appreciated the permit and the advice on where to find a parking space.

Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This small guest house is a short walk from the centre of Bath, with fabulous views from the bedroom windows. Alan, Douglas and Harry are terrific hosts, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are beautifully furnished and with a lot of thought put into the needs of the guests. The bed was so comfortable, and although there was tea and coffee in the room I loved that an assortment of different teas was on every landing for you to choose an alternative!

Breakfast was amazing - a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juice, and then a choice of a traditional breakfast (or any of its components) or a daily 'special' in our case, either Eggs Florentine or Eggs Benedict. The choice of jams and spreads was fantastic - three sorts of honey, two Marmites and Gentleman's Relish.

I would not hesitate to stay at Hill House again or to recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vincakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Many thanks to Harry and Douglas for making our 9th anniversary trip to Bath a memorable experience. A wonderful place to stay. The attention to detail in every aspect has been thought of, from the pro active emails, maps, room, biscuits, breakfast.... (I could go on). A great find, which is 10 mins walk into town. These guys can not do enough to make your stay worth while!
Highly recommend if you are looking to stay in Bath....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halim_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 159 in Bath
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 159 in Bath
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £93 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing