We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be warned!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roman City Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roman City Guest House
Ranked #138 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be warned!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I don’t know where to begin…From reading all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor we had such high hopes…

However:

1) None of the rooms are ensuite- On the phone when booking we were told the room was a ‘king size ensuite’, the only room left. We accepted and were quite excited about it. On arrival we learned it was a ‘private bathroom’ on a different floor of the house. It was not private as it had no lock or room number on it, just a shared bathroom. When we spoke to the girl she told us, quite intensely, that it ‘is an ensuite’. Very difficult to address if you don’t want an all-out argument. Likewise, the bed was a 5ft, not a Kingsize, despite the girl’s insistence.
2) Poor Cleanliness- There was mould in the drawers and around the ornaments in the room. Probably not helped by the shower free-standing in the corner of the room, with no extractor.
3) Health & Safety- We were worried when we learned that the main boiler for the house is in a cupboard in the room, and vents directly into the room!
4) Atmosphere- We learned on arrival that the reason the rooms are all booked out is that the other rooms are let to social tenants, so the atmosphere at breakfast was very strange, like sitting in the kitchen of a stranger getting their kids ready for school, and talking of when they would be ‘moved on’.
5) Décor and Condition- The décor is nothing like the photographs, with the photos taken over 10 years ago. The door was so badly bent it looked like it may have been kicked in, so everyone in the hall could see us in our room. We felt insecure and had no privacy.
6) Noise- There was a busy train line directly under the room. Woken at 5am and then every 20 minutes or so.
7) Pricing- The room quoted on the website was more expensive in person- Apparently the website needs updating…

We spoke to the Tourism Information office about this, and they have stopped listing Roman City as 'ensuite' due to the number of complaints in the past years.

The good points were Sean, who was very nice, and breakfast, which was very good. However, I would be concerned too many travellers are being 'softened up' the next morning with Sean's charm and leaving good reviews!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Sheila and Sean were really friendly and helpful with tips of free things to do, inviting us to come back and use their facilities to freshen up before the long drive home even though we'd already checked out etc. The breakfast was amazing and you got loads for your money! The room was lovely, as people have said no ensuite (although there was a shower cubicle in the room) but the bathroom was nice and clean so it didn't bother us at all. If you're looking for a room which is perfect and pristine then this is maybe not for you but it was homely, comfortable, had character and was a great location to walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KR2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times, and won't stay anywhere else!!!!! Have always received excellent and very helpful service. Very reasonable rates for the centre of Bath. Rooms are always clean. Breakfast amazing!!! Always look forward to Shaun and Sheila's hospitality and frindliness and am quite depressed when we reach the end of our stay!!! We are already looking forward to our next visit to Roman City Guest House and beautiful Bath.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Excellent communication with booking and arrival. Parking sorted as well as champange and chocs in room. Lovely rooms in keeping with character of the house. Warm friendly hosts who made you feel really welcome. Dining room lovely and spacious with excellent breakfast and christmas tree to boot !! Will be definately staying next year, it will be like visiting old friends.

Location excellent, 5 mins walking to town centre.
Toilets and trains, not really worth a mention.

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

A pleasant guesthouse near central Bath, the owners/staff are lovely, but no en suite facilities; bathrooms are shared by about three rooms. The trains run under the building and depending on speed can be very loud. The rooms are clean but getting a bit round down. Pleasant enought but we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The 4 poster bed was really luxurious and the room clean and comfortable. The toilet was in a separate room but we had a sink and shower in the room. Tea and coffee making facilities were also provided. Our room did look over the railway line but this didn't disturb us in the night. The owners were really friendly, recommending restaurants and things to do. The breakfasts were huge with fresh fruit salad and cereal followed by a full English! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lae24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Spent 2 nights in a family room which was superb value for money. All very clean and well maintained in a terrific location for walking into town centre, and a tesco extra 1 min away. Lovely breakfast with huge fruit salad and yoghurt followed by full english. Very friendly owners and a warm welcome. Would stay again for sure next time we are in bath, this place is a real gem.

Room Tip: just email your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimeyWimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
YHA Bath
YHA Bath
#11 of 38 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
0.1 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Number 17 Bath
Number 17 Bath
#52 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avon Guest House
Avon Guest House
#61 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Rising Sun Inn
#27 of 38 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman City Guest House

Property: Roman City Guest House
Address: 18 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman City Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Roman City Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing