We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad...Group booking issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Ranked #91 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and bad...Group booking issues”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This stay was hard to review - the staff, rooms and service were excellent, however management moved members of our party and their belongings to different rooms without consulting us, the group leaders, and at times without consulting the individuals. We were so upset by this that we could not imagine staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGG201187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As other reviewers have commented, the house is simply stunning and drips with authenticity. The rooms are spacious, bright and each with their own style resonant of the period. I absolutely loved staying here and this will be my first choice whenever I find myself visiting Bath again. Julian and Mechthild were the warmest and most considerate of hosts and were infinitely patient and obliging as the guest arrangements for my house party changed several times in the lead up to our stay. We had the use of the Olde Kitchen, so we could relax and talk in our own sitting room and store all the wine we brought in a handy fridge! Breakfast was a choice of English or Austrian (we went Austrian) and it was a feast. We lingered over a leisurely breakfast and were treated like aristocracy. Thank you, Thank you, Julian and Mechti you made our weekend perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Thank you so much for making our weekend away so special. The rooms are stunning and breakfast truly amazing. Such attentive and friendly service was most welcome. The location is excellent - just a short walk into town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just home from two nights in house steeped in history, Perfect hosts, Perfect location for an easy 5 min flat walk into Bath center. Comfy, spacious relaxing and a great breakfast.
Would I stay again? oh defiantly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My girlfriend and I booked the apartment at Sir Walter Elliot's house. Unfortunately we had some trip issues which made us unable to make it to Bath for our stay. All of my interactions with Julian were very good, and he was incredibly understanding to our unfortunate situation. I am certain that just due to the service we would have had a great time. If I get the chance to stay here again I will definitely take advantage of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We visited for one night on a short break to Bath and relished the chance to stay in such a stunning and grand house which retains its period features. The location is perfect and we had great views over the park and hills. After a day of sightseeing it is an easy stroll back from the centre and it was great to relax in the clean, spacious room afterwards. There were plenty of restaurants and bars within easy reach for the evening. We were given a very friendly welcome from our hosts and we enjoyed a delicious and very substantial breakfast served in a stunning conservatory. We loved the Austrian breakfast, but an English option is also available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed Wednesday 17th July for daughters graduation the following day. Sir Walter Elliot's House was so lovely we wish we could have stayed longer. The house is spacious and beautifully restored in the Regency style. Julian and Mechthild made our stay even better by being such wonderful and warm hosts. We stayed in Mrs Clays Room, our daughter in the adjoining room next door, both of which were charmingly furnished and decorated. Guests were given the use of the sitting/drawing room, a huge bonus, its such a lovely room to take tea . Our beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom modern and spotless. The following morning we had both the Austrian and the Full English breakfast in the large courtyard garden. The food was plentiful and of a great standard, the tables prettily set and the service was friendly and attentive. All in all we would highly recommend this B&B and are looking forward for a chance to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KWest104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 157 in Bath
1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B

Property: Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Address: 95 Sydney Place, Bath BA2 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing