We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value location, rooms with charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roman City Guest House
Ranked #137 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value location, rooms with charm”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed with our children, had a lovely 4 poster bed. The Guest house was full of charm & great value, & so near to all attractions

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CupKates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Views over Bath from the room - stunning even though the weather was so attrocious. Lovely room - loved the querkiness of the building. Rooms very regal. Dining room beautifully set. Hospitality excellent and service first class. Lovely place to stay for convenience and rest.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have just got back from 2 nights spent at the Roman City, this was our second visit here our last was in 2009 and because of the fantastic time we had then we decided to return.
Well im glad we did, you will not beat the hospitality,friendliness and laid back atmosphere you experience when you stay.
If you like the personal touch, and you love a good breakfast (as believe me i do!) then you will not be dissapointed here!
Sheila and Sean the husband and wife team will make your stay a pleasurable one, and when sean's on form prepare to be entertained by his wit and his fantastic knowledge of the area, thanks to him we went on and various trips, tours and also free guided tours!
Sheila was her ususual bubbly self and makes you feel like your at home and not at a B n B.
We will be returning to bath later again this year and there is no where else i will stay apart from here.
Thankyou for making Michelle's 30th a memorable one!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugsymoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed here for two nights and have stayed a few nights before. This Guest House offers one of the best value places to stay in Bath and I will be back to stay again! The building is magnificent, the owner is very friendly and the fresh fruit served for breakfast was a pleasant surprise.

If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Bath, this is it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Spent two lovely nights here. The staff were so very helpful and friendly. Room 1 was huge. Double four poster with views over the side of the property - and the railway lines. We only heard one train so that didn't bother us. Full breakfast was great but the highlight was the sliced fresh fruit served first. excellent stay and would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacksons22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was fantastic, as was the breakfast and hospitality of Sean and Sheila. It is close enough to City Centre to walk and we even walked to the Bath Spa Train Station. Thanks for making our Bath visit completely enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We've just stayed for 2 nights at the Roman city Guest House. wonderful stay. sheila and Sean are very freindly and helpful. Room was lovely and the bed was so comfortable. Had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic. Cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, full english, etc . you will not leave hungry. House is stunning and you can see all the hard work they have put in to renovate the place to a high standard.It sits on above a railway but please don't be put off by this. You would hardy know. can't wait to revisit Bath. It's a beautiful City and we will definitely be staying at the Roman City Guest House again.

Glenn & Tracey.xxxxx

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2. view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
0.8 mi away
Albany Guest House
Albany Guest House
#76 of 157 in Bath
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 17 Bath
Number 17 Bath
#57 of 157 in Bath
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman City Guest House

Property: Roman City Guest House
Address: 18 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Roman City Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing