We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Ranked #82 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Chippenham,Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Central Hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed here with my husband in May 2012 for one night and had a lovely time. It helped that the room we had was amazing, and had a wonderful bath! The location was fantastic, right in the centre and we weren't woken up by any noise - although it was a Sunday night. The breakfast the next morning was also fab. Lovely hotel and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    102
    59
    25
    20
See reviews for
16
174
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a 2 week trip. The hotel is in a great location - walking distance to restaurants, bars and places of interest, however there was a lot of noise during the night and because the room was so hot we had to keep at least one of the windows open.
We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor, which was ok for us but definitely not suitable for anyone who struggles with climbing stairs.
We arrived before check-in time but the hotel agreed to keep our bags (behind the bar which we discovered was also the reception desk). The hotel is above a restuarant (also where breakfast is served), but it appeared that the staff were more interested in the restaurant than hotel guests. When we went back to get the keys we were left to carry our 2 heavy suitcases and holdall up the two flights of stairs, weren't told times of breakfast etc. It would have been better if there was a designated reception area.
The room itself was a reasonable size but extremely tired. Cracks on the walls and ceilings, chipped paint, extremely poor lighting. The bathroom hadn't been re-painted since some of the fittings were replaced, there were cracks (which could have easily been covered up) and cracks on the floor tiles, the shower tray and head were dirty and the shower cubicle door was broken.
All of the staff were friendly, although we never saw the same person twice. Breakfast was nice - good quality food, but service was slow.
It wouldn't take much for this hotel to be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Location is great really central however could mean a bit noisy for those used to quieter locations...booked for two nights for mid week break, it's listed as 4 stars so was expecting it to be good however...the original room we were given was disappointing, it was very small, the "luxury bathroom" was tired and dirty and there was a distinct lack of attention to detail e.g cracked tiles, wonky lights that you would not expect from somewhere advertised as 4 stars. That night I then found a huge black beetle in the bed and the following morning asked to speak to the manager. The manager was really nice, polite and apologetic and moved us to room 1 although this room was not supposed to be in use because it was on the first floor and they were expecting building work in the restaurant that night, we were also offered another room if we needed but as it happened we didn't experience any noise. The room was huge compared to the previous one and was a beautiful room but once again was quite tired and with a refurb would be lovely. Best thing about the place was the breakfast as you could choose from the loch fyne menu which was amazing. The downside of being above the restaurant was there was no hotel reception you use the hotel bar to collect keys/pay ect where there often seemed to be people sat or hanging around and it lacked the hospitality you would expect from paying £85 a night intact it felt more like a hostel at times. It's the lack of attention to detail that really let's it down both in terms of the physical environment and hospitality. The hotel has great potential but in its current state I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This small hotel of about 8 rooms is located above the Loch Fyne Restaurant, there is no reception staff and you must use the bar within the restaurant for this purpose. You are given a key to an independent door. The bar although looks very pleasant smells of fish which is fine if you are going to eat but not so good if you just want a drink. There is no room service. The location of the hotel is great, at the top of a main shopping street and only a few minute’s walk from all the main attractions of Bath e.g. The Abbey, The Roman Baths and great shopping area. There are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and bars within the immediate area both chains and independent. The train station is about a ten minute walk away. On arrival the stair area looks tired and in need of a little care and attention. Our room was on the second floor, 59 steps, we counted them. Don’t stay at this hotel if you have any mobility issues. The restraint staff did offer to carry our cases up the stairs. The room was small and again could do with a little make over but the bed was very clean and comfortable. There was a good choice of different teas and decaf or normal coffee, and two bottles of water. There is an iron and board and a hair dryer but no mini bar. The bathroom has a shower cubicle but no bath. Once again the bathroom is tired but clean and towels are nice and big. This hotel is very noisy at night, next to a busy road and the sound of people travelling on foot to local pubs. Then the mechanical street cleaner at 7am. The best investment is some wax earplugs from Boots, cheap and they work. I really enjoyed breakfast here; there is a small selection of juices, fruit, yogurt and then a choice of cooked breakfast. There is the traditional full English but I had salmon on a muffin with a beautifully poached egg and hollandaise sauce. Also toast and jam if you have any room left. Good value at £85 for two with breakfast included. Would be a fab hotel with a lick paint and a spring clean of the stair area but then the price would go up. I would definatly stay here again as breakfast makes it special.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you have mobility problems as there is no lift and the stairs are heavy going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I chose this hotel as other places were fully booked and considering I spent 85 pounds I thought the hotel would be in good standard!!
Staff was kind breakfast ok but the room was absolutely not worth the money I spent for!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed hear and my daughter wasnt well the staff were so kind and the restaurant prepared food especially for her exellent seafood menu highly recomend I will be visiting bath again and they will be my first port of call

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

we decided to spend our anniversary in bath & so glad we did & stay over at the milsom hotel. stayed in these hotels before & never been dissapointed. Great hotel once again,lovely staff, fabulous room (room 1 ) , delicious breakfast, brilliant location. Perfect stay

Room Tip: Room 1 is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLREVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#54 of 154 in Bath
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
0.4 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel

Property: Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Address: 24 Milsom Street, Bath BA1 1DG, England (Formerly Milsoms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing