We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do during your visit”
Review of Thermae Bath Spa

Thermae Bath Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Spas & Wellness in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Thermae Bath Spa is Britain's only natural thermal Spa and benefits from the warm, mineral-rich waters which the Celts and Romans enjoyed over 2,000 years ago. Located in the heart of the World Heritage city of Bath, Thermae is a remarkable combination of five historic buildings and the contemporary architecture of the New Royal Bath. Highlights include the open-air rooftop pool with wonderful views over the city of Bath, the flowing curves of the Minerva Bath, the multi-sensory Wellness Suite and a choice of over 50 spa treatments and packages.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Do not leave Bath without trying the spa. There's usually quite a long wait to get in and unfortunately they don't offer bookings in advance or online which is a pain, but all in all worth a try.
If you have room in your bag, bring along a pair of flip flops, towel, bath robe and of course swimsuit! Otherwise, you can 'rent' some for a fee and buy swimsuits in their shop.
There is shower gel available there, but very few showers so we had to queue to get in and were a bit rushed as you are limited in time.

Thank Hortense R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your constructive comments. Weekends tend to be busy, particularly during the summer months so we try to encourage people to visit mid-week if they can.
It is possible to book if you are having a treatment or the Twilight Package.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rooftop pool"
in 2,335 reviews
"twilight package"
in 528 reviews
"minerva pool"
in 296 reviews
"flip flops"
in 249 reviews
"hour session"
in 226 reviews
"lazy river"
in 201 reviews
"pools and steam rooms"
in 128 reviews
"robes and slippers"
in 122 reviews
"open air pool"
in 112 reviews
"relaxation room"
in 89 reviews
"ice room"
in 82 reviews
"changing facilities"
in 105 reviews
"lower pool"
in 77 reviews
"couples massage"
in 70 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 189 reviews
"two hours"
in 416 reviews
"warm water"
in 174 reviews
Filter

4,751 - 4,755 of 7,005 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Felt like more of a leisure centre than a spa. Really busy, and noisy. Managed to stay in the rooftop pool all of 5 minutes, as literally had no room to enjoy it. The Minerva pool downstairs was nicer but again really very packed. The website is misleading as to the serenity you will enjoy. All in all, overpriced!

Thank KadieTOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are a spa which offers a range of more than 40 holistic treatments and packages, while at the same time we offer bathing in natural thermal waters.
We do limit the number of guests who are in the spa at any one time but the open-air rooftop pool has been particularly popular during the recent spell of sunny weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We've been here loads of times before, and love it!

It offers a range of treatments and packages.

We weren't overly enamoured with the kraxen stove and wish there was an alternative option with the time for two package but this was only minor.

We were also pretty aware of a couple having amorous sex in the changing rooms, but don't let this detract you.

This is one of the top things to do in Bath.

1  Thank Grantsim90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for visiting us so many times and for your helpful comments.
We are somewhat shocked by your experience in the changing rooms and would not condone such inappropriate behaviour.
We will alert our duty managers accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place is OK, the photos on the website led me to believe it would be calm and quiet - it wasnt, it was PACKED. The changing rooms were actually one of the most stressful parts of our entire weekend. Coach loads of tourists shouting over the sound of hairdryers in a badly designed changing room.
I paid £80 for a rooftop spa package for 2 with meal. The confirmation email was confusing AND gave me the wrong time. Upon arrival you had to squeeze past long queue of randoms walking in off the street, which made it feel far less special.
The menu was really very poor, every dish had something offputting in it, the only one that didnt was sold out, obviously.
The Restaurant decor was both good and bad; classy wallpaper and plants but very uncomfortable and canteen-ish chairs and tables.
To be honest I did enjoy it in the end, but I would have paid more money for it to be quieter and less busy, if thats not possible than I believe I should have only paid £50. It's basically a 2hr swimming/steam-room session with a light meal at the end.

Thank leytonjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Bath is a very popular destination at weekends which results in the Spa being busier than during the week.
We do not actively encourage groups to visit and we limit the maximum size to 12 guests.
We would love to have the space to make the changing rooms bigger but we are restricted by the historic buildings in the centre of the World Heritage Site.
We constantly review our menu and will raise your comments with our head chef.
We will also consider your comments relating to pricing and visitor numbers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A great place to visit, the rooftop pool has stunning views over the city. We started at the top and worked our way down each floor.

As someone who is registered disabled I had half price entry and so did my carer. A great deal but not well known about. I must say I was very impressed they offered such a discount.

The restaurant is good, quite small food portions but reasonably priced and there were vegetarian options on the menu.

We decided against any treatments as they seemed quite pricey unless it was for a special occasion. I visit spas regularly so have a good idea of average treatment prices. Then again none are as unique as the Thermae Spa.

All in all a must visit, excellent facilities and excellent views from the roof top pool. You can't visit the wonderful city of Bath without going here!

Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. We offer all disabled guests and their carer a 50% discount on a spa session.
We are always happy to discuss people's needs and will do everything we can to accommodate them.
Weekends tend to be our busiest time, particulary during the summer months, and in general, weekdays tend to be quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thermae Bath Spa also viewed

 

Been to Thermae Bath Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing