We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Ranked #92 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
swansea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just home from two nights in house steeped in history, Perfect hosts, Perfect location for an easy 5 min flat walk into Bath center. Comfy, spacious relaxing and a great breakfast.
Would I stay again? oh defiantly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My girlfriend and I booked the apartment at Sir Walter Elliot's house. Unfortunately we had some trip issues which made us unable to make it to Bath for our stay. All of my interactions with Julian were very good, and he was incredibly understanding to our unfortunate situation. I am certain that just due to the service we would have had a great time. If I get the chance to stay here again I will definitely take advantage of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We visited for one night on a short break to Bath and relished the chance to stay in such a stunning and grand house which retains its period features. The location is perfect and we had great views over the park and hills. After a day of sightseeing it is an easy stroll back from the centre and it was great to relax in the clean, spacious room afterwards. There were plenty of restaurants and bars within easy reach for the evening. We were given a very friendly welcome from our hosts and we enjoyed a delicious and very substantial breakfast served in a stunning conservatory. We loved the Austrian breakfast, but an English option is also available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed Wednesday 17th July for daughters graduation the following day. Sir Walter Elliot's House was so lovely we wish we could have stayed longer. The house is spacious and beautifully restored in the Regency style. Julian and Mechthild made our stay even better by being such wonderful and warm hosts. We stayed in Mrs Clays Room, our daughter in the adjoining room next door, both of which were charmingly furnished and decorated. Guests were given the use of the sitting/drawing room, a huge bonus, its such a lovely room to take tea . Our beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom modern and spotless. The following morning we had both the Austrian and the Full English breakfast in the large courtyard garden. The food was plentiful and of a great standard, the tables prettily set and the service was friendly and attentive. All in all we would highly recommend this B&B and are looking forward for a chance to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KWest104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellendale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was my first B&B in years. The house was absolutely gorgeous, our room was enormous & incredibly comfortable & the proprietors wonderfully hospitable & engaging.
It's location is an easy 10 minute stroll to the center & so in a lovely quiet location.
The only slight disappointment was that we had 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single duvets when had specifically asked for a double bed. We were also unable to lock our door but the proprietors were very reassuring; this could be an issue for those use to more security conscious.
The breakfast was a little average & lacking a little diversity, but then it's stated as being "free".
Overall a really pleasant stay, the location room & proprietors were excellent.
Oh but bring an extension cord to blow dry your hair with a mirror view!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Sir Walter Elliot's House for two nights in June 2013. The place is so beautiful! It's Victorian style; it has huge, comfortable rooms with large windows overlooking a picturesque garden. The only downside of place is that we didn't want to leave it so most of our Bath vacation was spent in our room! It's a true gem!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the house for one night on 20th June. Both Julian and Mechthi have been very warm and hospitable. We stayed in Mrs Smith's room. The room has a beautiful view of the garden. The initial climb up the stairs to our room with our luggages which was situated on the 4th floor was a little challenging for me, but it was well worth the effort. The room has a very nice decor and is spacious. I like the guest folder which was compiled and has a personal touch to it. The folder contains an article by George Carlin which i enjoy reading a lot and constantly reflect upon the words. There were other interesing information about Bath inside the folder. The room also has a book shelf with a wide selection of books, I could only wish i have more time in Bath to read some of these books. I believe Julian and Mechthi have made great effort to make all guests feel relaxed and at ease with the thoughtful setup of the bedrooms. The breakfast was delightful and delicious and their kitchen is very nice. It was a memorable and beautiful place with beautiful people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quietgirl_1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,062 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 157 in Bath
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B

Property: Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Address: 95 Sydney Place, Bath BA2 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing