We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly hosts,comfy bed,great breakfast.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roman City Guest House
Ranked #139 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
1 review
“Lovely, friendly hosts,comfy bed,great breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We originally booked in for one night, but stayed for two. Sheila and Sean were the consummate hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic and set us up for the rest of the day. The position of this B&B meant that we could easily walk into the city of Bath and the free parking was a bonus. We hope to return one day.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were amazingly impressed to have stayed in a central guest house in a four-poster room for only £75, and I kept being paranoid that the price was actually per person! We stayed in Room 1, which contains a sink and shower, but has a toilet and bath in a separate bathroom. Both the room and bathroom were massive and felt very luxurious. The bath had a 'jacuzzi' option and the shower also had a fancy feature! At the same time, much of the furniture was quite dated and felt like it need'ed a bit of a revamp, but was perfectly acceptable for a night's stay.

We were especially impressed with the breakfast in the morning, which was above the standard breakfasts you find in B&Bs. The hosts had taken the time to make a beautiful fruit salad, presented with apricot yoghurt in its own glass bowl. There was a small selection of cereal, but everything was brought to the table so we didn't have to get up, and the cooked breakfast was very tasty.

Possibly the only downside to the hotel is that it is right above a railway line, and our room looked over the railway so it got quite noisy when trains went past. I managed to sleep perfectly fine, but light sleepers might find this a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Three 40 something ladies wanted to stay fairly local to the city centre, park the car up for the duration & find good pubs, dining & sightseeing. We werent disappointed. The location was perfect. Due to Sheila (Landlady of the guest house) having to be away, she left us in the very capable hands of Val. We had the family room (four poster bed & put you up beds in our room. The shared bathroom we were lucky enough to have to ourselves & it was spacious, clean & nicely decorated. I had heard comments about the noisy train running underneath the building causing disturbance but to be honest, unless you are going to bed before midnight, it wouldnt really disturb you & wasnt as loud as we had been led to believe. The full english breakfast was spot on & we wouldnt hesitate staying here again. Val was fabulous, welcoming & helpful. Many thanks to you Val & hope to meet you next time we stay Sheila. Regards, Kate, Jan & Mandy (stayed on 4th & 5th July 2013)

Room Tip: Recommend the four poster room - the shared bathroom that comes with it is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for a wedding

Stayed 3 days and it was brilliant

We stayed in room 2. The other good room looked like no 3 too.:)

The train noise isn't really an issue on your room only to be heard at Breakfast occasionally .

The shared bathroom is no hassle as there is a sink and shower in the room and never had to wait for a bathroom
. Other rooms have them I think. (long term residents)

The host Shaun really makes this place

The location is excellent

10 min to town

Would stay again at £70 a night better value than a travelodge ;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, Devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Very friendly welcome in this beautiful Isambard Kingdom built House; very easily accessible to the town centre. Our room was really quite fantastic ; it had a feeling of grandeur to it with the 4 poster bed & stunning views of the city.What also made our stay particulary enjoyable were our hosts, Sheila & Shaun, who did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was really good: wonderful fresh fruit salad, and the cooked breakfast was one of the best Ive ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

From the moments we arrived the proprietors couldn't do enough for us, really helpful and warm. The rooms were great and tastefully appointed considering the tight planning constraints that must be on such a place. Breakfast was relaxed and leisurely and thoroughly enjoyed by all. Big thanks Sean and Sheila, definitely be regularly back here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farthing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

we picked the roman city from their website and after checking reviews on trip advisor.
first impressions were that the hotel was in need of some tlc but both rooms were clean and beds comfortable.
having toilets outside the bedroom was not ideal especially as from room 2 you had to negotiate a quite steep set of stairs. toilets were shared with other rooms.
breakfast was good although we would have liked a wider selection of cereals (just two available)
but cooked breakfast more than made up for that.
the owner was very helpful with information on bath and also allowing us to use the parking permit for the day after we had checked out.
all in all an ok hotel for a one night stay although had we stayed longer then the train track which runs directly beneath the hotel (room 1) could have been a problem.

Room Tip: room 1 is one to avoid if you are a light sleeper with the train track directly underneath. no toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
YHA Bath
YHA Bath
#11 of 38 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman City Guest House

Property: Roman City Guest House
Address: 18 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman City Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Roman City Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing