We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay in Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Ranked #81 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the house for one night on 20th June. Both Julian and Mechthi have been very warm and hospitable. We stayed in Mrs Smith's room. The room has a beautiful view of the garden. The initial climb up the stairs to our room with our luggages which was situated on the 4th floor was a little challenging for me, but it was well worth the effort. The room has a very nice decor and is spacious. I like the guest folder which was compiled and has a personal touch to it. The folder contains an article by George Carlin which i enjoy reading a lot and constantly reflect upon the words. There were other interesing information about Bath inside the folder. The room also has a book shelf with a wide selection of books, I could only wish i have more time in Bath to read some of these books. I believe Julian and Mechthi have made great effort to make all guests feel relaxed and at ease with the thoughtful setup of the bedrooms. The breakfast was delightful and delicious and their kitchen is very nice. It was a memorable and beautiful place with beautiful people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quietgirl_1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a perfect B&B. We've stayed all over the world, and in ever type of lodging from itinerant workers' hotels in Turkey to Castles in France and Spain, large resorts and luxury hotels to small one bedroom B&Bs, and this is one of our absolute favorites.

It is perfectly located in a quality residential area, across from Sydney Gardens and a very short walk to the City Center, but without the traffic, crowds, and noise of being in the Center.

It is a beautiful older home, lovingly restored and furnished, with comfortable beds and quality linens, spacious bedrooms, and magnificent common areas. These include the elegant ballroom and dining room, a cheerful breakfast nook and terrace off the kitchen, a pleasing eat-in kitchen, and the atmospheric kitchens in the basement. From the stairwell one sees St. Mary's Church; the front windows look across at the Sydney Gardens. The home has a wonderful selection of good books, movies, and music if you're held in by the weather or just want a day to relax in quiet.

Breakfast is superb, warm croissants, jams and yogurts, cereals, cheeses and fruits, and full English or Austrian for a main, all served to order on china with no sparing of plates and cutlery.

The hosts are most friendly and helpful with ideas for sightseeing. Umbrellas and picnic baskets are available as needed/desired.

All of this comes at a price - this is not a place for bargain hunters - but high-end travelers would be hard-pressed to do better. And for Jane Austin fans, well, they filmed scenes from the BBC version of Persuasion here.

What more can be done to create a perfect B&B?

Room Tip: If you need multiple rooms it is very easy here to have one of the floors essentially to yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Bingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have just come back from a hen weekend staying at Sir Walter Elliot's House (also part of the venue is known as Bathwick Gardens where I have put the same review). There were 11 of us and we took up both the self-catering basement apartment and rooms upstairs. We were looked after wonderfully by Mechthild and Julian who could not have done more to make our stay as excellent as it was. They tended to our every need, nothing was too much trouble, very friendly indeed. The breakfasts were lovely and loads of choice, and we had a fantastic candle-lit dinner on the Saturday night in the grand dining room. There was a large drawing room on the 1st floor that we enjoyed for pre-dinner drinks and after-dinner games and drinks. It was a pleasure dealing with Julian in the run up to the weekend as well and took the stress out of arranging a hen weekend. It is in a great location and only a short walk to bars, restaurants and attractions. We had our own keys and were able to come and go as we pleased (contrary to a previous review which can be ignored!)

This lovely place comes highly recommended, I'll definitely go back... fantastic weekend! And we had a very happy hen!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the house from Friday 17th to Sunday 19th May. We were a group of 11 for a Hen Party and it was just perfect. The house is stunning and beautifully restored. The space worked brilliantly for us all, from flexible use of bedroom space, self catering kitchen, fab drawing room and the amazing dining room. The hosts could not have done any more for us!!! The experience of dealing with Julian, from the organising in the run up to running the whole weekend, could not have been better. He was warm, helpful and could not have done more to ensure the party had the best weekend. Mechthild's cooking was lovely and the 3 course dinner they served us in the dining room on Saturday night was great. Our American guests loved hearing from them all about history of the house and its renovations!
I could not recommend this property enough..... Location, space, decor, hosts, food all just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We wanted somewhere fairly quiet but close to the centre of Bath, and with parking, and Sir Walter Elliot's House fits the bill perfectly. It's tucked away in the Bathwick area of the city, very close to the centre and with a beautiful park opposite. We were able to park in the B&B's own space and left our car there for our 2-day stay. Very warm and comfortable (the weather was bitterly cold) and we had Sir Walter Elliot's room, which was spacious and with a view of the surprisingly substantial garden. Super breakfast (we alternated full English and the Austrian with its cold meats and cake) and a very welcoming place to stay. Jane Austen fans will be particularly interested in the filming of Persuasion, some of which took place here, and the owners showed us round the restoration including the ballroom on the first floor. Oh - and Jane Austen stayed just round the corner and Queen Charlotte just a few doors away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuddingEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank helmutm954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: das Zimmer zum Garten ist ruhiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 155 in Bath
1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 17 Bath
Number 17 Bath
#58 of 155 in Bath
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B

Address: 95 Sydney Place, Bath BA2 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £124 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing