We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early Evening Vlaue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #89 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Brasserie Blanc is located in the Francis Hotel on the beautiful Queen Square and within walking distance of Bath's shops, restaurants and the world famous Roman Baths & Pump Rooms. On arrival you will be greeted by our friendly, knowledgeable team and the lively ambience is complemented by a menu inspired by the simple, hearty dishes of M. Blanc's childhood. Alongside an appetising a la carte menu and carefully selected wine list it offers an excellent value set menu and on Sundays it serves a classic roast with all the trimmings. Younger diners can choose from a special children's menu or order a half sized portion of many of the a la carte dishes on offer.Whether you are looking for a simple lunch, a romantic dinner or a family celebration it is the perfect choice!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Early Evening Vlaue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We visited just in time for the cut off of the early evening deal (2 courses and wine for £12.95). It was a great place to eat. the food was superbly cooked and presented, the staff were friendly and efficient without being in your face. My wife ate from the a la carte which was still excellent value compared with the completion and her meal was delightful as well.

The ambience was elegant and refined, all that you would expect of a high end restaurant in Bath. we came out with a smile on our faces.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am really happy to see our guests enjoy our food and service. I hope that we will see you again soon.


Best Wishes

Piotr Skrzesinski
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    307
    156
    87
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The environment was very pleasant, the service was attentive without being intrusive and the food was excellent. A little pricey but worth it as a treat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for your effort to write such lovely feedback about us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and service.


Best Wishes
Piotr skrzesinski
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overall good value but surprised by charge for bread!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Overall we enjoyed our first visit as we thought the 2 course lunch with a free glass of wine was good value. However, we were surprised to see on our bill that we were charged for bread! This seems rather paltry in such an establishment. None the less we liked the surroundings, the service was attentive and the food enjoyable so we might return!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazelnut38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us. I think 2 course lunch plus complimentary glass of wine for £11.95 even if we charge for bread is still one of the best offers you can get comparing to other restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again.


Best Wishes

Piotr Skrzesinski
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ghostly breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

A very acceptable breakfast with good service and choice. The only issue was that we were the only people there at 9am on a Thursday morning. I would definitely eat there again though!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nixbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit in our restaurant. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast on your last visit. Hope to see you again soon.


Best Wishes

Piotr Skrzesinski
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I'm confused why some diners complain about Brasserie Blanc, it is what is, a French restaurant serving non pretentious food that is flavoursome and interesting.

It's not Le Manoir, it's not fine Michelin dining, it's a French restaurant with a simple menu (great wine list though and not too pricey) and great tasting food.

I enjoyed cucumber gazpacho soup, duck with plum sauce and a macaroon and coconut sorbet. All very pleasant served by a waiter who was friendly and attentive. I also had entertainment from a fellow diner who set his menu alight on a candle...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. I am delighted that you enjoy food and service in our restaurant. Hope to see you again soon.


Best Wishes
Piotr Skrzesinski
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing