We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK pub in a great location”
Review of The Huntsman

The Huntsman
Ranked #127 of 628 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Behind the oldest façade in Bath lies some of the finest food and drink in the South West, made all the more enjoyable by surroundings that perfectly marry Georgian elegance to contemporary functionality. So when looking to drink and dine in Bath, always aim for The Huntsman.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hubby and I stopped in for lunch. The Huntsman is in Bath's heart of the action, ie. next to the TI and ticket box office and right next to where all the tourist buses stop to pick up. I had a chicken wrap which was good and hubby had a pastrami sandwich which he said was "not good." This pub does not seem to have hot food for lunch, i.e., fish and chips, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the food was less than mediocre. That being said, it is in a location where all the action is, and quite a charming place.

Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHuntsman-Manager, General Manager at The Huntsman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Martha,

Thank you for your review and for complimenting our friendly staff.

I was sorry to read you did not enjoy your lunch, and myself or one of the team would of been more than happy to replace sandwiches deemed sub-par straight away rather than you leaving feeling dissatisfied had we of been aware.

With regards to the menu, we do offer a main menu which has fish and chips, burgers plus a la carte dishes at lunchtime, so am not sure why this was not clear.

Should you wish to discuss any further please do not hesitate to drop me an email on huntsman.manager@fullers.co.uk

Kind Regards,
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in twice to The Huntsman for drinks only, sat outside the first time which was nice (ignoring the seagull plop on the odd cushion) but the inside and toilet need a bit of a clean. Menu looks good but cleanliness would put me off.

1  Thank reviewbypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHuntsman-Manager, General Manager at The Huntsman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review- we appreciate all feedback which helps us be the best we can be!

Sorry you felt the venue was not clean enough when you visited- I have spoken to the team, and this is unacceptable. With regards to the seagull poo.... as much as we try to keep on top of this, they do dominate bath, and sometimes I feel do it just to spite us...!

I hope this does not deter you from giving us another chance to impress you, and you will come and sample our menu!

Kind Regards,
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We didn't eat here but plenty of people were and all seemed to be enjoying their fare. They had a reasonable selection of ales and lagers but not the cheapest pub in town! Service on the night was excellent and sure to use again....

    • Value
    • Service
Thank BigBadBobbieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHuntsman-Manager, General Manager at The Huntsman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write us such a fab review of your visit!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Hannah and the team at The Huntsman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I have never eaten here but regulary go to drink. Staff are always friendly and they have a nice selection of beers.

Thank alfiesanders1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHuntsman-Manager, General Manager at The Huntsman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi Alfie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review and acknowledge our lovely bar team :)

We look forward to seeing you soon,

Kind Regards,

Hannah and the team at The Huntsman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Went for the Sunday lunch and despite paying £50 between us for an a expensive yet naff South African merlot - the food came quickly and the staff were very friendly, a “cozy” atmosphere.

Food arrived aesthetically pleasing, all veg was perfect in heat, texture and taste (potatoes were a little boring and cardboard-y), but I’ve gotta admit the meat was cold and not Luke warm but meat that’s been lying around for a couple of hours cold - we did arrive at 5pm so it could have been a while.

Overall I really wanted to like this place, the building is quaint and local but for the price you pay - you would expect a lot more quality and flourish in their execution.

Thank Trenton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHuntsman-Manager, General Manager at The Huntsman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi Trenton,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your visit to The Huntsman- we welcome all feedback as helps us grow and be the best we can be!

Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff and the atmosphere of the pub.

I was sorry to read you did not enjoy your merlot- being a bottle we also sell by the glass, it would of been very easy for us to swap this for you immediately and replace with something else had it of been bought to a member of the teams attention at the time. Ditto the food, We are always more than happy to deal with any issues then and there, and replace anything not up to scratch, rather than a guest leaving the venue dissatisfied and compelled to write an online review.

I hope you will return and give us a second chance to impress you,

Best,
Hannah Liquorish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Huntsman also viewed

 

Been to The Huntsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing