We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OXYGEN A MUST AFTER STAIRS TRIP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Ranked #85 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OXYGEN A MUST AFTER STAIRS TRIP”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed with friends while attending a wedding at the Roman Baths. Great location but terrible parking. Breakfast probably the best ever with everything freshly cooked. Now onto access and room. We stayed on the second of the 3 ladings room 5 on the left. 53 steep steps to the room NO ELEVATOR beware all you portly Americans. Room not laid out well and hardly enough room to ger around the bottom of the bed. Also lighting terrible, the wife gave me ear ach moaning that she could not see properly to do her hair and make up. No suitable mirror in the bedroom. Room town centre but noisey until 3.am when the Slug and Leuttuce eventually throws everyone out.
Bathroom small and shower.....well dont drop the soap or you have to get out to bend down and get it. im 6 feet tall and if you sit on the loo your knees burn on the radiator.
So very close to being great, I could put up with the stairs but th room layout costa dearly sorry because the rest is great.

Room Tip: Ask for landing one and go for the larger rooms, more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevBarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    104
    60
    27
    20
See reviews for
16
177
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Pros: central location, good price which includes breakfast, housekeeping were excellent, all staff v friendly & helpful, good quality food in the Loch Finn.
Cons: Noisy outside at night, lots of stairs, room was small (room 9 at the top), bathroom & general decor needs updating, 'fishy' smell in corridors from resterant.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADorchesterLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Quite a cute place. Convenient to train station (I found it easily and took 5mins to walk).

Standards of room are fine. Very comfortable with nice features. Yes some very minor touch up work needed (painting and cracked tiles) but seriously for the £75ish per night this is not an issue as per other reviews.

Only draw back was noise from a nearby night club throwing students out at 2/3am. A pair of ear plugs solved this easily. Not anything the hotel can do with this so not penalised my scoring.

Breakfast is served by Loch Fyne and is a very high standard in comparison to other hotels at this price range. Thoroughly enjoyed this.

I'd stay here again but bring earplugs along just in case.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PWOZUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We did not find the hotel easily, and the parking instructions were not clear. We had to park some 5 minutes walk away and I was uneasy leaving my car in such a secluded place overnight. The hotel was central and great for the visit. Staff were all pleasant and helpful, however we were not made aware that there was no lift and that there was a steep staricase which was three flights to our room on the top floor. The room was clean, but the whole hotel was in need of some redecoration. The carpets were particularly tired and grubby. The food both evening and breakfast was of good quality.

There was no specific reception for hotel guests as this was shared with the restaurant and there was no specific place for guests to sit and relax.

The worst bit was that the toilets in the restaurant had a particularly unplesant odour and you had to walk past these on your way in and out from your room. Not very inviting.

This hotel has such potential with a bit more investment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdouglas1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

scunthorpe england
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A reasonable hotel in what would be a great location but ruined by the fact it is next door to 2 nightclubs. When the clubs close the clientelle spill out onto the street outside the hotel and shout and scream until 3 or 4 in the morning, this is mid week not just weekends, one night the police came to quell a minor riot! The hotel is not staffed at night so they maybe don't realise just how bad it is though we did tell them at check out.
The hotel itself is comfortable if a little tired decor wise, the food is really good the cooked breakfast was excellent, check the date on the yogurts though, we pointed out they were out of date and yet the same ones appeared the following morning! We had an evening meal at the restaurant and this was also very good, the waiter was extremely nice, indeed all the hotel staff were very pleasant. The hotel would do well to invest in tripple glazing as that is the only way we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Milsoms Hotel Bath, could not really be described as a hotel, never mind a 4 star hotel. It has no reception area, just the bar counter. It has nowhere for guests to relax or to enjoy a drink, the paintwork tthroughout the hotel is chipped and dirty. The stair carpet was more like underfelt and the ensuite was grubby with cracked tiles, a rusty radiator, mildew around sink and shower and badly in need of repainting. The hotel described their ensuites as " fresh and modern" this was completely untrue. We did get clean towels and sheets daily. The downstairs toilets were very dirty and damp and best avoided. The breakfast was very disappointing overall. We asked for croissants (which were on the menu) but they were unavailable each morning. Whilst the hotel was well situated in the middle of Bath I could not recommend this hotel nor will I stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Milesoms Hotel Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night in October. The plus side was we were at the top so no noise and the breakfast is good... However the rest is awful! We couldn't find the hotel whilst driving so called for directions but they were unable to direct us (turns out we were just 2 streets away!)
Went to drop off our bag and the man on "reception" was in his own words too busy to help us.
Reception is the restaurant check in and your bags get left by the restaurant door!
We came back a few hours later and our room was very disappointing. It was nothing like the pictures on the website. The room (8) you had to shuffle round sideways it was so small. The windows rattled in the wind. The main light in the room didn't work! The bathroom was disgusting - dust all over shelf and radiator, urine stains all round the toilet, scummy sink. There were big patches of plaster and things where they'd changed fittings and not bothered to tidy up!
When I went to dry my hair the hair dryer had one of the plugs prongs snapped off! Called reception and they said they didn't have a spare! Eventually after some serious grumbling they managed to find a replacement.
Really shocked by the lack of standards. When we checked out the lady on duty didn't even bother to ask how our stay was - she's probably heard it all before!
In my opinion I would not return.
(Also note there is no lift to any rooms and a lot of steep stairs)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aimee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
0.4 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 157 in Bath
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#56 of 157 in Bath
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 157 in Bath
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel

Property: Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Address: 24 Milsom Street, Bath BA1 1DG, England (Formerly Milsoms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing