We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view (and that's just the barmen)”

The Hare and Hounds
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hare and Hounds is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$41
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely view (and that's just the barmen)”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Delicious food, wonderful view, friendly staff, cannot ask for more from a pub.

Do not order the salad.

Do order the pork belly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    228
    91
    41
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“The next best thing to a carvery”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Whilst the pub setting, close to the city centre and in an elevated position with impressive views over the Bath countryside, has an instant wow factor the pub serves standard large pub fayre.

The dining room is just about ok with wooden seated chairs which could do with cushion pads to add a little comfort whilst dining.

If your table is in sight of the kitchen you will be aware of the 'production line' method of serving a continuous flow of diners. Rows of Yorkshire puddings are visible in regimented lines on the hot server and plates are prepared for each order with factory efficiency.

No complaints about service and staff attitude, we were attended to quickly by the barman and then a very personable and attentive young waitress.

Looking at 'piled high 'plated food appearing out of the kitchen area we initially hesitated about ordering starters but opted for two Stornoway black pudding, chorizo & bacon salads with crispy poached egg & balsamic glaze dishes and two Rare roast beefs with dripping toast, capers, horseradish, parsley & watercress, all diners commenting on how good they were.

Mains were cod and chips, roast beef and two belly of pork. The beef and fish were good but the pork wasn't the best quality and the normally expected 'crackling' was just a thick flexible skin.

With food quantity ensuring appetites were more than satisfied after two courses only two of us opted for sweets. Macerated strawberries with cream and a kiwi fruit / mango mess with sorbet were both refreshing and light making a pleasant end to the meal.

If you're looking for special dining then this won't be the place for you but for your average pub lunch it should suffice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Well what can I say....from start to finish the staff here were exceptional. Booking a table for 11 people for a special hen weekend and the manager Fergus made sure all our needs were met and we were given a brilliant table. He assisted me so well in all the planning and his staff really looked after us on the night. I must say a special thank you to Tash the pastry chef who even made a special dessert not on the menu, just so the bride could have her favourite pudding - a delicious chocolate and peanut butter cheesecake! The food was absolutely delicious, beautifully presented and so tasty. All enjoyed whilst admiring the sweeping views of the country side. I would highly recommend this pub for the gorgeous food as well as the great service and really hope to come and visit again when I next find myself in Bath. Thanks so much for making our evening so memorable and perfect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charli_scouller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Triumph of hope over experience!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Firstly, the views here are wonderful - on a sunny evening hard to beat! The initial greeting and inside ambience warm and welcoming.
Things from here started to go downhill (not literally). Our requested window table was not available and we were positioned with little apology at a drafty table by the front door, - so no view and nobody taking ownership of us and the meal experience to follow. The quality of each course was ok, but all lacked exuberance and generosity - half a boiled egg, salt cod wholly outgunned by crispy batter, charcuterie that was just sad on first impression and, on taste, remained so. The main courses improved and our one dessert - the salted caramel tart - was delicious.
The nub of the problem? The evening we visited had no obvious sign of management, the service was willing but amateur, and if reputation and repeat custom is required ( of course it is), the views alone won't do the trick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic View!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great service from all staff and a wonderful sweeping view to look over, very good for Sunday lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hare and Hounds also viewed

 

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing